Ratings based on 1,931 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northampton uk

I would book somewhere else!

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: nothing really the whole visit was a disappointment
Cons: everything
Location: The location allows quick access to Nyhavn which is a really nice place to visit, and within walking distance of Tivoli and other areas of interest.
We requested a room with a bath for a specific reason. We telephoned and emailed and when we arrived they said the rooms with baths had already been allocated (not occupied as we were early). The Superior room we were given was on the front where the hotel was being repainted and therefore we would be disturbed in the morning. The 'shower room' was so small you could site on the loo, wash your hands and shower at the same time! We went back to reception and reluctantly they said we could have a standard room with a bath but that we would not be entitled to the difference between the 2 rooms. We were promised that the manager would call when he was free and we received no call. The entrance to the bathroom we eventually had was a death trap with a step up and down into the room. They just do not care about their guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Claus Hegelund Bruun, Hotel Management
Dear Sue, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we will use your feedback to improve in order to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future We can never guarantee a room with a bathtub, however I am pleased to hear that the reception offered you a Standard room with a bathtub as a way of trying to accommodate your requests. Obviously we did this as an extra service and could not offer a discount as we would be forced to move rooms around and end up giving another room a free upgrade to the superior room. While we would have loved to talk to you in order to clarify this, the staff here were under the impression that you would contact us if you wanted a more thorough explanation. For our part in this miscommunication, I apologize. Besides this, I hope that you got to enjoy Copenhagen and everything the city has to offer and that the bathtub you ended up getting was as you expected. Again, thank you for telling us about your experience, hopefully this will lead to less similar ones in the future. Best Regards, Claus Hegelund Bruun General Manager Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster

Nice hotel close to the sights

Posted Nov 21, 2017
My stay here was comfortable and convenient. The hotel is located close to two places, Nyhavn, and the department store, Magasin. There are also canal boat tours departing nearby. The bus stop is around 300 feet away as well. So, if you're looking to explore the sights of Copenhagen, this is good choice. My room was comfortable and quite decently sized considering the general standards of Copenhagen. The shower area is small and might be an issue if you're tall, which wasn't the case for me. The complimentary breakfast had everything you need to start the day (eggs, salami, cereal, croissants, tea, coffee, etc). The staff was friendly and helpful. This is a good option to consider if you're a solo traveller and worried about safety. It's away from the other hotels located behind the train station in the red light district. So, I felt very safe even when returning late at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2017
The hotel was great - clean and comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful! It was a little loud due to exterior construction but it was only during working hours. The construction noise didn’t disturb my sleep or comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Close to Nyhavn

Posted Nov 5, 2017
We enjoyed our stay here. The Hotel is located close to Nyhavn and off on one of the quieter streets nearby. Location was good because we walked everywhere. Modernized and updated inside but with the simple European charm outside. Our room was on the top floor facing the street but also had a nice view of the waterfront off to the side.The room was small and compact but that was ok because we were out and about most of the day. Despite rooms appearing to be compact and close together, it was nice and quiet when we were there - did not really hear other guests. Breakfast is included which is a great start for the day. Common areas on the main floor is also nicely updated. Only real issue is that there are a few stairs to climb to get up to the main level. Not sure if there was other options as it wasn't never offered to us but it could be a bit of challenge if you have heavy luggage to carry up. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Western Australia

Nice Hotel close to Nyhavn

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Access to the hotel is limited if using public transport and you have large suit cases
Cons: breakfast
Location: see above
The hotel staff were pleasant. The food for breakfast was average. The room was good. The location is great, restaurants in walking distance, plus Nyhavn is 1 o minute walk, and the hop on hop off bus is also within 10 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ipswich, GB

Good hotel in great location

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Helpful staff. Good breakfast buffet. Bike hire at the hotel.
Just a few minutes walk to Nyhavn and also the pedestrian and cycle bridge to Christianshavn as well as many tourist locations such as Christiansborg and only 3-4 minutes walk to one of the hop on/off bus tours.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Claus Hegelund Bruun, Hotel Management
Dear IpsRich, Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the staff, breakfast, location and bike hire helped you to have a memorable stay in Copenhagen. If you ever come back, we hope to see you again. Best regards, Claus Hegelund Bruun General Manager Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: The breakfast, it is close to the bus and the staff were very good
Cons: Get real mattresses
The bed was not comfortable and the room was on the street side which was very noisy. A foam pad is not a mattress
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Claus, Hotel Management
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. It is very individual how soft or hard, a bed should be. We are also getting much positive feedback on our beds. If you are visiting our hotel again, please request a room to the back yard. You might find it more quite. Claus Hegelund Bruun General Manager Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Willing to end booking as quickly as possible.
Cons: Food, internet, cost.
Location: Other better hotels nearby.
No restaurant. No room service. Poor breakfast. Poor internet reception. Outrageously expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Claus Hegelund , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time leaving a reply and feedback. It is much appreciated. We are sad to hear you had such a bad experience here in the hotel. We usually receive many positive feedback from both our breakfast and our hotel in general. Let us know if you are visiting Copenhagen again. We will like to give you and upgraded to make your stay even better. Yours sincerely, Claus Hegelund Bruun General Manager Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen