Ratings based on 504 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great location along Copacabana Beach

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Plumbing.
Location: Tulip Inn is just across the beach, 2 blocks away from a shopping area, and accessible to all kind of restaurants.
Staff is very helpful. Offered to help with our luggage without us asking.
5 out of 5
by Choong Seng

Nice beach hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
Good location in the middle of Copacobana Beach. Nice restaurants nearby. Helpful staff. Rooms a bit small but then you don't go to Copacobana to stay in the room
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017
Dear Choong, Thanks a lot for staying with us! We are so happy you had a nice experience. Seee you next time. Leandro Seabra Chefe de Recepção
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Close to beach. Great breakfast. helpful staff
Location: Market close transportation at front of hotel playground near close to shopping
Staff was helpful answering questions. Use of computers was helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by Fabiano Dutra, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Fabiano Dutra.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Condition not so good

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is old, almost everything old
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017
Dear Guest, Thanks for you feedback! We are working to improve our servisse everyday. See you
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Needs improvement!

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Staff extremely friendly, perfect location, and breakfast.
Cons: Bathrooms and rooms need to be renovated, they looked rundown / tired.
6 years ago I stayed in this hotel for the first time. I think they had just renovated the hotel, and it looked amazing. So when I had the opportunity to go back to Rio de Janeiro, this hotel was my first option. The overall experience was what I expected, the hotel is in front of Copacabana, it's clean, it offers umbrellas and towels to take to the beach, great breakfast, it has a bar and restaurant (lunch and dinner), staff extremely friendly, but the hotel is looking a little tired. The bathrooms need to be renovated: it looks old and somewhat dirty, and the rooms need to be painted: it looks rundown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
A bit outdated, excellent staff made up for it. Some of. The rooms were fine, the first one I stayed in the A/C didn't work. It's a bit loud due to all the stuff going on in its surroundings
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Leandro, Hotel Management
Thanks a lot for you feedback! We are working to improve our services. Sorry for the AC that now is fine. See you next time.
5 out of 5
by Lynda

Great location, friendly and helpful staff!

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
We loved this place. Food was great and reasonable, staff was incredibly helpful and welcoming. Location is great! I would always stay here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017
Thanks a lot for you feedback! We are so happy you like our service and will come back. See you next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Super small elevator

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: on the beach. That was the good part. There are better hotels for the money.
Cons: Fix the broken window in the bathroom of room 712. It was super stupid designing a hotel with such tiny elevators.
Location: It's on Copacabana Beach. Walk down to the Copacabana Palace Hotel for a cocktail in a really nice, elegant hotel.
It was OK at best. Nice breakfast layout, tiny bathroom, really tiny elevator (so small 4 normal sized adults could barely fit into it and luggage had to be brought up separately) I would not pick this hotel again or recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Henderson NV

Excellent hotel for foreign tourists

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: We particularly liked the restaurant staff, who worked with us through language issues. Mariana, Carlos, and Flavio were particularly helpful.
Location: The hotel is across the street from Copacabana Beach. The hotel provides guests with towels and umbrellas. There are also bicycles for rent.
We stayed at this hotel a week before the 2016 Olympics. This was an excellent hotel for the money. It's located across the street from Copacabana Beach, and there are a number of services and businesses within easy walking distance. The room was a little small, but well laid out and serviceable. Hotel staff were helpful to us even though we only spoke the most rudimentary Portuguese. The hotel restaurant served a great breakfast buffet with a variety of foods, including traditional Brazilian fare and foods more familiar to Americans. The hotel and room were clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels