Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lebanon, PA

Can't say enough about this place!

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The castle and the grounds are incredible!
Cons: Nothing! They should keep doing what they are doing!
Location: It wasn't close to much but it was on the way to Kylemore Abbey and Galway so we spent the night there. We wished we had booked a longer stay.
The grounds surrounding Ballynahinch were stunning!! The castle is gorgeous and the room we stayed in was very clean, comfortable bed and it had this adorable window seat that overlooked the back of the castle and the river behind it. The staff was very competent, courteous and extremely helpful! We didn't eat at the restaurant but we did eat at the pub. The food was good and not horribly expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by POFlahertyGM, Hotel Management
Dear Patti, thank you for a super review. We are thrilled that you found the grounds stunning; we are very fortunate to be in such a beautiful part of Ireland and the estate team have been doing a great job. We are so pleased that you were comfortable in your room and took the time to enjoy the views from the window seat overlooking the river. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal in the Fisherman’s Pub and found the staff so helpful. We hope you visit again soon to experience more of our grounds and walkways on your next trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Over the top great

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Everthing was great. Would recommend this hotel to a friend for sure. Staff were very nice and the food was great. Brad
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by POFlahertyGM, Hotel Management
Dear Brad, we are thrilled to hear you would recommend us to a friend and that you found everything was great. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your food and found our staff nice; we are very lucky to have such a great team working with us. Thank you for a great review and do come and see us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hiking trails

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Lots of photo opportunities. Awesome dining experience. Was very pleasantly surprised
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by POFlahertyGM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for a super review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your dinner with us and explored our walking trails. Do come and visit again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Peace and beauty in magical garden setting

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Pros: The gardens are the main feature and get a river room view if you can.
Cons: Staff in the restaurant could do with better coordination.
Location: Wild Atlantic Way, Letterfrack, Clifden
As you wend your way up a driveway to the main house at Ballynahinch Castle Hotel, it feels as if you are entering another world. The gardens and surrounds are second to none. As you walk the many paths available to you, around each corner there is another awe inspiring nook or vista of garden or river to discover. If fishing is your thing, then you have come to the right place. The salmon are running again in the river due to net fishing being banned. If it is not, then you can still enjoy walking the river paths.
4 out of 5
by Holly

A little short of perfect

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely location and beautiful grounds with hiking trails. We were there for 2 nights so did not try any activities they offer. The food at dinner was excellent. For a luxury accommodation I would say what was missing was afternoon tea and a really great breakfast, two things we enjoyed at a few B&Bs during our Ireland travels. Breakfast was good, but not exceptional. Wait staff in dining room was friendly but felt it was a bit chaotic causing some inconsistencies in service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth every dime

Posted May 29, 2017 on Orbitz
The food was world class and the breakfast not to be missed. Doting staff and spectacular grounds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by POFlahertyGM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for a wonderful review. We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your dining with us, in particular, your breakfast. We are pleased to hear you found our staff so caring and enjoyed the grounds around the estate. We hope you come visit again soon.
5 out of 5
by Renee

Fancy!

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful, quiet and relaxing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia Area

Excellent in all ways!

Posted May 5, 2017
Our recent stay at this top notch Hotel was nothing short of spectacular. Top notch staff, incredible grounds, excellent food and spirits --- I have been to many highly rated hotels in my life and this experience is second to none. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by Mary

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay here was nothing short of fantastic. We were very tired coming in and we had arrived early. The staff were so understanding and friendly. They gave us our room right away. We were able to relax and then go exploring. The grounds are just stunning. Everyone who worked were there were so polite, efficient and knowledgeable about the Castle and its history. We enjoyed hearing stories. I would suggest taking the guided walk through the grounds as again it was beautiful and we loved hearing the history from our guide. We were thoroughly impressed and would love to return there.
4 out of 5
by Deirdre

Short stay at Ballynahinch.

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Very good one night stay at Ballynahinch. Nice welcome ( doesn't happen often) and lovely quiet room which I requested. Bathroom well equipped and two sinks an advantage. Meticulously clean. Lovely comfortable bed and nice to have a change from the duvets which can often be too heavy-- here its a nice wool blanket and bedspread. No blackout curtains so quite bright in the early morning. Only hitch was a lack of communication when ordering breakfast ( brought double what I asked). Food was of a high quality though and nice selection including a lovely baked ham. Lovely walks in the area and very peaceful. Will definitely return.