Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So. Calif.

Great location close to downtown Walnut Creek

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness and nice staff, plus its historic identity
Cons: Some plumbing issues with bathroom sink
Location: Walnut Creek has beautiful parks and nature reserves, good restaurants and a great shopping district. City trolley service is easy and free!
Have stayed at this inn once before and find it comfortable, affordable and convenient for visiting our apartment-dwelling relatives. Within walking distance of many nice downtown restaurants and shops. A few older-building issues, like some leaky faucets, etc, but overall we love the rustic homey feel of the place. Great daily breakfast included and most pleasant staff, accomodated one of our special-needs requests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

close to the freeway and cheap drinks available!

Posted May 26, 2016
they let me check in early, which was helpful since I was traveling for business. Friendly staff, and a nice quite area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Near the sreeway

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Convenient location while traveling.
Cons: The condition of the room: furniture, wallpaper, outlet covers, new toilet seat, clean the screens of dust and cobwebs.
Location: Walnut Creek has shops, restaurants and malls--just not within the immediate vicinity of the hotel.
The hotel is small nut located near Highway 24 and not far from I-680. There is a gas station across the street, but few restaurants within walking distance (there are plenty within a mile, however). Breakfast--served in the lobby--is 4 types of cereal, some fruit, bread with a toaster, packaged muffins and a coffee dispenser. The bedroom has a microwave and a refrigerator, and the bathroom was clean. The nicer touches are absent: electrical outlets have plates missing, the wall has spots where wallpaper is missing, the furniture is scratched and worn. For a one-night stop while en route elsewhere, it is acceptable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Basic, but comfortable

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Location, staff.
Cons: Needs a bit a modernization.
Location: Downtown Walnut Creek is a easy walk away. Mount Diablo is fairly close by.
Good location for Walnut Creek downtown. Basic and dated but does this job. Friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend to use as a base for exploring the area. Very close to the freeway so take earplugs if you a light sleeper.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great value for the price

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Location: Tons to eat, drink and shop!
. Clean, safe, and well located. Perfect for a quick get away or while attending an event in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Old School Motor Inn

Posted Apr 23, 2016
With some nostalgic qualities of the old motor inn's of the past, it is in need updating and some repairs. I didn't really interact with staff. Room was always clean and comfortable. Felt like I was staying in a weekly rate and somewhat run down place. I felt safe though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Walnut Creek, CA

Worst mattress I've ever suffered. 40 years old?

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was good.
Cons: The mattress!!!
Location: Central to town and freeways.
I've never slept on a worse mattress. It was so old that it had sagging holes where the two people sleep. It made me sleep very poorly and wake up with an aching back. It seems that it matches the rest of the room, which looks like it was nicely appointed with furniture and decor at one point but has never been changed in the last 40 years. The room would have been quite comfortable (if retro) were it not for the mattress.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Convenient to narr

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Very cozy, helpful and polite staff and reasonable rates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with clean rooms and a warm homey feel

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: Great downtown location at a GREAT price!
Nice hotel with clean rooms & bathrooms and a warm homey feel. Great value for the price. I'll definitely be staying here agai when I visit on business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Got the hotel at the last minute, the front desk person was very helpful and friendly. I would stay there again.