Ratings based on 778 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bathroom the hair dryer hanging from wall etc

Posted Apr 19, 2017
New owner... mgr said they could not serve anything with pork, i.e.pork loin, sausage etc. Pool had very cold water and inside of pool is chipping paint. We would not let our kids and grand kids swim in pool.My family has stad there for many years when we visited Columbus Miss. and never have we experienced such a poor place to stay. Many construction workers made a comment they would never stay there again and they mentioned they also had stayed there for years also. At present time, I would rate them terrible and will never stat there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Ms. B, Hotel Management
Thank you for your detailed feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your stay at the hotel was not up to your standards. This is very disappointing to hear. Please note that this information has been passed on to our concerned staff. Despite this, we hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Breathe Well - Not Quite

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Priced reasonable and lobby area was fine.
Cons: New carpet and cleaning to make sure your rooms don't wreak of cigarette smoke; better lighting around the hotel at night.
Location: Not much of anything on this exit and the hotel area is in a dark corner at night. You have to travel down only one exit to get to most restaurants.
This hotel claims to be non-smoking and even has a Breathe Well sign on the entrance doors. Room 332 smelled like an ashtray! It was almost unbearable for a non-smoker to handle. I complained upon check in and was given an apology at the front desk but no offer to switch rooms. She said she would make a note in their computer. I even left a note for manager upon check out and no telephone call back. They have the typical no smoking sign in the room on the desk that says there is a $250 cleaning fee. I could not believe how strong the cigarette smell was in the room. Also the headboard and tops of the lamps were covered thick in dust. The hallway carpets are all raveled up and dirty. This hotel needs a good cleaning and some updates. Also at night the hotel is in not lit up well so it's dark.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are essential to educating our staff about good and bad service. We will ensure your feedback will be given to all. Furthermore, I will personally supervise that all of your complaints are addressed and make sure everything will be in order on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back then.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Great overnight stay for MSU Football games

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Friendly staff, comfortable room, good breakfast. We always stay here for MSU football games and have always had a good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Wow! What a wonderful review. We truly appreciate your business and your trust in us. I am very happy to hear that our staff and service met your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Hell

Posted Mar 27, 2017
I stayed for two nights and there was No service. The shower head was rusted, the room smelled like smoke, the wall paper was brown and peeling, the a/c blew funky air, the pool was dirty with no towels. It was disgusting and I will never stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Key cards were not working correctly. Had to make several trips to the front desk to have them reloaded. Cable would go in and out. The front desk lady was very polite and helpful. Room was orderly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with a detailed review. All your comments are essential to educating our staff about good and bad service. We will ensure your feedback will be given to all. Furthermore, I will personally supervise that all of your other complaints are addressed that everything will be in order on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back then,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Nice, clean, safe and reasonably priced.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Knew already from working in area.
Cons: Carpet wrinkled in hallway and a few spots where wall paper could be re-glued.
Older hotel but good, nice bed and good breakfast. Nice, clean, safe and reasonably priced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for you review. I am very happy that the staff was welcoming and accommodating and that you enjoyed your visit. However, I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the items mention in your comment. This has been communicated to the concerned staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Easy access, friendly staff

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Friendly employees. Easy wi-fi. Easy parking.
Cons: Housekeeping needs to make sure towels are in rooms! Key card had to be re-booted every day. Parking lot had lots of trash in it.
Location: Easy to find. Easy access to downtown by car. Seemed to be a safe area. Several restaurants nearby.
Hotel is right off the highway. Several restaurants nearby. Adequate parking. Heated pool. Stayed 3 nights. The employees were friendly and helpful, however, we did have to request towels on two nights--none were placed in the room. Room was clean, beds comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by wingatecolumbusgm@gmail.com, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our housekeeping and maintenance staff. We do hope you give us another chance as we will definitely improve our services.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Nice hotel close to the interstate

Posted Mar 5, 2017
The staff was very nice and welcoming. The breakfast was pretty good. The rooms were very clean and the bed was comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by wingatecolumbusgm@gmail.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that our staff made you at home. This is really one of the things that we try to maintain at the Wingate Inn by Wyndham. We are hoping to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2017
very comfortable beds. i dont really obsess over tv but the cable service is really unimpressive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi Gulf Coast

Remodeling never finished and did not look ongoing

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of personnel; location to my other stops
Cons: Finish the remodeling ASAP! Get the outside doors to operate with the room key cards!
Location: Easy access and return to Hwy. Street entrance to hotel had big sign but no street sign so passed it up the first time.
WRONG THINGS: 1) Key card worked only once with back outside entrance - fortunately employee was nearby to let me in 2) Room ceiling peeling and bad water stain 3) mold or burnt ceiling around one of the 3 sprinkler heads in room 4) Bathroom door handle not secure on door 5) ice machine on 2nd floor not working 6) carpeting in hallways wrinkled (trip hazard) - needs replacing IMMEDIATELY. RIGHT THINGS: 1) Employees very friendly and helpful as much as they were able 2) Breakfast offered was nice though not 'exceptional' Some items 'promised' were out 3) Use of the 'business center' very helpful as well as the free WiFi Did not use the pool or fitness center - Whirlpool out of service
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by wingatecolumbusgm@gmail.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comment and we are sorry that you had an unpleasant stay with us. I assure that all the items you mention in your comment, we are working to improve them as we speak. Your comments are a tool we use for continuous improvement and are greatly appreciated. Again thank you taking time out of your day to let us know how we are doing should you decide to stay with us again, we value you as a guest.