Ratings based on 682 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Bare bone breakfast. No clock in room. Close to freeway very noisy
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the fwy

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Upstairs room you can heard people walking or next to as well
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Convenient Location,but you get what you pay for

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Good: So overall the location of the hotel is great. It's a 5 minute walk to the El Cerrito Del Note station and conveniently located by several restaurants and stores all in walking distance. It sits next to the freeway but you would never know. It's very quiet. My room was very clean and the cleaning staff was very nice, not rushing like some. The TV channels, wow. You get over like 500 channels! Bad: The hotel has only 3 floors and there isnt good view so don't go expecting anything. My view was a back lot of old construction trash. The breakfast is basic AF. Lol. So basically cereal (raisin bran and corn flakes), pastries, bread for toast (wheat and white), coffee, waffles, yogurt, juice. So eat up or head to the Denny's down the street. The staff could be nicer. The younger guy there was pretty cool. But the older staff was not welcoming. It may have been a language barrier or culture. Idk. The manager didn't smile or say hi to guests. They dont say hi to anyone coming in to buy a room actually. They say "yes?" It's an upgraded Motel 6 to be honest. Also,you need to ring a doorbell to enter the hotel when you first check in. The area is very safe! To me it was. I walked home every night alone like everyone else in that area. This was a last minute trip and the rooms were cheap. So if you're into that, I'd say stay here. But if not, find the next hotel. It wasnt bad but it also wasn't great at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montara, CA

Accommodating Staff

Posted Jul 6, 2017
This was our second time staying here on business. The hotel staff was accommodating and nice! The room had everything we needed and was clean and quiet. The breakfast was simple but good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to freeway and stores

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Close to grocery store.
Cons: Paint, room cleaning, give your guest the best rooms available not the most convenient for staff to "clean"
Was disappointed in the condition of the room, wine stains on the walls, holes and dents in walls, mirror had shaving cream stains from past occupant. Breakfast was frozen waffles toast cereal and yogurt. Pricing should have been 25% lower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Davis, CA

Nice-looking hotel very convenient to I-80

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Convenient location and nice Spanish colonial-style building.
Cons: Bigger breakfast room needed. Hasn't been renovated in a while.
The hotel is tucked away, almost invisible from Potrero Avenue coming from San Pablo, yet very, very close to the freeway (very easy on going westbound toward SF). It's a nice-looking building with tiny lobby, nice rooms, pleasant staff (who may seem a bit unresponsive, but that may be because English is not their first language). Surprisingly little freeway noise, so it actually seemed peaceful. Adequate security for the parking lot. The breakfast room is too small but the food offered is fairly standard "continental" fare at medium-priced hotels these days. Pricey on the weekends, considerably lower on Sunday thru Thursday - typical of the Bay Area. Easy walk to Denny's for non-special meals, but need a car for other, serious restaurants along San Pablo Avenue. We stayed only one night, but it was a very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Better than it looks!

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Convenient just off I-80, quiet and nice staff.
Cons: The hotel could use the help of a breakfast consultant. We don't expect much, but this was really basic.
Location: N/A
We stayed on two different times, a one night and a two day stay. The motel is next to a highway but we didn't hear the road. It was quiet and the accommodation was good enough: comfortable and clean. The breakfast was pretty spartan - the one thing they could improve on for sure. The Wi-Fi was easy and dependable for us. We would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
This hotel's service did not match the price. The staff was not so friendly and room is so so.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Fountain Valley, CA

Very Serviceable Hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Clean, good value
Cons: windows and easier access to the television/satellite
Location: El Cerrito is such a great town. It has everything you need and would expect along with cute main street shops. Catch the view from the top of Moeser.
We came up to explore Cal and found this hotel to be just fine for our needs. We weren't planning on staying in the hotel for long periods -- just for sleeping and regrouping -- so it worked well for the price. There is no pool, but the beds were comfy and the room was clean. They provide a nice breakfast (no protein options) with coffee. The receptionist was very nice. My only two complaints (?) were that the windows were thin, so the freeway noise was a bit much at times. However, we were so exhausted from walking that we crashed the second night without a problem. The second problem was that we couldn't get the TV to work, so we didn't watch any. That wasn't a huge deal since we had books and phones, but still. Close to the freeway is a plus, and the town of El Cerrito is darling. Would definitely stay here again for the price.
4 out of 5
by Rick

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
Nice Hotel with constant work in progress to upgrade,staff was good, neighborhood was a little ruff but overall was a good week stay