Ratings based on 4,781 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Cons: knowledge of dietary needs
An enjoyable stay although the rooms were small and single beds were very narrow. Our main complaint covers not just this hotel but Copenhagen as a whole - if you are a vegetarian and / or coeliac and therefore have special dietary needs, Denmark is not the place for you. We asked the restaurant if they could prepare an omlette. They said no but offered to prepare a gf hot meal which turned out to be a very small and expensive warm salad costing significantly more than other salads. To the Danes, gluten free means bread only and not the rest of the meal. They have some way to go to catch up with many other places in Europe regarding dietary requirements.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Watch out for deposit!

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Expedia and the hotel did not properly explain that we would not only be paying the full cost upfront, but would also have to fork out a deposit of 500 dkk per night before we could get our room. Everything at the hotel (restaurants etc) requires you to charge it to the room or pay by credit card. No good if you don't have one or don't want to be charged using abroad. They don't except debit cards. We only had cash and had to pay almost a third of all the money we brought as the deposit and pay "exact amounts" for food at the restaurants which meant we actually had to overpay. The hotel does not provide shower gel so make sure you bring your own or it will be a bit difficult to get as not all shops sell it. Also, we were given a double room even though we booked a twin and we had to go back and sort it after all the deposit issues. The hotel is a good 15 mins walk (for able people) to the nearest attractions / shops/ train station and there are many other hotels closer to tivoli Gardens. Staff however were friendly and generally very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2017
A great, centrally located hotel. Couldn’t fault the staff or facilities, and plenty of child-friendly areas for families. The rooms are very small but otherwise I would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Camberley, UK

A huge hotel near Copenhagen centre.

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: My room was just right and close to restaurants and pool. The Concierge team were very helpful for any questions.
Cons: There was always a queue for the reception. Can anything be done? I had to use Express Checkout which was fine but I had a few questions to ask.
Location: The famous Tivoli Gardens are an absolute must - don't go at the weekends though. The Hop on Hop off bus is a good way to see Copenhagen effortlessly
The hotel is enormous as it has an adjoining conference centre. The manager told us that there was accommodation for 5,000 people. There are three restaurants, one on the 12th floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kendal, UK

Xmas Market Break

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Management views on customer service.
Location: See main text.
Check-In was terrible. The system was down so they said we would have to sit in the lounge until it was fixed. This went on for over 2 hours. Eventually I asked what would happen if it wasn't fixed, and they said they would have to book us in manually.......really! Why not do that in the first place!! When I asked to be booked in manually, I was told it could be done yet. I asked to be transferred to another hotel...........and all of a sudden I can be booked in manually!!! Customer service at its worst. I don't blame the reception staff, they were great. I blame the management for instructing this process. Apart from the check-in process the hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food, but we did feel it was a little expensive. 375DK for brunch but we walked into town and had a great meal for 129DK. The hotel was in a great position for us. A 10 min walk to Tivoli Gardens, restaurants, the station. 15-20 min walk to the main shopping area. 40 min walk to Carlsberg Visiters Centre, although there is a free shuttle from the station. We walk in, staopping at the Fish Market shopping centre for breakfast then caught the shuttle back. Take the free walking tour, it's a great way to see the city and learn a little culture/history I the process.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas

family hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: clean room nice bed good shower
Location: nothing was really close that interested me
I made a mistake booking this hotel , it seems it was intended for children and parents , lots of children. The hotel was fine the room was nice but i tried to get out as soon as possible
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from copenhagen

Good hotel, on bus route, easy access

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Lovely staff, couldn’t do enough. Little bit snooty in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Great location

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Great and helpful staff .Excellent facilities like the pool and sauna.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a fan, at all

Posted Nov 11, 2017
I really did not enjoy my stay at the Tivoli. I was there for a week for a conference. First of all, check in was a nightmare. The line was backed up to the entrance of the hotel, just what you want to see after a 18 hour trip. Then, the room smelled of smoke. It’s supposed to be a non smoking hotel but it smelled awful. The walls were paper thin and I could hear everything my neighbors did. Lastly, it would be great if they had a 24 hour gym. I’ve never been to an international hotel that did not have this. I also found the staff to be rude. Example, no disturb sign on my door, but someone barges in anyway asking about the minibar. It was a mess.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2017
A lovely hotel close to the centre of beautiful Copenhagen.