Ratings based on 1,150 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Roderick

Our Rio Holiday

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
The Rio Otho Palace overall was very good and it complimented our time in Rio de Janeiro. The cost per night was less than half that of the Marriott Hotel and the amenities were equal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location with many amenities

Posted May 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Nice roof top pool and bar. Very relaxing lobby and lobby bar. Copacabana is beautiful location.
Cons: More English speaking help and/or signage.
Location: Fort Copacabana and the beach. Good restaurants. Need to be careful on the beach and walk - lots of people hawking things and not all on the up and u.
We travelled to Rio to attend my son's wedding and needed lodging. We had 10 people in our group. Others had booked their rooms either directly or through other web sites. We received a "business level" upgrade through Orbitz which included a room with a great view of the beach, limited laundry service (press a suit or shirt daily), and other perks. Like most of the people we encountered in Rio, very few speak English. The front desk people and the concierge did well but most of the other staff did not always understand our requests. The room was spacious and comfortable. The location was near many decent restaurants. The hotel was good at arranging transportation for a few of the excursions we took.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MKE, WI

Great Location, Fine stay!

Posted May 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Views and it's location
Cons: Elevators seem to have a few gremlins. Not always, but sometimes. The in hotel ATM always seemed to be out of funds, but the hotel is close to Banks.
Location: The location is directly across from Copacabana beach so that's the first thing.
The hotel itself is located perfectly! Easy walk to many locations, helpful staff for questions on where things are or getting a car service. Beautiful view from rooftop pool/bar! Would recommend this place to anyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OTTAWA, CANADA

Amazing location!

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Location, room comfort and size, room service.
Cons: We booked and confirmed a 4am wake up call and 4.30am taxi. No wake up call and no taxi...huge panic to get to the airport for a early morning flight.
Location: Good restaurants, beach, many organized tours.
Right on the center of Copacaba beach. Very comfortable large room, updated bathroom. A bit pricey but we had a ocean view room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel and centrally located

Posted May 13, 2017
Very nice and clean hotel. Across the street from the beach at Post 5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santiago, Chile

Grat location, friendly staff

Posted May 4, 2017 on Orbitz
We had a great time at Rio Othon Palace. The hotel has a great location right across the beach of Copacabana. Staff very friendly and courteous. We were surprised to receive a birthday cake for my wife at our room on her birthday, specially since we made no comments about it. Only problem was breakfast too crowded during the weekend and holiday, on weekdays it was ok. Rooms are well accommodated and with nice view, specially in top floors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel and very convenient to the beach.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Simply, convenience to the beach and great local restaurants.
Cons: The pool needs better maintenance...
Location: We used Uber to get around to Christ the Redeemer, Sugar Loaf, Botanical Gardens and to restaurants on iPanema beach area.
Excellent views of the beach from the hotel room we stayed in, and the dining room on the 3rd floor had excellent views too. The pool on the roof was nice to but it could be a bit cleaner... The restaurant on the 30th floor was excellent, we had the rack of lamb - it was outstanding! Overall, great experience, kid friendly - I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 8, 2017
It's an upper class hotel with excellent location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and value for your money!

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Orbitz
The hotel is an awesome location and has all of the amenities you'd likely want. Things like 2 restaurants, an amazing view, a poolside bar, beach service, among other items, are absolutely amazing and create a great experience overall. But let's call it like it is. The rooms are dated, tired, and our bathroom smelled mildewey, moldy or something. And the pool needs a facelift and better cleaning. However, if the rooms were remodeled and everything was perfect, would the hotel price remain as reasonable and affordable as it is? The answer is a resounding NO! So take the good with the bad and appreciate that you had an experience that typically only people with a lot of disposable income can have : )
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

Great hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Very nice stay. Everything was excellent. Rooftop makes the best view of the Copacabana beach. Staff very friendly and helpful