Ratings based on 675 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Davis, CA

Nice-looking hotel very convenient to I-80

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Convenient location and nice Spanish colonial-style building.
Cons: Bigger breakfast room needed. Hasn't been renovated in a while.
The hotel is tucked away, almost invisible from Potrero Avenue coming from San Pablo, yet very, very close to the freeway (very easy on going westbound toward SF). It's a nice-looking building with tiny lobby, nice rooms, pleasant staff (who may seem a bit unresponsive, but that may be because English is not their first language). Surprisingly little freeway noise, so it actually seemed peaceful. Adequate security for the parking lot. The breakfast room is too small but the food offered is fairly standard "continental" fare at medium-priced hotels these days. Pricey on the weekends, considerably lower on Sunday thru Thursday - typical of the Bay Area. Easy walk to Denny's for non-special meals, but need a car for other, serious restaurants along San Pablo Avenue. We stayed only one night, but it was a very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Better than it looks!

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Convenient just off I-80, quiet and nice staff.
Cons: The hotel could use the help of a breakfast consultant. We don't expect much, but this was really basic.
Location: N/A
We stayed on two different times, a one night and a two day stay. The motel is next to a highway but we didn't hear the road. It was quiet and the accommodation was good enough: comfortable and clean. The breakfast was pretty spartan - the one thing they could improve on for sure. The Wi-Fi was easy and dependable for us. We would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
This hotel's service did not match the price. The staff was not so friendly and room is so so.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Fountain Valley, CA

Very Serviceable Hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Clean, good value
Cons: windows and easier access to the television/satellite
Location: El Cerrito is such a great town. It has everything you need and would expect along with cute main street shops. Catch the view from the top of Moeser.
We came up to explore Cal and found this hotel to be just fine for our needs. We weren't planning on staying in the hotel for long periods -- just for sleeping and regrouping -- so it worked well for the price. There is no pool, but the beds were comfy and the room was clean. They provide a nice breakfast (no protein options) with coffee. The receptionist was very nice. My only two complaints (?) were that the windows were thin, so the freeway noise was a bit much at times. However, we were so exhausted from walking that we crashed the second night without a problem. The second problem was that we couldn't get the TV to work, so we didn't watch any. That wasn't a huge deal since we had books and phones, but still. Close to the freeway is a plus, and the town of El Cerrito is darling. Would definitely stay here again for the price.
5 out of 5
by H ANGEL

Great place to stay!

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
We came to visit our family which is 10 min. Away and we will stay here again next time loved it! We have stayed at a more expensive hotel nearby but we liked this one better!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Suitable for short stays

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel room was clean. It is an older hotel but there has been renovations which appear to be ongoing. Since I am not familiar with the area, unable to rate the surroundings. Seems to be a hotel that is frequented by contractors as lot of trucks on the parking lot. Quiet. I would rank it as a 2.5 (2.75), at the edge of 3 stars.
4 out of 5
by Patricia

Convenience

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
We like to stay at Hotel Mira Vista because it is close to our son's house.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was O.K. for one night. The room was clean and fairly comfortable--the desk chair was broken but functional. The TV was attached to the wall and O.K. for the bed but not for the sofa. Breakfast was minimal--cereal, bread to toast, frozen waffles, yogurt, and hard boiled eggs.
4 out of 5
by Scott

Fine for a business trip.

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Place was fine for a business trip. Handy access to freeway too. Room was large, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was awful. Only "chemical" pastries and waffles. Had a little cereal as the only tolerable option. Did not interact with staff much but they were very nice and friendly.
3 out of 5
by Nathan

Ok

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
It was ok. A little rough.