Ratings based on 2,730 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KY

Great Hotel in Heart of Copenhagen

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Strand is a very clean, well maintained hotel quite close to the historic district. Just a few minutes walk away. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel breakfast is fantastic--something you won't want to miss! Nice beers and coffees available at the front desk. Quite an enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

100%

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: See above...
Location: Central Copenhagen on the Strand. Most important travel needs, food, shopping, transportation within a ten minute walk.
We stayed for two nights on the backside of a Baltic cruise. Great central location but not immediate to the metro. Taxi worked best for getting from the port and also to the airport. Hotel is modern, clean and shiny. Staff were quick, friendly, perfectly helpful in every case. I usually shun hotel breakfasts but took a chance and Wow! A great variety and quality. Croissants were to die for, porridge (oats) were a wonderful mix including fruit, and other tasty morsels. And the manager of the breakfast was smart, happy and delightful. So wish every hotel breakfast was like this one.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Poor quality and comfort

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: room stocked correctly, no promise for taxi call if not going to do it for their customers
Location: Nyhaven among all close by attreactions
Room ready past check in time, no toiletries in room, tissue not stocked, taxi reserved for pick up to airport not reserved, extremely loud room making it difficult to sleep, front desk staff unfriendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from suffolk, uk

Overpriced!

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Good position for walking the city.
Cons: I would expect the bed to be made up ready. In that particular room, I would suggest that the unused holes in the walls are filled and repainted.
Location: Good location. Fronts river. Easy walking distance to boat trips and city bus tours and to a variety of tourist spots. Good range of restaurants.
I am not sure whether hotels think that they can finally off their worst rooms to single women travellers. To start on a positive, it was in a good position for walking and exploring the city. However, on booking I had booked for breakfast and had made a point on my booking that I have a wheat allergy, but this was not forwarded to the hotel, so As I was unable to prove that I had booked bed and breakfast I only had the room, which when I walked in felt like a cell. It was just large enough for the bed, which just had the bedding piled up on it. There were holes in the walls, which looked very tatty and then Iee from my window was of a car park and rubbish bins, with people walking by and able to look in. I barely slept for the three nights as my room seemed to be at the hub of the plumbing system and every time someone flushed a toilet I had the whoosh of water going down the pipe somewhere close to my head. Along with water noise, I assume when people turned on taps. I also felt that vacuuming the hallway just after 8 on a Sunday morning was a little much. To top it all, it was suggested that I should be paying for chocolate bars for the mini bar that I had not had, although the receptionist did not argue when I said I hadn't had anything from the bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Choice

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Very nice hotel. Rooms are on the small side for American travelers. Morning breakfast was very good. Wonderful service at the front desk. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Taste of Copenhagen

Posted Aug 25, 2017
In a great location, close to shopping, touring and dining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Great location close to Nyhavn & Paper Island.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Hotel close to Nyhavn & Paper Island so great for restaurants, cafes etc & watching the boats on the canals. Hire bikes from hotel or use docking station of electric bikes from across the road from hotel. Rooms very comfortable & has heated bathroom flooring.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: No fuss simple and quiet accommodation. Good breakfast. Welcoming staff.
Location: Close to Nyhaven, theatre and arts centre. Lots of smaller cafes and bars nearby.
Hotel was quiet and comfortable. The staff were friendly and attentive. A good basic base for a break. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel within easy walking distance of sights

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: It was very good and value for money. I would stay there again.
Location: Great location within easy walking distance of most of the sights and central Copenhagen.
Very enjoyable. Staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast good. Great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Marianne Steiner Petersen, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Helga Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us through Expedia. I really appreciate you for mentioning the staff and to read you would like to visit us again. We are looking forward welcoming you back at Copenhagen Strand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, UK

Nice hotel which is not far from anything!

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Were given the option of an upgrade even before we had seen the room. Very friendly staff.
Cons: Free breakfast with all rooms regardless of how they are booked.
Location: Very close to the Nyhavn, Little Mermaid, Round Tower, National Museum, City Hall, House of Amber Museum and the longest shopping street in Europe
Great short City break, hotel is near enough everything in Copenhagen but far enough away from the sights to be quiet in the evenings. Would recommend to everybody! We visited all we wanted to see on foot even though the Metro is close by, we enjoyed the exercise.