Ratings based on 241 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NIce moderate price CASTLE

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Enjoyed our one night stay at an Irish castle! It was moderately priced compared to other very expensive castle hotels. The owner, Mr. Hughes, was always present and very welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Great hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: The old world charm with all the modern comforts.
Cons: This hotel was outstanding!
Location: It is walking distance to town. The Sky road drove at sunset is a must!
We had a fantastic stay at this wonderful hotel. Our room was spectacular, the dinner at the hotel was excellent. Breakfast was varied, plentiful and importantly very tasty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis IN

Awesome

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Just enjoyed the castle and grounds
This was one of the highlights of our trip to Ireland. The staff was wonderful! The food was awesome and the grounds are absolutely beautiful. Would highly recommend!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Terra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

staying in a castle

Posted May 31, 2017
Location: Clifden is a small eclectic village walking distance from the castle
We had a lovely stay at AbbyGlen castle. The afternoon tea of scones jam and cream was lovely, we then walked into the lovely little town of Clifden. We hurried back for the 6pm history talk about the town and the castle and of course the free flowing presseco. We had a lovely dinner upstairs with great service and then received a free photo at dinner taken by the owner. I would recommend anyone to stay their to enhance their Irish experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond Hill Ontario, Canada

great hotel

Posted May 18, 2017
Very welcoming. The champagne at the bar was a nice touch. We were upgraded to a superior suite with a 4 post bed. Overall the stay was better than anticipated. Would recommend to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucks

Delightful hotel with exceptional staff

Posted May 14, 2017
Characterful snd cheerful hotel with exceptional staff. A wonderful stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ireland

One step beyond.

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: The luxurious comfort. The staff. the dessert trolley.
Location: Situated in beautiful surroundings within walking distance of Clifden centre. The boat club is just a stroll down the road and a lovely spot to visit.
Staying at this hotel was an excellent customer experience. The staff were very attentive and the free champagne certainly helped. It was a special occasion for us and we were upgraded without asking. The gas fire in the room added that extra feeling of comfort. Brian took photos at the dinner tables and presented us with a take-away photo memory. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Good location to the town centre
Location: Excellent restaurants, eat in Guys & Mitchells, both excellent.
Wonderful warm, friendly hotel. Rooms spotless & very helpful staff.