Ratings based on 4,846 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Nice hotel close to central train station

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Situated in a relatively quiet side street to a bigger boulevard. Plenty of places to eat nearby, grocery store two blocks away.
Location: City Hall, Tivoli.
Took the train from airport to central station (much less expensive than taxi) then walked about 4 city blocks to the Ascot. Reasonable walking distance to most attractions, close to City Hall and Tivoli. Room is not new, but comfortable. Did not have any issues with hallway noise or other nuisances. Front desk staff was courteous, provided useful tips and indications. The only glitch we had was a slight sewer smell, but after the first night I figured out that it was coming from the drain on the floor under the bathroom sink. Probably there hadn't been any water spill in the bathroom for a while so the drain had dried up, letting the smells pass. I took an empty juice bottle and poured 6 or 7 bottles' worth of water into the drain to fill the water seal and the smell went away after a few minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great central location.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, walking distance to many things I wanted to see. Easy walk from central train station.
Cons: Had to carry bags up a flight of stairs--elevator was a floor above the lobby. Breakfast wasn't until 7:30 on weekends; I had to leave by 7
I was in Copenhagen for a conference. This hotel had a great location, but breakfast was too late for someone attending a conference, so I should not have signed up for the breakfast. But otherwise I liked the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to attractions

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Close to many attractions
Cons: Bathroom was very small, basic dispenser for shampoo.
Location: Close to major tourist attractions. 8 minutes walk from the main train station
Helpful staff. Rooms can be cleaner. Small bathroom
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Average stay in an average hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2017
I stayed here with my girlfriend for three nights in the summer. Check in was very pleasant and efficient and the room we were given was nice enough although rather dated, especially the bathroom. Our request was for a queen size bed but it was really just two singles pushed together. I was ok with most of this as it was not an expensive hotel by comparison to others in this location, but there were a couple of problems. First, I felt we were a little dismissively dealt with when ordering a taxi from the hotel. Secondly on the first and second night I had bites on my legs overnight which were very uncomfortable, so much so that I did not sleep under the covers on our final night and no more bites occurred. I should have mentioned this to the hotel at the time but we were pushed for time when checking out and we'd already paid for our stay. I can't recommend this hotel to anyone else given our experience, but I hear that other rooms in the hotel are apparently far more modern, so with luck they may be more comfortable and less bitey... On a positive note, the iron and ironing board in our room was a nice addition.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old world building

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: The breakfasts were superb and had a wide variety of food including lots of fruit, different types of cheeses, cold meats, salads, many types of bread
Cons: WiFi, noise from outside early in the morning, some help with left luggage which was self-storage on shelves and had to be carried up & down stairs
Location: Location also was superb and close to the city centre, buses, trains and metro. All points of interest easily reached.
A very nice old world building with extensions which means stairs, different levels and difficulties with suitcases. The rooms were comfortable but at the back of the hotel there was a lot of noise early (05.30) of bins being moved and this woke me up every morning - even though we were moved to a higher floor. The WiFi was unreliable and it meant signing in often or just not being available at all. I was surprised the reception staff were not able to tell me the various public transport options for getting to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Central Copehagen

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Great access to all. Stroget and Tivoli close. Great Restaurants
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Good location.

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Small rooms, very small bathrooms and unconfortable showers. Hotel well located and good buffet breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotels, great location

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Nice clean and comfortable room on ground floor. Noise from dining room directly above from 6am - foot steps and chairs dragging on floor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy, hot and bright

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: The choice of bread at breakfast was good.
Cons: Curtains. Sound-proofing. New windows. Ventilation.
This is a de-constructed hotel, in the sense that it provides rooms and apartments in different buildings along a street without any central linking so in many cases you will be going up and down the public pavement. There is a reception for checking in but almost nothing else - at 10pm we asked for some assistance and the single person at reception said she couldn't help because she was there alone. Over 200 rooms, a check-in desk and one member of staff...and that's it. No double glazing and very old windows means that there is considerable traffic noise from the nearby main road which had sirens going up and down it thought the night. The town hall clock chimes every quarter of an hour until midnight, which it marks with a frenzy of chimes. The bars and clubs around also disturbed our attempts to sleep. Totally inadequate curtains, no blind at all for the central door to the mini balcony meaning we were totally exposed to early morning sunlight. Other windows had inadequate blinds. No air conditioning, and very stuffy rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice centrally located hotel.

Posted May 29, 2017
Near everything including the train station, Tivoli Gardens, City Hall, other attractions. Older buildings with complex layout so you will have to lift your luggage. Staff very helpful. Parking available for a fee. Doing your laundry is a complex process. Near many cafes and restaurants. Would stay here again.