Ratings based on 2,841 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Next to metro/train station in city center

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Always, lots of coffee, a newspaper, an buffet for breakfast is a pleasant vacation.
Cons: Desk staff had no interest in maintenance--the condition of my shower was awful; the donstairs ladies room at non-guests use was filthy (unflushed toi
Location: Across from Tivoli, short walking distance from museums and shopping, across the street from the main bus terminal, trains to everywhere.
Have stayed here for 5 years, 10-12 nights each time, visiting nearby family. Every year they have no record that I am a return guest. Rooms include nice buffet breakfast in an elegant dining room, rooms are expensive: On Oct. 26, 2016 for 11 nights I had a large room with double bed that had two chairs, a desk covered with items they wanted to sell--wine, peanuts-- and no other furniture in which to store clothing; small closet with 7 hangers and one small shelf. There was no dresser. Had to live out of my suitcase, which I balanced on the wide window sill. The large bathroom had just one shelf above the toilet; the shower door seal was peeling off at the bottom. Every time I showered water ran all over the bathroom floor. After the first time this flood occurred, I asked that the door be repaired, telling the manager if it was my house, I would be able to get a handyman to do the job the next day. He replied the hotel would be under new management the next year and much maintenance would be done at that time. I used bath towels to mop up the bathroom floor-for my own safety--for 11 days. The main floor ladies room was dirty, peeling with wallpaper on the one day I used it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

A nice hotel with great location

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Knowledgeable, caring staff, very tasty breakfast. On the other hand, the smell in the restroom and the shower was very unpleasant. On the whole, moderate pricing, great location and pleasant staff will, probably, make us stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Really bad hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2017
The Plaza Copenhagen is falling apart, literarly! I arrived to the room, opened the curtains and one of the metal side holders fell on me. The bathroom is in a horrible state, disgusting mould everywhere in the shower, the window, the floor, etc. The towels are very rough. The worst of all was how COLD it was, the heating is like from the 70s and not only makes a lot of noise but doesn’t heat the room. We tried to find blankets but there was none in the room so had to go to reception and they gave us two more duvets. I booked a room with Tivoli views but all you can see is the tip end of a couple of rides, the view is obstructed by a new building that is being built. The work noise woke us up everyday from 6.30 in the morning including on Sunday! It was very expensive for such a bad experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Can’t beat the location

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Just returned from 4 nights at the hotel. I had previously spent 6 at another hotel in Copenhagen and let me tell you .. this hotel was a nice change. You can not get any closer to the Central Train Station. Excellent for hopping on board to go to the airport, Sweden, or anywhere. I wanted an older, quaint hotel and I got that with this hotel. Room was large by Europeon standards. Wifi was excellent. Breakfast buffet was well stocked ( although it would be nice if it was open past 10on weekdays). We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant 1 night and I wouldn’t recommend that. Very limited menu, they don’t do ‘tap water’ so if you want water it has to be by the bottle. It was extremely expensive. Hotel is also steps from the Hop on Hop off bus, a Carlsberg Brewery shuttle and walking distance to the Pedestrian stroll and Nyavn. The bathrooms could use a little refresh, but they had heated floors, lots of big towels (and face clothes), I would absolutely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico

Close to Central Station

Posted Oct 28, 2017
It was good , the only thing is that we got stocked in the elevator a few times . The ubication is really good nice places to go and eat. The personnel was nice and helpful . There is a bar with jazz music I surely recommend it for a drink .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

Convenient

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Very close to everything! If u want to stroll srojnd the city u can jst walk around or the transportation is nst infront of the hotel, from train station to buses just arpjnd the corner! The staff are great very nice and helpful, Ill use this hotel again when i go back to Copenhagen!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Paul, MN

Nice for an old hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Loved that this hotel was right next to central station, could get anywhere in he city very quickly. Great old hotel feel, but the room was a bit dated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from North Carolina USA

Easy to catch the train

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Close proximity to rail and bus lines. Catch the train to Norreport and switch to the Metro to go to the airport or really anywhere in CPH.
Cons: Rooms are slightly smaller than American rooms.
Location: Tivoli is across the street. Nytov with great shopping is a block away. Close to museums but can catch a quick bus if you'd prefer to walk
Very classic, old-world style hotel. Very warm and helpful staff. Beautiful old staircase with an glass elevator. Short walk to the train station next door and the bus station next door. Lots to do with just 1 or 2 blocks away from museums, shops, restaurants, etc but wasn't noisy at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Junior Suite was very nice

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: View from the balcony
Cons: Shower had difficulty with hot and cold water - but there was a shower in the bathtub as well, which i used after day 1
Location: Very close to a nice amusement park (Tivoli) perfectly located with easy access to all of the things you can do in Copenhagen (e.g. Nyhavn, mermaid)
Had a junior suite that overlooked a perfect view of the fireworks display from the amusement park across the street. Was really nice to be able to sit in the bed, balcony doors open, and watch the fireworks. The rooms are quant but very nice comparable to other hotels available. The elevator was very old but was so cool the way it worked with a glass door and you could see the entire workings of the elevator through the glass. Very historic and nostalgic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South West England

Great central location...but lacking room quality

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Location brilliant - right by train station and Tivoli, on Stroget in 2 minutes. Service from Reception team was brilliant - quick and efficient, polite and personable, offered great tips for visit. Room quality could be better, especially with regards the bathroom.