Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Hotel, friendly staff.

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Pros: Very good breakfast
Previous visitors, really like the underground experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2018 by Alastair, Hotel Management
Thanks for posting your review. Glad to hear that your repeat visit was as expected
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2018 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Nancy, Hotel Management
Hi Kirsty, Thanks for taking time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate it. Happy travels. Best regards, Nancy Yuan
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2018 on Hotels
Disappointing start with room but ends well. Booked an underground room. It was so hot and stuffy. This surely could not be normal - wasn't it supposed to be 'cooler' underground? There was something terribly wrong with the room, it smelt funky and had no air circulation apart from a cheap small plastic wall mounted fan for a very large room!! We let front desk know, they were very accommodating and offered us an upstairs room with aircon as no other underground rooms were available. The above ground room was superb!! Bliss. We were worried about staying in an above room as it would be too hot - don't make the same mistake! You can very comfortably stay above ground here. Staying underground is more of a novelty. We moved to another underground room the next 2 nights which was so much better, didn't smell, had great air circulation and a metal fan! Much better. We were able to look into rooms when being cleaned and some layouts were better than others and the size varied. We had an issue with the shower in the second underground which was fixed promptly. We used the pool which was clean and dined at breakfast in the cafe which was good. The hotel also has an opal shop and a tour and information on the area which was really good. Would recommend this hotel, great location too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Nancy, Hotel Management
Hi Olivia, Hi Olivia, Thanks for taking time to review your recent stay with us. Sorry for the inconvenience at the first. Glad to read your were happy with the actions we had taken during your stay and I'm also happy to have a chat with with you. We are always trying our best to make our guests happy. Looking forward to seeing you next time. Happy travels. Best regards, Nancy Yuan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Craigmore

Nice big spacious room

Posted Jan 8, 2018 on Wotif
Pros: Bars, Restaurant and shop all in one complex and the pool was great
Cons: no
The under ground bar was a great experience Had a swim in the pool which was a great relief from the heat
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2018 by Nancy, Hotel Management
Hi Phil, Thanks for taking time to write such a great review for your recent stay with us, we appreciate it. Safe travels. Best regards, Nancy Yuan
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Vic, Australia

Clean but needs updating.

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: It's probably the best in town. Cafe and Restaurant on site.
Cons: Rooms and bathrooms need updating. Outdated. Hard to open door with Key. It would jam.
Location: Coober Pedy is a small mining town. Not much to do. It was only an overnight stay for us. Somewhere to sleep and shower. I would stay there again.
We stayed in an upstairs room. It was clean however, the room and bathroom needs updating. We were travelling to Adelaide, so it was satisfactory for an overnight stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by Nancy, Hotel Management
Hi Carol, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Will inform the maintenance to look at the rooms. Thanks for the positive comments. Happy travels. Best regards, Nancy Yuan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from whyalla

different hotel experience. underground rooms

Posted Dec 10, 2017 on Wotif
this is our second time staying in this hotel, very little had changed in the 20 years between visits. every that you need is there, excellent restaurant and cafe. this place has many unique features with its underground bedrooms, cafe, bar and shop. there is an unique feature and that is the under ground tunnel between the reception and the main hotel that has the history of Opel mining. the restaurant serves excellent cuisine at a very good price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by Nancy, Hotel Management
Hi Jim, Thanks for taking time to write such a great review for your recent stay. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. Looking forward to seeing you next time. Safe travels. Best regards, Nancy Yuan
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in the center of Township.

Posted Dec 5, 2017 on Wotif
It was good to be back in the same hotel after 30 years. The stay was very satisfactory. The counter guy was new to the town so so was not much help. But it’s easy to go around anyway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Nancy, Hotel Management
Hi there, Thanks for taking time to review you recent stay with us. We appreciate it. Happy to read you were satisfied during your stay and thanks for choosing us again after 30 years. The staff is new and will do more training in the future. Happy travels. Nancy Yuan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennant Creek

Nice stay

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Power was out for several hours due to storm, this was beyond their control. Hotel itself was really nice, friendly staff, felt vwry safe there. If it was a bit warmer I would have made use of the pool!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by Nalin Suwaris-FOM, Hotel Management
Dear Aaron, Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and i am looking forward to having you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, nearby attractions.

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Good stopping point between Aidlaide and Alice Springs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Nalin Suwaris-FOM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for choosing out hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bristol

Underground room experience

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: The underground room experience.
Cons: More coffee at breakfast- given that you could have unlimited juice don’t understand the coffee problem
This is our first time in an underground room which was quiet and cool... just a bit disconcerting when we woke and the bed was covered in dust ... but is a must. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel only disappointment was one cup of coffee with breakfast- but dinner was excellent. Will definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Nancy, Hotel Management
Hi Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Sorry for the disappointment at our Cafe and the dust on the bed. Will pass your feedback to the team and get them to look at this. Happy to read you slept well in the underground room and enjoyed the meals at our Umbertos restaurant. Looking forward to seeing you next time. Happy travels. Nancy Yuan