Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Michaelmarmaduke

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
no room with lake view as booked owner said water undrinkable and was angry when i did not buy water or a meal considering the trouble of getting there regret not going elsewhere as not value for money no tv wifi in room no signal
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad customer service.

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on CheapTickets
Refused to honor a documented change of reservation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view

Posted May 25, 2012 on Hotels
The owners are very friendly and courteous. The rooms are rather simple but they have gorgeous views on the mountains and the lake of Como because the hotel lies above Brunate which lies above Como. Excellent starting point to do walks and hiking. Good bring and fetch service - free of charge - to the furnicular between Brunate and Como.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zurich

think twice before booking this hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2011 on Hotels
the hotel is located on the very top of the mountain and it was real mission to drive up there. though the view was indeed very nice. the room was very basic and had no bathroom/wc. you have to share them with other guests on the hallway. the walls was so thin that we could hear everything what the next room was doing...the wooden floor was cracking so loud from every footsteps. I wouldn´t come back to this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Beautiful and hospitable, if out of the way.

Posted Jun 26, 2011 on Hotels
This hotel is in such a beautiful location, and the proprietors so helpful and welcoming, that we decided to extend our stay. Its view is worth every penny, and inexpensive home-cooked meals are available. You should be advised that it is at the top of a mountain, and is not a convenient base for access to the city of Como. But if you want a quiet place to stay, it is a gem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

A lovely place to stay

Posted Jun 2, 2011
We arrived at the Capanna after having driven down from Holland the same morning, and got rather lost on the incredibly narrow and windy road up to Brunate. At one point we got so stuck we didn't think there was any option other than to reverse the car all the way up a single track road. We finally arrived at about 10.30pm, the owner was very smiley and welcoming, and made us some sandwiches as we were so hungry. Our room was very clean and cosy, the toilet opposite our room and the shower at the end of the corridoor were exceptionally clean. Breakfast was of the same standard as our 4 star Rome hotel - a good selection of pastries, toast, jams and nuttella, juice and coffee or hot chocolate and cheese and meats - very nice. A very lovely view of Lake Como from the outside seating area. We would highly reccommend the Capanna - just be well prepared for the drive up there!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cardiff, UK

Perfect for Alpine hiking

Posted Jul 7, 2010
The hotel is quite basic but extremely clean- new showers and the rooms are cleaned everyday. The couple who runs the hotel are such nice people and they pampered to all our fancies. The breakfast is hearty with plenty of freshly made coffee, juice, croissants, fresh bread, cheese and ham (yum!), and jam and honey. The location of the B&B is one of the best on the lake or one of the worst - depending on what you are after. They are perched on the very top of the mountain that towers over Como. You get absolutely stunning views of the lake and it is so peaceful up there. The location is perfect if you want to do some hiking as there are hiking paths leading right from the hotel across the peaks all the way to Bellaggio. Having extolled the views and the peace you get up in Brunate, I have to mention the extremely windy and extremely narrow road that leads up there. If you're planning on staying up in Brunate for most of your stay than this isn't a problem, but if you, like us, have a car and want to explore the lake, you have to take into acount 1/2 hr spent going down and then up the mountain. The Lonely Planet guide says that once you've driven from Como to Bellagio, you can drive anywhere in the world. Well, they obviously hadn't driven up to Brunate. The drive to Bellagio is really quite easy in comparison with the Brunate climb. But I have to say it gets easier everyday as you get used to the roads. My boyfriend was driving like an Italian at the end of the holidays:)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mainz Germany

a Terrible Night

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: nothing
in Fact, I'm not that kind of person who shares bad Things about something or sombaidy but in this Hotel is like a nightmare and I was afraid to leave my room.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel really 1star

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Prijs was o.k. Zeer verouderd maar proper.
Cons: Totale renovatie maar dan betaal je ook veel meer
Location: Ligging op de top van de heuvel, schitterend uitzicht vanaf ontbijtterras. Perfect gelegen voor prachtige wandelingen in de natuur
De eigenaar was welwillend zover in zijn vermogen lag. VOor de prijs o.k. Vermeld ontbijtbuffet maar dat was zeker niet het geval. Broodje met boter en confituur, niets anders te verkrijgen.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A éviter absolument.

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
Etat général proche de ruine. Après une remarque sur l'état de l’hôtel le propriétaire m'a mis dehors à 23h00, en disant qu'il ne loue plus... J'ai demandé le remboursement et a dû chercher un autre hôtel dans les environs. A éviter absolument.