Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Copenhagen

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff
Cons: Lack of aircon made it a little uncomfortable in the heat.
Hotel is centrally located, 5 minutes from train station and Tivoli Gardens. Weekend break was excellent albeit slightly marred with the experience through Expedia. Booked a room for 2 adults and 1 nine year old child and had this confirmed through Expedia. On arrival at hotel there was only a double bed and sofa available. Staff helpfully made up the sofa for my daughter but then insisted on charging an additional bed fee despite the confirmation from Expedia.. No response to several emails to Expedia which was disappointing. Unlikely to use them again and wouldn't recommend to a friend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York / Krakow

Outstanding Hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2009 on Hotels
Excellent for guests who appreciate all organic. Charming place. Rooms a bit small but that’s Europe. My first room was on the top floor with great ambiance and view. I like hotel so much I extended my stay and moved to the room with small balcony and canopy bed and awesome stone bathtub. Buffet breakfast (extra charge) was a exquisite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

The first and best hippie hotel I have been into

Posted Jun 18, 2009
I definitively reccomend this hotel: it's different from anything I have been in before. It's a very relaxed environment, from the caffetteria to the internal garden up to the room that seem to have a 70s feel. I am not personally a great fan of the hippie's movement but everything here was charming, very clean, efficient and I'd almost say "harmonic". The room was of a decent size, very clean, silent and so cosy that it almost felt like home. The staff was very kind and helpful. They even rented us bicycles on Sunday when any other shop was closed. Overall we had a great time in Copenhagen and the hotel had a part in it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Great service and friendly staff

Posted Apr 17, 2009
Staying at the Axel Hotel Guldsmeden was a wonderful experience. The Hotel was centrally located so it was very easy to walk around the city and Tivoli Gardens is about a 3 minute walk away. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the rooms are lovely. When our key card reader stopped working part way through the stay and couldn't easily be fixed, the hotel upgraded us from the Junior Suite we'd booked to one of their Penthouse Suites. The organic breakfast buffet offered in the house kitchen was delicious and great value. My husband and I enjoyed our stay immensely and are very glad we picked this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bruxelles

Excellent Surprise

Posted Mar 24, 2009 on Hotels
The hotel was oozing with charm. Rooms were spaceous and original. The whole theme of the hotel was extremely warm and cosy. The staff was helpful and welcoming, making you feel like a true guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, AL

Must stay

Posted Sep 19, 2008
very nice, close to train station. walking distance to everything. rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. I would stay here again. My only regret is we didnt have time to make it to the basement where the spa is...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Nice little place

Posted Sep 12, 2008
Its a nice little hotel, but perhaps somewhat over-priced compared to some other nearby locations. If you want something 'special' and cost is not a concern, then stay here. If you are on a budget, go to the ASCOT or some other venue where the rooms are basic, the breakfast is included, and the price is about 30% less.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Neuss

Zwar nicht ganz billig - aber absolut empfehlenswert!

Posted Sep 11, 2008 on Hotels
Kopenhagener Hotels sind teuer - und normalerweise vom Standard wohl auch nicht so toll. Letzteres kann man von diesem Hotel glücklicherweise nicht behaupten: Das Zimmer war sehr geschmackvoll und originell eingerichtet, das Personal sehr nett, das Frühstück sehr gut. Wir wurden mit einem Begrüßungsdrink empfangen und haben den Aufenthalt zu 100% genossen. Schade, dass es nur eine Nacht war!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice stay

Posted Sep 11, 2008
Good location near the train/metro station, small but clean room, friendly staff and freshly prepared local produce.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Båstad

Alltid lika trevligt

Posted Sep 9, 2008 on Hotels
Hotellet är trevligt såsom personal,negativt är att om det är ett spa hotel ska det ingå i rumspriset samt negativt med att hotellet inte har parkering så en natt kostar dkk 644 extra med spa o hotel.frukost kostar extra dkk 125 per person extra förövrigt är hotellet helt läckert inredd samt rent överallt