Ratings based on 353 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: confort, quiet and all amenities. Mini-golf was plesant.
Cons: Swimming-pool are all outside and were too cold.
Location: Sam Houston Park
We spent one night,tried the mini-golf and tried to enjoy the swimming-pool but the water was too cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa for your stay. We are happy you had a comfortable stay with us and that you liked all of the amenities that we have to offer. However, we are sorry for your disappointment with our pool. Thank you again for your business, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Nice place. Restaurant is a little pricing for what you get but overall a great place to stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words about your stay at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa on Lake Conroe. We pride ourselves in providing you with all the essentials to relax and rejuvenate and we are thrilled that all of our facilities lived up to your expectations. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice weekend get away

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: I loved the location
Cons: The bed & couch were very low. The couch was torn. I would have liked to sit out on the balcony but there wasn't ant furniture out there.
Location: We went to the Lakside restaurant for dinner, it was very nice
The lake is beautiful it was a nice place. Not sure the facilities are worth the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are pleased you had a good weekend escape with us at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa on Lake Conroe. It was nice to read that our peaceful lakeside location provided the perfect backdrop for you to unwind and rejuvenate. We have made a note of your observations, comments such as yours help us enhancing our services and amenities. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, TERRIBLE staff

Posted Oct 31, 2016
I have NEVER stayed at a hotel with such terrible employees before in my life. They are useless in every sense of the word. They are unhelpful, aggressive, defensive, and all around unpleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. Although I am thrilled to know you loved the hotel, I was extremely concerned to read your comments and apologize for any unpleasant experience with our staff. I assure you an "unhelpful" staff is not acceptable and I will be working with my team to correct this. I know our staff genuinely cares about providing an enjoyable stay to all of our guests so this incident is not a reflection of our usual service. I apologize for this experience and hope you will consider a second visit. Martin Valdez, Marketing Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Staff

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The pool.
Cons: Everything but the pools.
The staff here was terrible! The moment we arrived, we were looking forward to valet service. The valet attendants just looked at us, and nobody offered to help us. We asked one attendant if we could valet park, and he said I guess. The rooms are okay at best. Not worth the money we spent. Room service was also terrible. The person who took room service orders couldn't answer any questions. Overall this place is just not goo for the price. Do not waste your time or money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for the feedback. We apologize for clearly falling short of your service expectations. Our staff is well trained that the needs of our guests always come first, but we obviously failed to respond to your needs as we should have done. I have shared your comments with both our Valet and Room Service staff members to remind them that great guest service should be priority one when making the guest experience a great one. We are capable of doing so much better and I do hope you will consider a return visit so we can prove that to you. Thanks again for staying with us. Martin Valdez Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Very nice hotel. Food and drinks very good.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Scenic property with nice amenities. Staff welcoming and friendly!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are so happy you chose La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa for your stay, and we thank you for the gracious remarks provided. We are delighted to read that your visit was enjoyable and you loved our on-site restaurant food and beverages. Thank you so much for your 5-star review and hope we can welcome you back again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the lake

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Quick check-in led to a excellent weekend. Golf course was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fabulous review of La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa on Lake Conroe. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our resort facilities and amenities to create memorable moments while you were here. Your comments reaffirm that we are achieving our goal of customer satisfaction. We appreciate your review and would love to welcome you back soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston Heights, TX

They checked us into the room and it wasn't clean.

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: It was scenic, had lots to do, and the fireworks show was nice.
Cons: I would like to have been informed that you could not see the fireworks from your room when checking in and breakfast ended at 10 am.
Location: I have been to the area before and love Sam Houston Park and the Marina! If you have the opportunity to go out on the water it's a great lake :)
I would not call this a resort, overall the experience was not worth the price paid. They had a large wedding going on and evidently the systems went down when checking in. No one with authority addressed or apologized for the poor service when our room was not clean. I was informed by the cleaning crew that the hotel and the cleaning services were separate companies. I am in my mid thirties and was passed over for service at the pool cabana, did not once have a cabana attendant approach for services at all, and had to ask 3 times for water at breakfast. I am not the type to complain or return items in general but do not want others to have the same experience. I am local to the area and thankful that I only had booked one evening at the hotel. I will be sure to advise others not to stay or bring business to this facility unless management changes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers. We are happy to hear you found lots of fun things to do in the area and happy you were able to enjoy the fireworks show. However, we are so terribly sorry our staff throughout the property missed opportunities to impress with the hospitality and service we are known for. We want all our guests to leave completely satisfied and I am sorry this was not the case for you. I have shared your comments with my staff so that we can improve moving forward. We would love the opportunity to provide you a much more pleasant experience and hope to welcome you back soon. Martin Valdez Marketing Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel seems to need a good cleaning. The pool area was dirty and the pools have algae growing. The landscaping (plants and shrubs) are dying or dead. The bathroom faucets in the conference center- only 2 of 6 worked in the ladies room. We received no housekeeping service during our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that the level of cleanliness was not up to par during your stay. That is certainly not up to our standards. Your concerns will be shared with our Director of Housekeeping to determine why we fell short and to make sure this doesn't happen again. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We want our property to be a relaxing retreat and will continue to work diligently to make sure all of our guests leave the resort refreshed and planning their next visit. Thank you again, and we do hope you’ll return and give us a second chance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved the lazy river!

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable room, super family friendly, great pools. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but do not recommend the dining options on-site. Very mediocre for the price. However, we would definitely return and just be sure to bring our own breakfast and lunch fixings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and especially enjoyed the lazy river. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.