Ratings based on 579 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from port macquarie

Great hotel n location

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Staff friendly n helpful hotel close 2 everything clean quiet will stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi berni, Thank you for you review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to your return soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great apartment, let down by maintainence

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Lots to love with things to be annoyed about. Amazing position, very quiet and convenient.
Cons: This apartment needs a clean and repair if not a proper redecorate. Says its 4.5 stars and it is not but could be!
Location: Opposite the beach, next to a shopping centre, lots of eating places.
Wonderfully spacious apartment with marvelous view. Excellent security and front desk assistance. BUT the decor is dated, parts of the apartment were not clean at all and were also in disrepair ( eg holes in the shower bath floor!). In the off season I think one tiny soap, one dishwasher fill, no coffee plunger etc are small and unneccessary money savers for a five night stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Martha, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We agree there is a lot to love about our location and the facilities close by. Most of our apartments have been renovated, being individually owned they all reflect the owners taste.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I would love to say it sucks but it doesn't.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Great atmosphere
Cons: Little bit of maintenance on the equipment and maybe a few more blankets for the colder months. Little hard to find the lifts but once you are shown
Location: Lots to do, shopping, coffee shops, movie cinema in complex, ice creams best ever, swimming and beach, best restaurants and surf club with great meals
I loved every minute of being there. I loved the convenience of everything in and around the area. Everyone was extremely friendly Great view .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay at Ocean Plaza Resort, we are pleased you enjoyed your time and made good use of the many facilities that are a part of our building. We agree the location of Ocean Plaza Resort is special with so many options for restaurants, entertainment and shopping right in the building. We hope you return to Ocean Plaza Resort again soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast Qld

Excellent Hotel, close to all amenities.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Locality and cleanliness. And the spacious apartments we rented.
Location: Walks, beaches, shopping, dining. But not too much further afield, the Tweed River cruise was excellent. Crystal Castle was a lovely day our too.
Beautiful beach walks on our doorstep, excellent dining options close by, and whale watching from our balcony was wonderful. We were a group of 7 (older) ladies, who found the whole trip excellent, having the shops on our doorstep was also an added bonus. As was winning the pub quiz night in the hotel downstairs.....
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Tina, Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us, we are pleased you were happy with your apartment. Thank you for mentioning the facilities in the building and near by, how special is it to watch Whales from your balcony, some guests tell us they see whales while still in bed. Well done winning the Pub Quiz night, there is good entertainment most nights at The Cooly Hotel. We are looking forward to your return visit soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Great views from all aspects. We keep coming back year after year
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Brian, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at Ocean Plaza Resort. We are pleased we met your expectations and look forward to your visit next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Fantastic views in a quiet pleasant apartment

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Location, a good apartment.
Cons: Check out times could be later. 10am on a Sunday morning is a bit of a squeeze.
Location: Sunday markets and beach across the road. Shopping centre on lower floors. Did not have time to really enjoy the amenities (pool etc).
The kitchen was well equipped. The apartment was sufficiently furnished, pleasant and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Cate, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Ocean Plaza Resort, we are pleased the apartment was to your liking. We are sorry we were unable to accommodate your request for a late check out, we have very high occupancy rates so the cleaners need to get the apartments cleaned for new guests coming in. You will need to come back to enjoy our Pool and Spa. Stay longer next time :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney nsw

Lovely hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Proximity to everything
Ease of service from the booking, staff, arrival. Beautiful views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Vicki, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we are pleased we met your expectations and that you enjoyed making use of the vast array of facilities in and around our buildin
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melb, VIC

Comfortable,clean and close to. Each and shops

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Wotif
Accom had dated decor but cheaper price (compared to accom nearby) reflects this. Walking distance to heaps of restaurants, cafes and beach. The Strand Shopping Centre with Woollies can be accessed from level 1. Swimming pool heated and kids spent half the day there but a bit chilly for us parents. However, adjacent spa meant mum and Dad could supervise kids comfortably! Cool nights in July meant we asked for an extra blanket for each bed as split system aircon/heater only in living area. But asking for blankets was like pulling teeth. Staff very reluctant to hand them over although we could see they had plenty. However, staff were helpful in every other way including a very smooth late night check in on arrival. Lovely beach view from level 7 but our friends staying on level 4 didn't have much of a beach view at all. All up a great place to stay with primary aged kids, convenient to everything and we'd recommend to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Betsy, We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Ocean Plaza Resort. We are pleased you enjoyed the awesome views from every apartment and it pleasing to note we met your expectations and look forward to you returning to stay with us again in the future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything here. Didn't have to drive anywhere!

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Wotif
Great views, great size living area room 2 bedroom. Great location above shops very handy. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we are pleased we met your expectations and that you enjoyed using all the facilities we have so close to us here. We are looking forward to your return soon
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Fantastic views but the room was grubby

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: A good clean, new carpet and walls painted.
Location: The beach is across the road and the shopping centre underneath including the supermarket is fantastic.
The location is fantastic and the room quiet, however everything needs a good clean - walls, light switches, door handles, doors - all very grubby. The room desperately requires a paint and new carpet. Our main bedroom had not been vacuumed in some time by the look of it. The kitchen was updated and the bathrooms half updated. The furnishings were lovely. It's a shame the grubbiness, carpet and need for a paint let it down. There is no free wifi, the amenities (tennis courts, gym etc) look neglected.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Nicole, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We have passed your review on to the owner of the Apartment and he has asked for quoted for repainting. We have also employed a new cleaning supervisor and we are confident the standard of cleaning will improve. We have contractors working onsite right now installing Unlimited Free WiFi in all apartments. We are looking forward to your next visit and hope we can meet your expectations fully next time.