Ratings based on 390 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Elegant Copacabana hotel but rooms need refurbishing
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by marielamendoza, Hotel Management
Dear Roman, We appreciate the kind words. Your comments are going to be forwarded to the appropriate team. Best Regards, Mariela Mendoza Front office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LoNdon, UK

Not what you expect from a JW Mariott

Posted May 27, 2017
It's more like a Holiday Inn style. For sure not a 5 hotel and too expensive for what it is. I won't be staying there again. Stayed 1 night and checked to another which was great. I know that the standard of hotels in Brazil are not great but this one was not acceptable from checkin all the way to the room
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Tony Lteif, We know about the high expectations our guests has on the JW Marriott properties and we are very sorry we didn't reach yours. Please, accept our apologies. Hopefully, you can come back soon to enjoy the real JW Marriott Rio de Janeiro experience. Sincerely, Mariela Mendonza Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Valencia,CA

CANNOT BE TRUSTED

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: That famous does not equate to honest.
Cons: My stay at this hotel.
More than $1,500 was taken from my room by unknown individuals. This ruined a vacation that was six months in the planning. I stayed at the Marriott based on its stellar reputation. Do not be fooled like me. After I reported the theft, they were unable or did not want to give me a copy of the report. Then, they would NOT give me any statement verifying that a theft had been reported.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Leonardo, Hotel Management
Dear Robert, We have thoroughly investigated the matter, but our efforts have not uncovered any evidence indicating the cause of your loss. I realize that you are far more interested in a recovery than in an explanation or an apology, however please rest assured that our property and brand is thoroughly compromised in our guests safety at all times. We have enjoyed your patronage in the past, and we hope to serve you again in the future. Thank you again for bringing this matter to my attention, and if you have any questions with regard to the matter, please do not hesitate to contact me. Regards, Leonardo Porcello Front Office Supervisor
3 out of 5
by Jeffrey

You really need to verify before booking

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
We booed a junior suite but the service is definitely not a 5-star. Hotel's room arrangements are such that it would be extremely difficult if you want an ocean-view suite. The stay was a disappointment; staff did not show sincerity nor care.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017
Dear Jeffrey, We know about the high expectations our guests has on the JW Marriott properties and we are very sorry we didn't reach yours. As we are in the heart of the Copacabana Beach, our ocean views rooms are highly demanded, so we recommend to our guests to be sure to choose the ocean view during the booking, in order to guarantee this type of room. Hopefully, you can come back soon to enjoy the real JW Marriott Rio de Janeiro experience. Sincerely, Mariela Mendonza Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Excelente . Staff

Posted Mar 8, 2017
We have a very good time . I have and incomvenig . And I feel they take care me very well
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Mariela Mendoza, Front Office Manager., Hotel Management
We are very glad that you felt welcomed in our hotel. You can always count on us to deliver the service you deserve. Hope see you soon!
4 out of 5
by Melinda

Would Definitely Stay Again

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel! The staff was friendly and resourceful, and even though we didn't go with the beach view room we could still see it from the room. Only small complaint is the little amount of moisture in the room which caused the sheets to feel slightly damp. However, would definitely recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
by Matheus

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel, not really good price/value

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is really old and not in a proper conditions. The room had a window viewing the lobby so it was noisy. Wifi is not really efficient
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels