Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from puerto rico

Nice hotel copacabana

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Nice staff,good location,parking next to the hotel (important because there are not much parking in copacabana). 5 min walking distance from the subway
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by reservas, Hotel Management
The Copacabana Mar Hotel team thanks you and we look forward to your presence at another opportunity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

I have been returning to this hotel every year

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: from an agency
Cons: The elevators are very slow
Location: Close to the beach and a lot of excellent restaurants
Very safe an clean. The personnel is very friendly. Good breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by res, Hotel Management
The Copacabana Mar Hotel team thanks you and we look forward to your presence at another opportunity.
2 out of 5
by Eric

Good location, bad hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
The location of this hotel is good, close to the metro station and the beach. Unfortunately everything else was not very good. The wifi in this building is slow and unreliable. The worst part about our stay was how rude and poor the reception and housekeepers were. We once had a clogged toilette, and when we informed the reception they just hung up on us. It took multiple phone calls and two hours to get it fixed. There's also a receptionist named Ricardo with a very poor attitude. We told them repeatedly we have extended our stay with hotels.com but he kept calling us and uttering "you pay for extra night." When we told him repeatedly we already paid he got frustrated and asked us "what our problem was?"
3 out of 5
by Daniel

Review the conversation rate in credit card charge

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel room was not more than 3 stars. The service was good and attendants were frindly. However, we were overcharge in the exchange rate. Without asking me, they converted my payment from Real to dollars in Visa card, and they gave a rate of 3 to 1 instead of the market 3.16 to 1, so they overcharged me 32 dollars. I did not consent to charge in dollars, however, they gave a miniature receipt that states in small letters that I did.
5 out of 5
by Frances

convenient and friendly

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
pre-cruise stay allowed for exploring the city sites
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Review of hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Reception staff mostly very helpful
Cons: Improve the room, bedding, towels, furniture, internet and food in the restaurant
Location: Very interesting city, lots to do
The hotel room was not very good. Poor, almost felt like a worn mattress, poor very thin towels, no chest of drawers to put my clothes in, very poor internet in the bedroom which was not available for most of the stay and when it was, it kept dropping out. Our friends in the next room did not experience this problem with their internet. Poor choice of breakfast food and drink. Beautiful reception but it went downhill from there once we got into the lift.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

THREE DAYS IN RIO

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
Great customer service better than many 6 star hotels. Reception staff welcoming and friendly after a long flight from London. Good location close to beach and safe neighbourhood. Nice breakfast. I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

At the Coca...

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Good place to stay. Close to a metro station and Cococabana beach. The room was spacious and very comfortable and has fantastic views (ours faced the mountains). Breakfast has a good selection of fruit, cakes, etc. The only thing that wasn't working was the bidet in the bathroom.
3 out of 5
by Christella

Don't expect much....decent

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
The staff, especially Claudette, were very helpful. They did their best to help us and were very patient with us. The rooms are quite spartan, although clean. The elevators are old and slow. The breakfast is decent....stick to the continental items. Stay away from the bacon...its inedible. But the bathroom is not bad at all, especially with VERY strong water pressure in the shower.
3 out of 5
by Ms S J from London

Centrally located clean accommodation

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great time, staff on desk particularly Raffael and Carlos very very helpful but another man in a suit not very helpful at all in fact the opposite, good clean rooms, good breakfast, very good location just two minutes walk to beach and copacabana palace hotel would recommend, also to train station