Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Damp, Musty, Room but Recently Renovated

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Room was tastefully appointed with new carpet. A/C worked ok.
Cons: Breakfast. Sheets. Damp smell in room.
Location: Lake Conroe marina.
I chose this hotel because my brother lives in Montgomery and this hotel is near and has a high rating. The price was also very reasonable. Well, the all saw is true...you get what you pay for. The hotel is well located, across from the Lake Conroe marina. The room was very nice with new carpet and beautiful bedding. However, the room had a musty/mildew damp smell like an old laundry room with wet clothes that we noticed as soon as I walked in. We turned on the A/C to drop the temperature and left to go out for dinner with family for three hours. I assumed the A/C would remove the smell. Nope! The same gross smell greeted us upon return. The beds were beautiful but the sheets were super thin and I suspect where made of synthetics. Not cotton. As a result, they did not breathe well and I found them to be very hot in spite of the low temp in the room! The bed was overall comfortable, but the sheets interfered with getting a good nights rest. The tub was interesting. I am not a heavy guy, maybe 195#, but the tub floor moved more than any tub I have ever used. It is one of those cheap drop-in units. Every time I shifted my weight, I could feel the floor of the tub shift up or down. My wife and I agreed that the breakfast was absolutely the worst we have ever had at any hotel in our lives. The eggs were from powder, or tasted like it. Maybe made a Dow Chemical? But not sure they ever saw the inside of a chicken. The biscuits were like hockey pucks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Avoid accessible rooms

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: The personnel are always pleasant and welcoming.
Cons: Fix the above issue with accessible rooms.
Location: Lake Conroe is right across the street. Also near the Woodlands Mall.
I've stayed at this hotel before with no problems, but this time I was put in an accessible room when my original room was double booked. There was a definite 'nursing home' smell - something resembling urine and disinfectant. The linens and bed were clean, so it must have been in the carpet or ventilation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montgomery tx

Bugs and blood

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Traveled for a wedding and brought my 8 week old baby. Got into the room and found blood on the sheets. Called and asked for the bed to be remade. She told me "it may be awhile". She came a few minutes later, and offered a new room. I looked on the pillow cases and found small bugs all over them. We accepted the offer for a new room, and I informed her of the bugs we saw. She did not offer us a refund or any help with the troubles of changing a new room with an infant. I would have demanded a refund and gone to a different hotel if I could have.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A Very Nice Surprise!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Proximity to restaurants Beds were comfortable Clean bathroom
Cons: Difficult to go left from hotel because of street congestion Rough towels
Location: Sam's Boat Renaissance Fair
I was anticipating a motel with bare-bones necessities. I was pleasantly surprised. The beds were very comfortable, it was quiet at night, and the bathroom was clean. The air-conditioning was okay....the room was a little musty from the humidity in Lake Conroe. We would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from US

Good hotel for the value

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: several restaurants and boating activities nearby
Room spacious and Clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast variety is good but quality is mundane. No exercise room. Swimming pool available
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Convenient for sport meet

Posted Oct 17, 2016
The AC is a little noisy but it's probably cover the road noise. Overall good stay and decent breakfast and convenient for our sport meet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not up to par

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean.
Cons: Another couple of ice machines and fix the AC and water
Location: Texas Renaissance festival and lake Conroe
Room was clean but there was no hot water for bathing and the AC did not work. There was only one ice machine for the entire hotel located at the front of the hotel and only two stairways located on the opposite ends, so if your room was in the middle of the hotel it was a bit of a hike.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great for a short stay

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Convenient to the lake and not to far from Ren Fair. Easy to find on a main Hwy
Cons: Maybe some larger towels would be nice.
Location: Lake Conroe is across the street and lots of places to eat all along the Hwy there.
Small room but comfortable, clean and presentable. Easy check in and check out. Breakfast offerings where okay too. The only problem we had was someone decided to play an electric guitar at 1am but I guess enough complaints where called in so it didn't last long.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Quiet room, comfortable bed. Only negative comment: the AC made everything in the room feel damp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Very comfy...across from lake was awesome ...elevator would have made it perfect