Ratings based on 2,697 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect base for exploring the city

Posted Jul 18, 2017
I stayed here last year and enjoyed my stay then but they've redecorated and spruced it up since then and it now feels fresh and light. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the room was comfortable - I even had a little balcony looking out over the rooftops. Location is perfect for restaurants, sights and the Street Food market.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2017
the location was perfect. We enjoyed walking to the various attractions nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Marianne Steiner Petersen, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive feed. We appreciate it! We hope to have the pleasure to welcome your back again at Coenhagen Strand in the nearest future. Have a great summer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Perfect location

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Location and newly renovated hotel
Cons: Include breakfast in roomrate
Location: So much to do do with outside dining, restuarants and shopping.
I gave all excellent because although we walked into a constuction zone in the lobby, this hotel will be beauiful when completed. We were not informed that the hotel was under a renovation when booked by Expedia, so at 8:00am the contruction noise could be heard. I believe it should be completed by mid July 2017. Dispite construction, our room although small (European standard) was recently renovated and was beautifully designed with hardwood floors and a pleasing color palate. The Strand Copenhagen was a short walking distance to the main canal with shopping and restaurants. We felt safe and comfortable walking the area. Breakfast was not included in our room rate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Marianne Steiner Petersen, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Terri, Thank you very much for staying at Copenhagen Strand and for your review here at Expedia.com. We can only apologize for not having informed you about the refurbishment during your stay. Thank you so much for highlighting our new rooms. We appreciate your kind feedback even though your stay was affected by the construction work. Our refurbishment were completed mid July 2017 - So we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the nearest future to show you our new and improved hotel! Have a great summer, Yours sincerely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Close to Nyhavn

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness and comfort.
Cons: Refurbishment is nearly complete.
Location: Nyhavn is just around the corner and the extensive mall/tourist area is not far away. There is a metro station a couple of blocks away.
We had a one-night stay before joining a cruise. The hotel was very pleasant and comfortable in spite of being in the latter stages of a refurbishment. The room was very comfortable, although typically small as we have found previously in Scandinavia. It is very close to the main restaurant/tourist strip of Nyhavn, where we had an excellent meal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: Historic building in a great location. Staff members were friendly and helpful.
Location: Near the harbor and easy walk to many other Copenhagen landmarks.
Excellent location with clean rooms and extra comfy bed! Bar downstairs for drinks. Breakfast available as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Horsham, Sussex, UK

Great location next to the river

Posted Jun 11, 2017
There are quite a few 'cons' for this hotel but somehow they don't seem to matter at all. We chose a room overlooking the sea/river and the view was terrific. Fittings and furnishings are top quality and stylish, but a wardrobe and/or drawers would have been useful. There was a mobile hanging rail and wide windowsills but no particular place for non-hanging clothes. The bathroom was stylish with two washbasins, plenty of toiletries, a great 'over the bath' shower and underfloor heating. Towels were good and changed every day, but somewhere to hang them when taken down from the rack would be useful as would hooks on the door to hang clothes/bathrobe. There is some construction work going on enlarging the dining room and also some scaffolding by the entrance, and while the corridor to our room was carpeted and clean the few steps going up to our room had a threadbare and worn carpet. To be fair the hotel is going through a 'work in progress' stage, but this didn't affect our stay at all. Location is great - right by the water and a very short walk to Nyhaven where we ate every evening and also where we could pick up the Hop on Hop off buses. I loved this hotel for location, friendliness and comfort and it was well worth the extra for the view. I would certainly recomend it in spite of the few small problems mentioned.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place for a traveler on a budget.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Staff was efficient and easy to work with. Location was surprising in close proximity to great places, but still off the beaten path of the main strip
Cons: WIFI needs a lot of work. Signal was never full strength and often dropped off.
Overall a good hotel to stay at for a couple nights, especially if you are on a budget.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: The location was great.
Location: It wasn't on top of everything we wanted to see but close enough to walk and the main thing it was quiet.
We were disappointed with the room. It was classified as a double but one side of the bed was against a wall. A less mobile guest would have struggled to get in and out of bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great boutique hotel with excellent location

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Intimate, good staff, great location
Location: walk or bike everywhere, cross the river and see the other side
The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast was generous. Unfortunately during my stay they were conducting renovations in the restaurant area, but that did not affect the enjoyment of my stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice Convenient Location on Water

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Location. Near the harbor and downtown tourist attractions.
Cons: Reasonable buffet breakfast price.
Location: We just got into a taxi and headed for the nearby cruise ship berth. Selected this hotel nearer that terminal than many Copenhagen hotels.
Stayed one night before embarking on a Baltic Sea cruise. Staff was nice and friendly. Room was fine. Had a computer in lobby connected to Internet we appreciated. Very typical one night stay in a European hotel. Would have been nice if a reasonable breakfast option was included with the room rate list. Paying the equivalent of about $20 per person for a nice but cold breakfast seemed a bit much. Skipped breakfast enjoying a nice lunch after embarking.