Ratings based on 460 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Mark

OK Place on Copacabana Beach

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
This might be one of the lower end Copacabana hotels on the beach, so it is not at all ritzy if that is important for you. The upstairs hallways were in sorry shape. There appear to be two types of rooms: those with great views of the beach, and those with views of brick walls. We did not know this when making our reservation through Rocketmiles, and were given a small room with a view of bricks. Fortunately, the hotel was not full and we were able to get a room with a great view after paying a stiff upgrade. The room itself was in good condition. The breakfast buffet on top floor has great view but the buffet itself was very mediocre. Conclusion: an okay place if you want to stay on Copacabana beach and save money in comparison to higher end options.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

The only plus of the hotel is its beach location.

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Ebookers
Hotel is a bit decadent with its decor, furniture n all soft materials for bath n bed. There were bad designed installations: water flooded the bathroom every time one showered. Bed linen n towels of bad quality n a very simple breakfast. I could not receive WIFI in the bedroom. Staff could not speak sufficient English.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maputo, Mozambique

Good value hotel in a good location.

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: Location.
Location: Across the street from Copacabana, walking distance to Ipanema.
It was fine with ok breakfast. Good value for a hotel located on Avenida Atlantica.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No "Free Wi-Fi"

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
"Free Wi-Fi" is advertised by the hotel -- but our room on the 7th floor did not have functioning Wi-Fi at any time during our four day stay. At times there were one or two bars on the Windows icon, but not enough to sustain a connection. We stayed at the Debret several years ago, and had the same problem, so this is not new, and nothing has been done about it. Wi-Fi does work in the lobby.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

we are not going back

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
The smell in the neighborhood overall was awful, but they didn't do anything to keep the smell inside good at least. the stuff in the reception was very slowly and they are a little bit rude also. the good thing is that the hotel is very close to the beach, but they didn't offer any facilities as towels or chairs for the beach. and they didn't change the towels in the room.
2 out of 5
by Bernardino A from Miami Beach

Copacabana failure

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
Decayed hotel, well located but definitely overpriced! It needs serious upgrade... I can't believe a hotel on Avenida Atlantica in Copacabana most famous road is in such disarray! I won't be staying there again.
5 out of 5
by calvin from hollywood florida

great location

Posted Nov 28, 2015 on Hotels
friendly hotel, great location in copocabana beach, very good breakfast with a view of the beach. dont wear expensive jewllery as it could be ripped off you, especially necklaces
3 out of 5
by April

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Heidi from San Francisco

A reasonable place with a great location!

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
The room/hotel is an older hotel that could definitely use an upgrade. However, the location and the breakfast room (food and view) were fabulous! There are definitely fancier hotels in the neighborhood, but you're saving a lot of money at this one.