Ratings based on 737 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel nice staff close to beach

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Enjoy breakfast enjoy the beach, one of the best things is that the staff look after my rental car
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winnipeg

Great view, great service

Posted May 31, 2017
Lovely hotel with view of Copacabana. Helpful staff and great service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Weekend trip to beautiful Rio!

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Service, location and price
Cons: All great!
Location: Very well located in Copacabana and a short ride to Ipanema and Leblon. Great location to visit the city!
Arrived on Friday night for an extended trip with friends. Location is great to visit different sites in Rio. Copacabana is not as exciting as it used to be. However, the hotel is located very near Leblon and Ipanema, so there are plenty of options for dining, night life, and shopping. Breakfast was outstanding, as well as service. There is wonderful rooftop swimming pool with a beautiful view of the beach. Don't miss it with coffee or beer!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Gustavo Zanotta - Front Desk Supervisor, Hotel Management
Dear Roger, It was a pleasure to have you in Porto Bay Rio Internacional! Thank you for you feedback. We look forward to hearing from you in the near future. Kind Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location but hotel is looking a little old.

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Location and breakfast was nice. Views were great.
Cons: better furniture and beds. safer elevators
Location: beach, beach beach
Good location but older hotel and it is showing its age. Bed was not great and not much space for two people to put clothes. Elevators need to be updated. twice I got smacked by the door.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Gustavo Zanotta - Front Desk, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to express our gratitude for sending your comments. We read carefully all the issues you pointed out and we assure you that we will take the necessary corrections and improvements. Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel hope to host you again in a near future. Warm Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethesda, MD

Great Hotel and Location

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The location, rooms and the fact that it was reasonably priced. The breakfast was excellent and the dining room overlooked the sea.
Cons: The wifi in the business center was very slow. The gym was on the top floor with a great view, but could have better equipment.
Location: Location on the beach was unbeatable.
This is an old, established hotel, but has been nicely renovated. The rooms are very comfortable and the bathrooms are modern. The rooftop terrace offers amazing views of Copacabana beach. The rooftop pool is nice, but pretty small and shallow. It's mostly just for appearance. The staff are very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Gustavo Zanotta - Front Desk, Hotel Management
Dear Philip, Thank you for your helpful feedback. We really appreciate your constructive comments, because feedback such as yours truly enables us to reinforce the quality of our Standards. Thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional and we hope to host you again in the near future. Kind Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on Copacabana

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Wotif
Location: Great location
Great hotel on Copacabana we had a lovely balcony overlooking the beach. Breakfast was included and it had quite a selection
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Great hotel and location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
This is a really good hotel in a very good location access the road from Copacabana beach. The staff are absolutely helpful and speak good English. The hotel is good for what a four star hotel should be offering. Upgraded room was fantastic with a balcoany and sea view - highly recommend this. Great food places near the hotel at a reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Gustavo Zanotta - Front Desk, Hotel Management
Dear Kai, We would like to thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel as your accommodation in Rio. We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again very soon! Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from White Plains, MD

Great location, great hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything. And a great value for the money.
Cons: My only complaint would be with the staffing of the front desk. Very often, there was only one person on duty and this caused service delays.
Location: Loads of restaurants. Try Marius down the street...a bit pricy but a great experience. And Garota of Ipanema, sight of the penning of the famous song
Stayed here for six days over spring break 2017. Made our decision largely due to customer ratings, and the reviews were not wrong. Right across from Copacabana Beach, with stunning views from the rooftop pool/bar of the city, the location is ideal. The hotel is very well maintained and the staff is exemplary in courtesy and service. And English is widely spoken here. We did not eat much in the hotel, expect for some snacks at the bar and breakfast; the latter was a buffet and it was super. The rooms are equipped as one would expect of a first-rate hotel, even with flip flops for the beach. There is a small gym (again, great views), sauna, and spa (did not use). A nice touch was the beach service - a designated area for hotel guests with courtesy chairs and umbrellas. And the staff there will ply you with all the adult beverages you can handle (for a price, of course).
5 out of 5
by JEFFERY

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Kar H

Convenient,good location

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Balcony room booked but not given on first night. they said room we had was same cost as one with balcony which we found hard to believe. No tissues,make up mirror,sockets for 220 not in a good place, though in first room sockets were. From outside hotel is brown and ugly,the theme continues in corridors to rooms,better lighting might help. Staff lovely,breakfast great