Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Could be so much better

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Lovely village setting. The pub requires a small of work to be done internally and externally. Once this is done it would be a fantastic place to stay in a lovely location. The manager also requires to be a bit more customer friendly as he doesn't have much chat or chorisma. Could be so much better!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient breakwe

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Welcomed on arrival, asked about breakfast timings, friendly landlord, very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely village and excellent pub.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Nice owners, good food and a peaceful nigh'ts rest.
Location: A quiet English village with sheep grazing on the village green. We used this inn as a stop from the Roman Wall.
We were lucky to get a room at the Punch Bowl to break our journey south from a visit to Hadrian's Wall. This was a last minute and unplanned Bank Holiday booking after we stayed an extra day looking at Roman sites. The Punch Bowl is highly praised by many visitors and fully deserves all the favourable reviews.
3 out of 5
by keith from Southampton

Good but could be so much better.

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
The food was very good while the service was good apart from busy times when the staffing was inadequate.The Inn needs a cash injection. The rooms are very small and need an uplift. Cleanliness was poor in parts and there were a number of room faults such as a toilet seat missing, bulbs needing replacing etc.. With a little more attention this Inn could be very good, unsure how it achieves a 4 star rating!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent food. Very value for money.
4 out of 5
by Dave

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun pub/ Inn near Hadrian's Wall

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Arrived about 10 pm, in time for a fresh pint of a local ale, then settled down for the night in a tight, but comfortable room. Delicious full English breakfast then off to Hadrian's wall for a walk! Delightful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted May 2, 2016
Nice hotel unfortunately closed doors to accommodation at 11:30 which meant we had to be in before that time which reduced our time with friends we had not seen in a while. pleasant staff nice breakfast clean rooms
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Not Provided from Middlesbrough

Birthday trip

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
Very satisfied with whole visit