Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location. Downstairs bar is very cool but very noisey. Room was not clean. Balcony was very sticky from previous guests and there was broken glass. Found a champagne glass under one of the beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: The close proximity to the main area along the beach but far enough away from any traffic noise.
Cons: I couldn't complain about the room I was in. There was plenty of room for luggage and everyone complied with being considerate of each other.
Location: A stones throw over to the main beach and pleasant walk around the bluff. Surfing and swimming a very short walk.
Really couldn't find a more reasonable place to stay cost wise, very inexpensive (breakfast included).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent price and facilities for a single night

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: The views were fantastic and great location
from arrival time at reception to checkout experience was excellent friendly staff
5 out of 5
by Dawn

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic location & great views. It was great having the one bedroom unit as we had a separate lounge/kitchen area and a washing machine in the bathroom. The king size bed was very comfortable. The only down side was the lounge was not very comfy. We would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bne

Stunning view

Posted May 15, 2017 on Wotif
The view was stunning right on beach. Bed was so uncomfortable we woke up with sore backs. Other than that it was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Awesome Location

Posted May 10, 2017 on Wotif
We love it. Great atmosphere and location. Not suitable for grumpy people.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

View is all that's going for it

Posted May 4, 2017 on Wotif
Stayed on the top floor. View is literally the only thing going for this room. Bench in kitchen is totally wobbly!! Iron pours water out of it. Electrical hazard. Room wasn't clean. Pictures on line do not depict what you get. Staff couldn't have cared less about above problems when mentioned. The worst thing is the lift only goes to level 8, so u need to walk 2 flights of stairs. Not advertised. Not good for someone with very bad knees. Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 2, 2017 on Wotif
Fantastic views. A bit noisy but they provide earplugs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

last minute night's accommodation

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: could have 4 adults in the one appartment
Location: was surprise with it being a Friday night how many cafe and restaurants were closed or closing. Ended up at the George's Paragon which was fantastic.
on a return trip from central Queensland needed a night's accommodation for 4 adults. clean comfortable but a little noisy with backpackers coming in at all hours. As it was only an overnight stay didn't have much contact with the staff but what I did he was pleasant and courteous. no complaints
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach...that's about it

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Friendly staff and good view.
Cons: Everything else. Basically renovate the entire place top to bottom and don't cut corners.
I booked a room for myself and 3 other lads for 4 nights. We were on the top floor in the biggest room with 4 king singles. Good view, nice location and all that, but for $450 a night it was extortion. The floor tiles are heavily chipped, there is discoloration on walls and worst of all, the ceiling (which is just gyprock) leaked water and dripped onto the couches and television set. The Komune is in dire need of extensive maintenance. The staff were wonderful, however the remittance for having a ceiling that didn't work as a ceiling was $50. Yep. When the room was $450 a night. Go stay at the Calypso instead.