Ratings based on 304 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better Service @ Better Locations

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Booked the hotel and 6 hours later had to cancel due to an emergency at work and they wouldn't even take my call. Not worth booking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017
Thank you for choosing Pestana Rio Atlântica for your stay. Our Guests reviews are very important to us in order to guide our efforts. apologize in the name of all Staff if we did not transmit you the caring we have as standard when you tried to cancel your reservation. We verified and there was no problem on our telephones recently. We hope to welcome you again in a near future and give you a great experience! Kind Regards, Daniela Siqueira Rooms Manager
4 out of 5
by Roberto

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017
Ficamos muito agradecidos com seus carinhosos comentários. Trabalhamos sempre em busca de proporcionar a nossos Hóspedes momentos de relaxamento e descontração. Aguardamos uma nova visita. Atenciosamente, Daniela Siqueira Gerente de Hospedagem
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older and overpriced

Posted Mar 8, 2017 on Hotels
Room: Booked a Deluxe suite with partial sea view. A balcony was advertised. It did in fact have a balcony large enough for a few plants but not one large enough to stand on. Definitely consider that false advertising. The suite part of the room has two recessed lights and a lamp. Literally not enough light to read a book in. The finishings in room were 2-3 star quality. Furniture was old with cracked upholstery. 5 lightbulbs in the room not functioning. Two hangars in the closet. No robes. Literally threadbare towels, I could see through them. The room was a major disappointment. Breakfast: Adequate. This is a large hotel. The chef had one waffle maker and two pans for omelets. You stood in line for a waffle for literally 15-20 minutes. Food was basic and less than what I expected from a hotel claiming to be 5 star. Rooftop Bar/pool: This is the saving grace of the hotel. Nice pool, adequate space, great beachfront view and a full on Miami 'vibe'. If you like Miami and the culture that comes with it you will very much enjoy the rooftop. If you don't then you will definitely not enjoy it. Beach: Free umbrella's, chairs, and water on the beach in front of the hotel. Go early or the chairs are all taken but a good service overall. Staff: The front desk, kitchen and pool staff were always friendly, hlepful and nice. Maid service left a lot to be desired. OVERALL: Next time in Copacabana I will try a different hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017
Thank you for choosing Pestana Rio Atlântica for your stay. Our Guests reviews are very important to us in order to guide our efforts, for that we thank you for giving us such a detail evaluation of our services and structure. I apologize in the name of all Staff if we did not transmit you the caring we have as standard, even though regardless of our intention. Our balconys are all the same size described at the room facilities, only our Oceanic Suites have larger balconys with furniture. We will take actions on the points listed of maintenance and housekeeping for which I deeply apologize. We hope to welcome you again in a near future and give you a great experience! Kind Regards, Daniela Siqueira Rooms Manager
5 out of 5
by Catherine

would love to come back

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Had to wait for a chair and umbrella at the beach but the hotel representative was so responsive
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing experience

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
Air conditioning and elevators were not working properly. Swimming pool was dirty after weekend parties. Staff at the pool was impolite.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Not a 5 star hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Wotif
We thought this hotel is going to be a 5 star hotel as it was ADVERTISED but it looked more like a 3 star hotel, the staff didn't not know English at all except reception with a little bit of English ! The room we got was very dirty and the shower head had a very slow pressure you couldn't even wash your hair so called the guest service after 4 times of calling someone showed up nearly 1.5 hours later with no English ! The amenities provided in hotel were not even enough for 1 people when we payed for 3 people ! They didn't clean or change that ONE cup they put for THREE people ! The lightening in rooms is terrible so dark ! When you asked staff question they just look at you and laugh ! Zero costumer service !no coffee or tea amenties, I travelled half of the world this is the first hotel I saw that charge for teas ? Lol ? There was good staff as well the guy that provided chairs and umbrellas in beach area was so helpful and friendly and nice and keep asking and providing us with icy water ! And laundry service as well very fast and conviennt ! But will not stay at this hotel anymore untill they teach customer service to their staff ! so disappointed
5 out of 5
by Peter

Very good location

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay, central,reception very good offer of free chars on the beach went done 2 days limited do none Every thing else great just one quibble we went to the roof top terrace for drinks they are 3 times more expensive than the bars out side why !!! we would have gone up to the pool party fri/sat But not to be ripped of shame watch the taxi drivers outside reception quoted 20 real to sugar loaf mountain swindled 60 real charged organized my one after that
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey City, NJ

Loved Pestana Rio!!!

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: We got to our hotel earlier than the check-in time and the hotel staff was gracious enough to let us check in early. The room was fabulous and the rooftop bar/pool have the best views of Copa. Our wifi worked without a hitch. The continental breakfast had a great variety. The staff provided great hospitality! They surprised my boyfriend with cake and champagne for his birthday up to our room. The best part is that we never made them aware it was his birthday! They went out of their way to surprise and delight us. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying with Pestaña Hotels in the future!
Cons: Everything was fantastic. There's nothing I didn't like about Pestana!
Location: Awesome location. This hotel is beachfront and is very central to getting to Ipanema, the Fort, restaurants and shops!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location in Copacabana Beach

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
This is a great place to stay on Copacabana Beach. The concierge staff were excellent. Very good check in service. Only down side was the house keeping with variable towel and flannel supply. Also didn't have a plug for our sink. Otherwise it is good value for money and a great location. They also organised tours for our stay. Roof top bar has great views of Rio.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient local, reasonable choice

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
clean tidy inside, reasonably modern, but the common area is a bit tired