Ratings based on 253 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Couple Days away

Posted Jan 9, 2018
We had a great time at abbeyglen, very warm and comfortable rooms and a waterfall outside our rooms window! The atmosphere is kitchy and old school and a mix between the great gatsby and the game clue (:. Lovely helpful staff and great place to just hang out with free champagne reception before dinner each night and a funny talk about the area and history, clifden town and the area is great to explore with many characters and amazing scenery!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.Ireland

Fantastic hotel, reception, restaurant and staff.

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Absolutely love this hotel. If I'm staying in or around clifden I'd go nowhere else. From the reception to the FREE champagne, canopies and local history talk before a sumptuous dinner right through to breakfast....this is simply the place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, Pa.

Classic old hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2017
We stayed only one night, but had a great experience.
4 out of 5
by Alma

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Place to Stay

Posted Sep 24, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely old building with comfortable rooms. Very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Beautiful hotel, friendly and helpful staff

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Superb- loved our stay at the beautiful hotel. Our room was very comfortable, clean and spacious as well as nicely decorated. The owner and all the staff were friendly and very attentive. Food was delicious. Lots of nice touches such as complementary champagne and te and scones. Love our stay ❤️️
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NIce moderate price CASTLE

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Enjoyed our one night stay at an Irish castle! It was moderately priced compared to other very expensive castle hotels. The owner, Mr. Hughes, was always present and very welcoming.
5 out of 5
by Stuart

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Great hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: The old world charm with all the modern comforts.
Cons: This hotel was outstanding!
Location: It is walking distance to town. The Sky road drove at sunset is a must!
We had a fantastic stay at this wonderful hotel. Our room was spectacular, the dinner at the hotel was excellent. Breakfast was varied, plentiful and importantly very tasty.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outstanding

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Such a perfect castle with a warm home-like charm!