Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Great value for the money. Very quiet country location close to the cave art and to charming villages. Take the train from Paris to Brive-la-Gaillard and rent a car.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grand hotel in private location

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: The appearance is very romantic and the location private. The dining room and drawing room very characterful and the staff very pleasant.
Cons: Stronger light, a omfortable chair ((or two), and a chest of drawers in the bedroom.
Location: Excellent location for Lascaux and all things prehistoric. Many magnificent caves, castles gardens and lovely towns and villages within an easy drive.
The castle itself is grand with some lovely features. We booked a 'comfort' room but were given a rather dark room with inadequate lighting, no comfortable chair to relax in and no chest of drawers for clothes etc..We used the narrow desk drawers. Not a room to relax in. All this probably coloured my view of the hotel. The wardrobe was magnificent, and the double bed characterful, the bathroom and separate loo perfectly acceptable. The water was fairly instantly wonderfully hot. The dining room is magnificent and the food very good, though steak knives weren't provided for the steak and the menu was limited. Outside there was a slight air of faded glory around the pool and tennis courts but both were acceptable and the pool water was well tended. We didn't use the fitness room and sauna which might be a big plus for other visitors. All the staff were welcoming, competent, friendly and We helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful building but disappointing

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Building and grounds
Cons: Room soundproofing decor and comfort. WiFi
Location: Prehistoric caves and medieval niche troglodyte dwellings
Beautiful building. Good food. Staff helpful. We arrived after 7 pm, but they fitted us into the later 8pm sitting in the restaurant. Room awful 2star, very basic decor like prison. Paper thin walls. Could hear every word and step our neighbors made. WiFi intermittent, very frustrating only really available in bar. Bar should have been open till 23.00. First night it was closed when we finished supper at 21.30.
5 out of 5
by Stephen

A pleasant stay

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice place. Staying in a real chateau was impressive. Of course things are not modestly priced...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017
Merci de nous avor fait part de votre satisfaction
5 out of 5
by Karen

One night was too short!

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful countryside setting, and we wished we could have spent more than our 1 overnight there. Great location to so much to see and do in the Dordogne area. A destination stay for relaxation or hiking. Very good dining.
4 out of 5
by Sharon from Lake Oswego

Loads of Charm in a Peaceful Setting

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
This is an old chateau, very charming, even with its idiocyncracies. There is no elevator and if you opt for the "luxury" rooms in the turret, you'll have quite a few steps to climb--although the hotel will happily help you with your luggage. Lighting is a bit dim, the floors are uneven--but it's a few centuries old, after all. The restaurant is very nice, service is attentive and the menu is extensive. We ate there three times and each time were quite pleased. There is a more modern annex, but I'm not so sure you'd get the charm factor there as what you would experience in the chateau itself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by George from Fife Scotland

Lovely valley hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Restaurant location and service.
Cons: Bedroom.
Location: Nice villages to visit. Walks and prehistorical sites to visit.
Lovely hotel with great views. Excellent restaurant and service. Nice swimming pool and outside seating facilities. Room a little disappointing size wise and entrance was from an old creaky wooden staircase. On arrival they had no record of our booking. All in all a lovely place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alan from New Jersey

A lovely Chateau

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: The sense of living history and the setting.
Location: Near to the ancient city of Montignac and the Lescaux II caves and many other places to visit and enjoy.
The Chateau is, in and of itself, beautiful and situated in a wonderfully pastoral setting. You can sit on the patio and just enjoy the clean fresh air and gorgeous view. The one negative is that the rooms are on the third floor up this striking grand staircase. The staff carried the bags up for us when we checked in and down upon our leaving.
5 out of 5
by Queue from Western Australia

outstanding hotel and location

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels
Absolutely outstanding location, quiet, picturesque, beautiful building and gardens and close to some great attractions
5 out of 5
by Liz from France

Beautiful location

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels
lovely hotel and staff close to many sights would highly recommend