Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Vic, Australia

Clean but needs updating.

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: It's probably the best in town. Cafe and Restaurant on site.
Cons: Rooms and bathrooms need updating. Outdated. Hard to open door with Key. It would jam.
Location: Coober Pedy is a small mining town. Not much to do. It was only an overnight stay for us. Somewhere to sleep and shower. I would stay there again.
We stayed in an upstairs room. It was clean however, the room and bathroom needs updating. We were travelling to Adelaide, so it was satisfactory for an overnight stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by Nancy, Hotel Management
Hi Carol, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Will inform the maintenance to look at the rooms. Thanks for the positive comments. Happy travels. Best regards, Nancy Yuan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennant Creek

Nice stay

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Power was out for several hours due to storm, this was beyond their control. Hotel itself was really nice, friendly staff, felt vwry safe there. If it was a bit warmer I would have made use of the pool!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by Nalin Suwaris-FOM, Hotel Management
Dear Aaron, Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and i am looking forward to having you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, nearby attractions.

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Good stopping point between Aidlaide and Alice Springs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Nalin Suwaris-FOM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for choosing out hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bristol

Underground room experience

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: The underground room experience.
Cons: More coffee at breakfast- given that you could have unlimited juice don’t understand the coffee problem
This is our first time in an underground room which was quiet and cool... just a bit disconcerting when we woke and the bed was covered in dust ... but is a must. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel only disappointment was one cup of coffee with breakfast- but dinner was excellent. Will definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Nancy, Hotel Management
Hi Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Sorry for the disappointment at our Cafe and the dust on the bed. Will pass your feedback to the team and get them to look at this. Happy to read you slept well in the underground room and enjoyed the meals at our Umbertos restaurant. Looking forward to seeing you next time. Happy travels. Nancy Yuan
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Unique hotel underground room

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: It is unique
Cons: Nothing comes to mind. You have to accept it for what it is. A hotel in a remote part of Australia with a unique experience
Location: Plenty of opportunities to buy opal jewelly. There had been heavy rain which curtailed some of the places to see
Stayed 2 nights on a road trip. We chose an underground room for the experience. Found the dust falling from the ceiling a bit daunting but it was not dangerous or toxic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Nancy, Hotel Management
Hi Lyn, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Sorry to read the room wasn't up to standard.Will get our maintenance team to look at this. Safe travels. Nancy Yuan
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darwin

Comfortable hotel, lovely staff

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: The staff were very helpful and the rooms spacious. The carpark was safe.
Cons: Installing a lift to improve access to the restaurant. Better staff planning when functions are held.
Location: Unfortunately we were driving and on a short time frame so did not manage to see much more than the hotel
The hotel is quite charming, rooms are big and spacious. The dining room was very well done and the food was nice. The only slight disappointment was that there was a function happening at the same time and only 3 staff appeared to be on, so dinner was quite slow. The staff did their very best to avoid this but were worked off their feet.All of them were most pleasant and apologetic about the delays. The food was very nice and copious. Also the restaurant is upstairs and there were no lifts so would preclude people with less mobility from enjoying it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Nancy, Hotel Management
Hi Lea, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate it. Glad you enjoyed your stay and the meals at the restaurant. We do have a rear entrance guests can drive to, thus avoiding the stairs. Happy to read the staff were helpful, Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointment which was happened during your dinner time. Happy travels. Nancy Yuan
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SA

Needs an up grade

Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Wotif
Room wasn't that clean. Mould in bathroom. Rooms were quite aged, and expensive
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Terry, Hotel Management
Thank you David for your review. Our housekeepers do check on the daily basis of our rooms. Please accept my apologize. Also would like you to call us back at D.C 0886 725 688 to find out which room you stayed in. Hotel Manager, Terry Jones
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Coober's Best?

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Cons: Food
Disappointed this stay after 3 other enjoyable stopovers; Umberto's Restaurant seafood starters very ordinary, main an improvement. Staff from all around the world very friendly and helpful. Such excellent digs in the outback needs to capitalize on its assets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Matt, Hotel Management
Hi Anonymous, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent dining experience. Sorry to read the seafood starters were ordinary. Will discuss with the team to ensure meals are consistent in future. Happy to read staff were friendly and helpful. Happy travels!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Best hotel in town

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: The convenience. The facilities. The location.
Cons: The cafe needs a better choice of food, for breakfast and lunch.
Location: So central. Walking distance to most places.
I loved the location, great facilities, polite and friendly staff. Everything to make the stay enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Nancy, Hotel Management
Dear Barb, Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. We really appreciate your feedback, will pass your suggestion to our chef.Happy to read the staff are friendly and polite. Happy travels!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Terrigal NSW

Great Motel

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Wotif
Terrific location with a great restaurant. Staff were most helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Nalin Suwaris/ Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. Do checkout our Facebook and Twitter pages for promos that you might be interested in. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.