Ratings based on 434 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy hotel right on the beach

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Costa sur is well kept and comfortable. They work hard to make sure your stay is wonderful. It is quiet, but has become one of our most favorite hotels in PV.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego Ca.

great birthday at Costa Sur!!!...

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Location food and the staff my room is always very clean she even folded my dirty clothes and stacked them for me!
Cons: nothing I can think of But some whinny people might think of one!!! LoL Lol !!!..
Location: In Mismaloya I recommend Tony's hideway and the restaurant El Hoklito right across the bridge at the bus stop by Mislaloya. and Ramada Coral great foo
I come down a few times a year and have fallen in love with the resort great food and the personel are top shelf! they will help with any problems you may encounter and can get any thing you need or any info on the area and surrounding area I prefer this part of Puerto Vallarta , I look on the west side all ocean not someone looking back at me. to the east nothing but forest and a few stately mansions up in the hills the breakwater helps the swimmers and snorkelers and there are lots of fish to see and photograph. and no laud dance music all day and half the night, just great people ready to help you...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Avoid at all Costs

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: Fernando the Manager is good, genuine and the best thing going for this place. The little reef/beach is also cool.
Cons: Full refund if a customer requests to leave! Sewage smell, plumbing, hotel is in shambles, food is horrible, wall for street noise, & much more.
Location: Dont come to Puerto Vallarta-mexico is trash go to curacao, Dominican, fiji, anyplace but Mexcio nothing but a trap for gringo $$ with poor service
Owner "Mr. Ken" refused to offer us a refund for our stay. We asked to leave the moment we arrived at Costa Sur, due to the horrific state of this so-called "resort". This is barley a hostel. Just a dump that even the best room in the place is sub-par for the cost. You can go to many real resorts in Jamaica Dominican Curacao Turks Aruba etc for a fair price. Anyway, after contacted Expedia, which was worthless, the hotel manager Fernando tried his best to accommodate us with a better room-which he said was the best in the place but to us was barley acceptable. He said the owner an American "Mr. Ken" does not offer refunds so if you book a two week stay in this dump you are stuck here-what a piece of work this "Mr. Ken" is. If you have customers who want to leave the moment they show up (thats not a good sign #1) but you should probably let them not force them to stay in your sewage smelling place. The smell was constant in the room and throughout the hotel. The concierge insulted us by saying my wife was old! Unbelievable!! What trash! Bugs in the sheets would wake up every night, we had itchy bites everywhere. There is 20ft of sand at their "beach" the rest is rock so everyone is packed elbow to elbow-the pictures are very very deceiving. Its also right on the road so dont expect to get any sleep with honking taxis, yelling, bus brakes, and big rigs driving all day and night. There was a hurricane in 2005 and this place has not been fixed since.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Gerardo Cilveti, Hotel Management
Dear sirs we are very sorry to read the comments you left us regarding your recent stay as, from the beginning of your stay, as soon as we received word from our reservations offices in Sta. Rosa, CA. Fernando FO Mgr. got in touch with you to try and work the situation out. The room you were assigned upon arrival is the one you had reserved and paid for but, in order to resolve the situation, you were offered an upgrade free of charge to either a 1Bdrm. Suite or a Honeymoon Suite. You took a look at both of them and decided to go for the Honeymoon suite. Fernando made sure everything was in order, confirmed with you that we were offering a continental breakfast with the Honeymoon Suite and programmed its delivery as of next day, sent a special VIP amenity and sat down with you reviewing all the options for tours, activities, shopping, etc. available in Puerto Vallarta. He even went above and beyond taking care of delivering some items you had not found at the super market. As well, the concierges supervisor was advised of the incommodity suffered upon arrival and asked to not bother you during the stay, making sure everything would go smoothly. We are very disappointed to not having been able to deliver the kind of service and stay you were expecting, especially since upon departure you thanked Fernando for his courtesy and the service provided during the stay. Sincerely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Cons: the only recommendation would be to speed up the process for those whom already reserve a room online. we had to email our intinerary to them in order
We loved the location and the ammenities. big rooms and beach themed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by gfadul, Hotel Management
Dear Roman, Completely agree with you! Thank you for the feed back and come back to visit us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for beach goers. one tower old.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: the swimming area on the beach
Cons: evening chef, renovation of windows and a good exterior paint.
Location: it is 8 minutes from Downtown Vallarta.
good for family trips since everything is there, Beach, Food, Fun. evening food needs to improve a lot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by gfadul, Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you for your comments! Hope you come back to visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

What a nice hotel!

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Was concerned at first while reading these reviews but must say it was perfect for our 8 day stay.. Staff was beyond awesome, aways helpful, everyone carried a smile regardless of the situation. Pool service was always great, Jorge was the best server!! There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel making it extremely eazy to get around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by gfadul, Hotel Management
Dear Cesar, Thank you so much for your warm review! I will make sure to share with the rest of the staff. This is their main motivation for sure. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
by Marcelo

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Gelsey Fadul, Hotel Management
Thank you!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Great service great view great food great great hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by gfadul, Hotel Management
Thank you, thank you, thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable with comfy beds, great swimming for kid

Posted Jun 10, 2017
We had a great stay. Really enjoyed the lagoon like beach so our child could safely swim which is really hard to find in PV. Saw fish while snorkeling! Beds were super comfy and staff was attentive and friendly. Food was decent, I wouldn't pay extra for the breakfast package again. It was just ok. Rather do the buffet or just order off menu. Bus picks up right in front of hotel and is only 10 minutes or less to Zona Romantica. Super convenient and close enough to go out for meals and shopping but easy to feel away from the huddle and bustle. Also easy acces by bus to quaint southern beach towns by bus as well. Pool is smaller than pictured and can get quite crowded. But overall hotel is an incredible value and the ocean safety was priceless.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by gfadul, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your detailed review. I am sure it will be of much help to future guests! We hope you come back to visit us again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Evacuation on vacation

Posted May 7, 2017
First time to Mexico, Checked in Monday and by Wednesday they warned me I need to be out of the room for maintenance work on Thursday. This hotel should not have been available to stay for those 6 days. Would have booked elsewhere. How do you kick a person out of their room from 11-4?! I checked out early Wednesday, even though I had the reservation till Saturday. I need a room to rest in. Luckily I had a friend to stay with at Villa del Palmer for remaining days of trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by GFadul, Hotel Management
Dear Savanna, Thank you for adding copies of both notes. The first note was about a drill we do at the hotel and it was optional for you to participate or not. The second one was not an evacuation, it was to inform you gas supply was going to be cut so the stove in your room was not going to work. Therefore we offerd you a 15% discount on food and beverages. You were not being evacuated from your room at all. We are sorry this information was confusiong for you.