Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

It's a hostel

Posted Dec 26, 2016
It is good for a hostel. The location is good except if you are a light sleeper which I am. The street noise is loud.We had a broken bathroom door so it was noisy every time someone closed it and it had to be closed for the light to go off. Cold air came through the windows, otherwise it was warm. The lobby is nice. The staff is friendly. If you need a cheaper place to stay and are not a light sleeper it is a good place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

A hotel version of hostel

Posted Dec 26, 2016
It is like a hotel version of hostel equipped with a kitchen, a bar with breakfast buffet, a play room for kids and a game room for adults. The elevators are very high tech that require access card, hence very safe. Staff are helpful. The only thing is since it is a hostel, you have to put on the bedsheets etc. Location is good, walking distance to the old town and castle. It is about 10 min walk from Central station where you can hop on the train to the airport and get there in about 15 min. It is good for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Rethink Hostels

Posted Dec 24, 2016
This is brilliant . Loved the location , really helpful friendly staff . Straight forward accomodation but really clean and comfortable . Services like breakfast are good value and you just all muck in. Bar area with loads of charging points for devices is family friendly and does great bar food as well as the obligatory Tuborg/Carlsberg. We had a great stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Posted Sep 16, 2016
2 stars for the location, views, free wifi, and friendly staff. Otherwise, I would never book another stay there ever again. Not used to hostels...especially those costing $265/night. Didn't realize how minimal the services and amenities would be before booking. (Thank goodness it was just for one night!) In America, that'll buy a very large and beautifully furnished, fully stocked room in a hotel with lots of amenities. The elevators are very small and stopped on many floors before reaching our top floor, but couldn't accommodate any more persons for its size, so stopping was often a waste of time. This made waiting for an available elevator time consuming as well. To add to that, there were MANY teens staying there at the same time. My husband witnessed then playing with the elevators and pressing each floor for the elevator to stop at!! Wth!? If they weren't playing with the elevators, they were just coming and going so frequently as to cause elevator traffic!! To add to that, they made a lot of noise in the hallways and kept opening and closing (or should I say slamming) the (very heavy springed) doors, which echoed into our room until around 1 a.m. There was no AC! Unfortunately, we stayed during an unusually bright and sunny day. Linens and towels come with a fee & is do-it-yourself. Lights go off & the whole bathroom floor gets wet during showering!! it's a minimalist place for too high a price!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Danshostel

Posted Sep 14, 2016
More like a hotel than a hostel. Except that you pay for your own sheets and make your own bed. Also there's a sensor light as soon as you get in the front door and in the bathroom. So if you wake up sleepy and try to go to the bathroom you end up wide awake from the light...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great deal

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Good Location. Comfortable rooms.
Cons: The breakfast was nothing special. A variety of breads, meats, cheeses. We chose to not purchase it the 2nd morning.
Location: Easy walk to the train station and Tivoli. Many bus stop options nearby.
Great for our short stay in Copenhagen. We had the Copenhagen card and found it easy to get to buses (or walk) to the primary places we wanted to visit. Quiet rooms, helpful staff. I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expedia indicated this was a hotel. It is not

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Cons: the elevators. It was extremely hot in the rooms--Air conditioning or fans
I think this is an Expedia error.. Not Danhostel one. This was sold like a hotel. It is a place where you need oto rent seets and towels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Danhostel Copenhagen City, Hotel Management
Hi there. Thanks for your feedback. I am sorry to hear about the misunderstanding there has been. Hopefully you still enjoyed your days in Copenhagen. Have a lovely summer. Best, Line, Danhostel Copenhagen City
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2016
We enjoyed our three-night stay at Danhostel. We had a 4-bed room on the 14 floor with a great view over the canal. the staff were very helpful and the room was spacious and clean. We had the continental breakfasts at the hostel as there were not that many suitable eating places handy. It was a bit of a walk to the Hop-on Hop-off bus stop at the Railway Station next to Tivoli Garden, but a pleasant walk never-the-less. A great affordable place to stay for Copenhagen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from naples florida

Mixed feelings

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Elevators during busy times , bigger luggage storage room.
Location: You have everything nearby. Specially Tivoli Gardens just one block away.
The place is very well situated ,the staff very nice but definitely I would rate it as a high end hostel. If you're looking for a regular hotel with services ( tv,phone, room service and change of towels etc) this is not your place. If you're willing to rent the linens towels take a little longer to check in and willing to watch TV at the lobby restaurant you will be fine, because the hostel is very well situated and modern specially if it's only two people for the room. If you're a family of four its very tight. Also the most important thing no AC so take that into consideration during the summer months.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Danhostel Cph City er centralt beliggende og derfor god som base i storbyen. Vi var en familie på 4 og havde eget værelse, der dog som hostel er indrette spartansk. Fint for en nat!