Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paying for services not provided

Posted Aug 22, 2016
They stop providing coffee, food, etc - due to not having permit. Floors in hallway and trash room dirty, no one at front desk at 5 am. Even after I informed them trash sat there for a few days. Shower in room high pitch sound and water didn't drain. Found fleas on me. I should have listen to the other reviews and not stayed here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and for choosing to stay with us. I am sorry you endured many issues in out hotel. Our staff have been informed to fix the issues mentioned, such as a trash, the maintenance engineer will see to your bathroom, and a contractor has been called to treat your room. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newbury Park, CA

UCB families stay somewhere else

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Every semester starts, hotel booking around UC Berkeley is like crazy. This hotel doesn't clean the room daily, and they don't put coffee machine in the room, you have to ask for it, what the hell. Are we in US? And they can't serve the breakfast as they advertised and the staffs said nothing they can do, it's not a ripped off, it's a hotel con.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy. To prevent this from happening again, our team is working together to provide an enjoyable experience for our guests. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst experience

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Don't stay at this hotel. People getting high in halls.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your stay. To prevent this from happening again, my team is striving to improve our guests' experience with us. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicagoland

Room for improvement on cleanliness

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Nice to have a kitchenette but room cleanliness left a lot of room for improvement. Overall it was a good choice for the area and our needs in visiting colleges in the area with our two boys.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We appreciate your comments about being near colleges, but are disappointed the cleanliness issues you had to endure. This review will be used as a training tool for our housekeeping staff to reference. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Jul 23, 2016
By far the worst I've ever been been in. Wifi was horrible I couldn't get any work done the 2 nights I stayed there. I couldn't wash my clothes, had no way of getting change. Not even the front desk had change. My ac kept shutting off and the fridge was so loud. Horrible experience and hotel for 135.00 a night. Never again will I stay at this location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your stay. To prevent this from happening again, my team is striving to improve our guests' experience with us. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Excellent

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Great experience ,convenient location, great staff really worth of price, would definitely recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Than you for writing such kind words in your review. It's pleasing to see you enjoyed many things about our hotel such as our location and affordable rooms. I will be sure to inform our staff how accommodating they were doing your stay. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Due to the work I do I travel much and stay at different hotels. I've stayed in bad hotels but I must say this has got to be the worst hotel I've stayed at. Checking in hotel didn't have my reservations though in had been done a week in advance. We were told to wait in lobby "there is no lobby just a hall". On second day our room was not cleaned when I asked cleaning lady if it could be done, her answer was "is not on my list". So I asked for some cleans towels and she told me I was out of luck. Evidently I didn't know hotel's policy that room only gets cleaned after eight days. Just when I thought things couldn't get worse we see dogs running around inside the hall and we find cockroaches inside room. We reserved this room due to late business changes. But I would never recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. Trust all the bad reviews that you read.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bell Gardens

Close the mall very convenient, and Walmart

Posted Jul 7, 2016
My staying at Stay America Hotel was very good, will stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. I am glad to know you enjoyed our convenient location to the area. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Orbitz
Good place to stay at for an OK price.... Our receptionist was awesome... Very nice
2 out of 5
by Sam from West Sacramento, CA

Not the best review!

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
Had some very noisy guests above us until 3 a.m. Had to go to the office and complain. Second night was better. Had some confrontation in the front office at check out. Clerk could not find a copy of credit card which previous clerk said she needed which we found out she didn't need at check in. A lot of noise from construction workers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Sam - Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will strive to make sure your experience is not repeated. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.