Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cockroaches, Mosquitoes and Noise

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Pros: The location. Free WiFi and Parking.
Cons: Cleanliness. Get rid of those cockroaches.
This was my second visit to the place and my first experience was pretty OK. This time, the room (number 20) and it's bathroom were full of cockroaches. The cockroaches were everywhere. I had to kill a few before I could get to the bed. Also, the noise from next door and outside was disturbing - this was because of the poor noise insulation. I was too tired to ask for another room and thought of talking to the reception in the morning. I had a headache while sleeping overnight and had to leave for Adelaide next morning. So thought of just mentioning it in the feedback here. This isn't bad for one night stay but don't forget to ask for another room if you find cockroaches in yours.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by Reception, Hotel Management
Hi, To my understanding we have not had an issue with roaches. I have full confidence that what you have experienced was not cockroaches but in fact crickets. We do take a lot of effort into our pest management, so we don’t ever hear about cockroaches in the motel rooms. This time of year with the slight bit of rain we do get out here does bring out the crickets and mosquitoes. So ensuring that your door or window isn’t opened for prolonged periods of time helps ensure that they don’t come into the room. And apologies for the noise complaint, we were unaware that that was an issue with that room and it will be looked into. Regards, Housekeeping management.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

eSound accommodation in Coober Pedy

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Good accomodation in this uniquely interesting place that looks like moonscape after some crazy digging!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by Dylan, Hotel Management
Hi Jack, Thank you for taking the time time to review our property. It is a unique landscape, we hope you had the chance to explore the town while you were here. Safe travels. Kind regards, Dylan Front Office Reception
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Great place will definitely stay again no problems
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Dylan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we are glad that your stay with us was a good one and look forward to when you visit us next time. Kind regards, Dylan Front Office Reception
5 out of 5
by Ray

Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017
Hi Ray, Thank you for taking the time to review our property with a positive review. We hope you enjoyed your time in Coober Pedy and hope to see you out this way again in the future. Kind regards, Dylan Front Office Reception
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Wotif
We stayed with the Motel twice once on the way up to Uluru and again on the way back. The first room was average, but clean and the bed reasonable comfortable, but on the way back the room we were offered was disgusting. the carpet stained and grotty and the basin in the bathroom was terrible. The basin was damaged and looked filthy. We asked to change and staff apologized and moved us to a different room much the same as the first room we had. On our initial stay we had a meal in the restaurant and the chicken was raw. the only reason we returned to the motel was because of the reception staff an dhow they dealt with the situation. We probably wouldn't choose to stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Good morning I'm so sorry to see that your experience with us was so poor. We've had to wait until the off-season was upon us before we could start our "Spring Cleans". This process involves a much more detailed clean than normal. While we do make every effort to ensure all rooms are at a high standard, there are the unfortunate instances (such as this one) where something like this is overlooked. I'm also very sorry for the quality of your meal and will pass this feedback onto our Head Chef. But I am extremely glad to see that my Reception Team were responsive to your requests. (I think I have a pretty good team). I'm disappointed that this experience has tarnished your impression of us enough to not want to stay here. I hope though you are able to consider us again for your next visit this way and hope you'll see some high improvements. Warm regards Ashley - Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
by angela

Too old for my taste.

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
Reception staff were nice. The room was worn and dirty, cockroach in bathroom. Sign in bathroom stated room serviced only every three days!! Had to ask for face cloths and empty trash each day. Dinner was good but hot menu breakfast was cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017
Hi angela While it's good to see that the reception staff were nice, it is disappointing to see you didn't have a good experience with other elements of your stay. The cockroach in the bathroom is embarrassing, especially as we do take pride in our cleaning. With regards to room service, I'd be interested to know how many days you were here for. We do service our rooms daily, so I don't know why you would've missed out. You've also mentioned that the room was too old for your taste. I'm curious to know what room you stayed in as we have had a lot of our rooms refurbished recently. Perhaps you were in an older one? Again, I'm sorry your experience wasn't more positive but I wish you a safe onward journey. Kind regards Ashley - Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Walking distance to a restaurant for all day dining. Simple structure and good cleanliness! Had a good stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Dylan, Hotel Management
Hi sarah Thank you for the review, I am glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one. We do enjoy being centrally located and within walking distance to most attractions. We have a bistro and lounge bar on site as well if you ever wish to take advantage of these facilities. Great food and a great atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you again if you travel through town again. Kind regards Dylan Front Office Reception
5 out of 5
by Jo

Economical

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
We were happy with the room, and it was very cost effective.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017
Hi Jo, Thank you for staying with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the quality of your room. I hope you had the opportunity to use our amenities such as our bistro and lounge bar while you were in town. We look forward to seeing you next time your travels bring you to Coober Pedy. Kind Regards, Dylan Front Office Reception
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Clean,convenient with all necessities at right pri

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Overall good position and terrific staff.A good place to stop for a night and recover.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Good afternoon Thank you for such a lovely review. And, we couldn't agree more: it is a perfect place to stop in Coober Pedy. Whether staying for one night, or for a few. It's a great location to take in what the region has to offer. I'm glad you had such a lovely stay. Kind regards Ashley - Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Poor customer service

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Service
Location: .
Arrived about 2.30pm and the lady at the counter was quite helpful however from then on customer service was non existent. Trying to get a drink at the hotel bar was near impossible - the only barman serving preferred to give all his attention to his smartphone. The next morning when I handed my room key back to reception all I got was a grunt from the man behind the counter. Won't be back to this one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Good morning Ian I'm really sorry to see that your experience with us was so poor, especially as Customer Service is something we pride ourselves on. Are you able to provide further information that I can use to investigate the issues above? (Even a booking number would be a huge help). But I do find it hard to believe that you only received a grunt from anyone here. There are only two males who work in the reception, me being one of them. I greet everyone with a "good morning" but I am somewhat soft-spoken, and the other male is quite smiley. As the Front Office Manager here, I expect that all guests receive exceptional service so I would be very disappointed to find that we weren't delivering on that. While I am a firm believer in "only getting one chance to make a (good) first impression" I hope you do find yourself this way again and allow us the opportunity to show you the service we pride ourselves on. Warm regards, Ashley - Front Office Manager