Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Quiet & Clean Hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: Expedia
Cons: Some sort of air conditioning or fans and better wifi
Location: Loved the funicular to get there but once in the town of Brunate we felt a little trapped.
We stayed here as an alternative to the overpriced hotels in near Lake Como. The hotels location is great in terms of being right up the street from the funicular. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The room does not have air conditioning but a staff member was nice enough and accommodated us with a fan. The wifi isn't great, doesn't work well at night but is great during the morning. The little town of Brunate is beautiful but you can see most of it in two hours. All together it was a nice stay.
5 out of 5
by Faye

Brilliant - definitely coming aback!

Posted Apr 26, 2017 on Hotels
I had such a great time - all i wanted to do was drink wine, eat food and rest after a hectic week of travelling across northern Italy, and that's exactly what i got! Thanks to Ralph and the team for making it so easy and relaxing for me!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing view

Posted Apr 24, 2017
The room is warm and comfortable, clean towels and good smell. The view is AMAZING, staff is super nice and gentle. You pay for coffee and food for breakfast but the price is very good for guests of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NB, Canada

Amazing view...top of the world!

Posted Mar 26, 2017
There isn't anything about Brunate & Como that we don't love. And staying at Vista Lago is the perfect way to enjoy it. The room was clean, cozy, comfortable with a million dollar (euro) view. The owner was very welcoming. We will definitely stay there again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Considerations before booking

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
There was no air-conditioning nor fan so keeping balcony doors open is the only relief to summer heat. However, you will notice that there is no net/screen to keep bugs out. Also, there is a Church with a loud bell ringing evety hour for each hour (I.e. 6 times at 6pm). For check ins after 2pm the restaurant manager doubles as the hotel manager, which since there is no formal check-in desk means you just wait at the coffee bar until someone arrives to help you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Sweet hotel to get away

Posted Jul 30, 2016
We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The staff were awesome and the room was clean and fresh. It is a very interesting drive to the hotel up a very narrow lane but it was so nice to be out of the busy area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Lovely B&B!

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Location: I recommend taking the somewhat vigorous hike up to the lighthouse, great views! We also recommend eating at the restaurant inside this hotel.
This place was simply wonderful! We arrived in the mid afternoon and checked in with no problem. The room was very clean and had a lovely view. We ate at the restaurant downstairs and were very pleased! The same gentleman that checked us in prepared our meal in the kitchen. I had the lasagna and it was delicious! It was very quiet with very few other guests. I wish we had stayed more than one night! They even let us leave our bags in the room and "check out" later!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orkney Scotland

Lovely view over the lake

Posted Sep 22, 2015
A ride up the funicular and great views spoiled by Fawlty Towers type staff. Twin beds instead of a double one of which collapsed. Como a stone throw away.
5 out of 5
by andrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by John from Randolph, NJ USA

Great Overnight Experience

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Great view from the top of the mountain. Very clean and accommodating. Wish we had more time to spend beyond one night.