Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

nice hotel on the Black Sea

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Nice hotel with private beach.
Cons: sometimes the internet is slow.
Location: Good location in Mamaia with restaurants around and beach shopps.
The service is very good. there is buffet for breakfest and lunch. The beach is beautiful with nice music. A wonderful relaxing experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

3 stars expensive hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: The guest are selected by the price so it' s very civilized. We enjoyed the swimming pool.
Cons: The staff has to be trained, starting to the cleaning staff ( once I found them as guests in the floor lobby chatting and they even didn't get up
Location: The beach is beautiful and quiet unlike the other Romanian hotels
Very small room, strange attitude of the untrained staff, nice swimming pool, beautiful beach. Average food. Extremely expensive. The so called lateral sea view it's an amazing parking picture ( nice cars).
5 out of 5
by Cristina from Menlo Park, California

Best hotel and beach experience in Mamaia

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
The Vega Hotel exceeding our expectations in every possible way. First, the hotel is right on the beach and offers free padded lounging chairs with towels and umbrellas. Compared with the other private beaches in Mamaia, the lounging chairs and not as close together. The rooms are modern, very clean with good wi-fi and very comfortable beds and bedding. We also used the fitness center twice and they have good quality equipment. The buffet breakfast was amazing and offered a complex variety of foods from fresh crepes to omelettes, fried eggs, fruit, pastries, variety of cheeses, hams, meats and Romanian delicacies. The same thing went for the lunch, which was also included in our fare. We had dinner one night at the Vega restaurant and were entertained by the Vega Band, which is quite good. The dinner was our best dinner in Mamaia, more expensive than all the other places, but worth the price. The had a very extensive selection or Romanian and International wines and the food was excellent.
5 out of 5
by Julie from Bucharest, U.K. New Zealand

Best stay in off season.

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed off season and it was quiet, we walked along the beach, and chilled out. On Saturday night they has the resident band with only a handful of guests but it was very much enjoyed. The rest of the town looked closed not only for winter but run down.
5 out of 5
by Nicolina from from Bucharest

Perfect stay for last weekend of summer

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed the last official weekend of summer. The hotel location was in the best part of Mamaia (close to restaurants, nice part of the beach, close to clubs etc. The hotel room (double) had a great view (even though the hotel identified it as partial, I could still see the entire sea), very nice amenities, good gym, free water in the room and quality bathroom products - everything I would expect from a 5 star hotel. The restaurant Akoldae was greatly positioned with sea views and the food was of good quality. Also had lunch there which was great food (service was a little slow - not enough staff for the unexpected volume of people!). The towels and umbrellas for the beach were included in the hotel cost which was fantastic and the beach was exclusive to hotel guests - brilliant. The reception staff could have been a little more friendly and smile more but they were nevertheless accommodating. Overall I loved it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too expensive

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
In my opinion this is not a 5 stars hotel and it is very very very expensive for what it offers. The rooms are small and cheap furnished and equipped and looks like a 3 stars rooms and the food from the restaurant is made of bad quality products; almost everything from the breakfast buffet is brought (you can see products like cheap melted cheese everyone), only some things cooked there,but with very bad taste. The buffet is rich but is only for people which do not care what they eat. Same with the lunch buffet. The only thing that I liked was the beach, witch is nice and comfortable, except for the drinks from the bar (the worst frappe). The staff is nice too and almost well trained. So, in my opinion it is fair to pay for the room 3 times less from the price that they ask.
5 out of 5
by raluca from Bucharest

Very good, most expensive

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Very secure and confortable hotel. Great beach, less crowded than the standard for Mamaia. But this is also because everything related to the hotel is hugely overpriced: accomodation, food, beverages and sunlounge on the beach
5 out of 5
by Ben from Kézdivasarhéy

Clean beaches and a nice hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
Anniversary celebration with my wife. Nice stay, nice beach, and nice area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to the beach

Posted May 11, 2015
The Hotel was beautiful, excellent service from a very friendly staff. Only downside was that the pool and beach were not open yet even though the weather was nice?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel on the beach, brilliant staff

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, style, quality of everything, amazing breakfast. Fantastic spa, there's some really unusual massages and so relaxing.
Location: don't go in the quiet season (after 1st Sept) if you don't want a quiet and hotel only break. The town becomes a ghost town
From the second we arrived until we left the staff couldn't do enough. Any question or request is no problem. We arrived in quite season still believing the pool was in use and were informed it was closing that day. We asked if they would be happy to leave the sun loungers out just a couple more days as we booked this hotel mainly for the pool and the receptionist said she would speak to the manager, after returning from a lovely lunch and walk down the beach. We were told ' they would happily keep the pool open for us' and offered us an upgrade. Any time we needed towels and cushions let them know and someone would go and get them for us. This is just one of the many examples of how the staff will do anything to please their guests. All staff from the bottom to the top would offer assistance in anyway possible is you asked them. Thank you all