Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mary

The Best Respite in Cape Town

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
This a beautiful property that exudes a sense of relax sophistication. The Conservatory restaurant is gourmet in an atmosphere that is perfect afternoon or evening.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Epsom, UK

Perfect place for quiet and relaxation

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everything! We couldn't really fault our stay, and the warm welcome of the hotel staff. We would definitely recommend.
Cons: We were unable to extend our late checkout beyond midday, unless we were prepared to pay 50% of the overnight room rate. We declined
Location: Plenty to do, with Cape Town, the coast, wine region and mountains all close by, as well as some fantastic restaurants.
Room 61 at the hotel is particularly charming, situated over two floors, and with its own secluded rear garden. It has a very 'homely' feel to it. One evening, as we left our room to dine in the hotel restaurant, the door security latch fell off (I know it's not supposed too...). We placed it to one side, and I was going to report this the following day. To my surprise, the security latch had been replaced by the time we returned later that evening. How's that for efficient service ... The gardens around the hotel are beautiful, manicured in places, and left natural down towards and within the woods. While not on the same scale as Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens close by, they are peaceful and endearing, and in some ways are better. The resident ducks are a feature within the gardens, and you will see them waddling around various parts of the estate, with the exception of the two pool areas, to which they are not allowed entry. Breakfast is relaxed and informal, with outdoor seating. The food is freshly prepared and delicious, and the service attentive and efficient. I can definitely recommend the smoked fish cakes, which are very tasty. We found all the staff to be exceptionally friendly and courteous throughout our week's stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service and disappointing stay

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Even though calling beforehand to confirm that our room allocation was convenient for a disabled person, we were allocated a room with non-user friendly disabled facilities. We were subsequently 'downgraded' to a smaller & more user-friendly room, upon which we were offered a R2000 credit. When checking out the following day, we were notofied that no such credit will be possible as the booking was made through a 3rd party. In addition to this terrible service and inconvenience suffered, the service was poor, and the hotel cleanliness was not top notch. Even though a loyal supporter of the Hohenhort in the past, I am terribly disappointed, and will not be recommending this former lovely hotel to any traveller. What a disaster!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent service. Beautiful room and grounds. Good resturant. Breakfast was very good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Very giid stay but the room was just beneath the restaurant, it was noisy
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
We were spoiled so nice