Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast N.Ireland

Good value hotel close to centre.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Good value hotel near the centre of Como. Continental breakfast is included. Ham cheese egg, juice, selection of bread and coffee. We didn't need the car during out stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Great location for lake

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: staff friendliness
Location: take boat to Bellagio and bus back
Generally good, no big problems. Very convenient for town centre and main rail station
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, value for money

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: location and friendly staff
Cons: breakfast
Location: very close to lake como. walking distance to the funicular rail to Brunate.if you love a hike(moderate-high intensity) hike up to Brunate light house
good location - 5 min walk to lake como , and 10 min to city center. 8-10 min walk to the main train station , 15 - 20 min walk to Funicular . Staff were very friendly and helpful , basic breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Pleasant Stay

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: The breakfast had a selection of cheese, cold cuts, jams and jellies, nice warm crusty rolls and optional coffee selection.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: The hotel was pretty central to most locations of interest although I had very little occasion to sightsee.
I found this hotel by happenstance as I was looking for an inexpensive hotel while attending a conference. It was located in town at a reasonable distance from the conference site yet close to all transit options - bus, train, ferry. It would be best described as family suitable yet provided acceptable accommodation for business travelers - computer access and wifi (although I am old school in that regard). It was quiet even though it was located on a major thoroughfare and there was a family with a baby on my floor. Even at my low rate, air conditioning, breakfast and a small fridge were provided. I would use this hotel again and it provides a good standard to compare with other 3-star hotels. The staff was helpful and unobtrusive.
4 out of 5
by Mahendra

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
Good location to all amenities. Shower area in bathroom had a cracked panel and whole enclosure appeared to be just propped up. The balcony French door hinge was broken.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rome

Close to lake

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: It was very close to the Lake and convenient for the station
Location: Excellent location for a wallk round the lake, a trip on the boats, visiting the historic centre.
The welcome was businesslike but not over friendly. The breakfast was adequate. The room was noisy having a front room on a busy road. It was not a hotel where you would want to stay long.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing Engadina

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
We really need enjoyed our stay at Hotel Engadina. We know the area well and were within short walking distances of the main square in Como. A local supermarket was nearby and this was very convenient. Breakfast was delicious. Also, we would highly recommend the bar next door with great service and happy faces.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BED BUGS ALERT!!!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
BED BUGS!!! Stayed at the Engadina in April 2017 with my family of 3. We all were bitten by the bed bugs all over our bodies (see photo). We tried to communicate with the hotel but they ignored our emails and never even acknowledged any of them. Stay away!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean hotel but noisy after 5:30 am

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Location is great with walking distance to the lake and touristy, shopping areas. The hotel staff is friendly but their local knowledge is limited to normal routine areas of knowledge and anything beyond that you have to do your own research. We once asked for recommendation of a German restaurant and they sent us to an Italian one. The rooms are decent and minimal. Breakfast is minimal but sufficient. The safe instructions are all in Italian. Probably the key cons is that our rooms face the street and it can be noisy starting at 5:30 am in the morning.