Ratings based on 2,446 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Perfect location!

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Loved this hotel. The bed had to be the most comfortable I have ever slept on. You sink right in and don't want to get up! The location is outstanding! 1.5 blocks from Nyhavn (canal with beautiful buildings and great bars and restaurants), 4 blocks from Rosenborg Castle, a doable walk from Copenhagen Street Food. It is right in the heart of it. Added bonus... they are Expedia VIP+ and honored our Expedia Gold status with an upgrade and bottle of wine. Overall amazing hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Easy walking to shops and dinning

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: The staff was very helpful and attentive.
Location: Canal and bus rides. Many restaurants and shops within walking.
My small double room was a perfect size. The room was clean and the bathroom was roomy. The bathtub was an odd shape and a bit hard to get in and out of and I am average height. However, I was very pleased with my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bury St. Edmunds, England

Friendly staff and great location

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast price
Location: Near city center; many restaurants, pubs, and tours
I was most impressed with how friendly and receptive the staff were to my husband and I. We were unable to check into our room upon arrival, but the staff allowed us to store our luggage and borrow umbrellas for exploring the city while we had to wait for our room to be ready. We received a complimentary bottle of wine during our first night due to the hotel being labeled as a Expedia VIP customer hotel. The room was small, but the decor was nice and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was a buffet style. I found it to be too expensive for what it was, but Copenhagen is expensive overall anyways. The available options included various breads, cold meat cuts, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, sausage, oatmeal, yogurt, fruits, and sliced vegetables. The location is great! The location is easy access to the city center. In just a minutes walk, one will find pubs, restaurants, and tours. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Very nice hotel. Close to everything we wanted to see. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Handy for central Copenhagen easy walk to shops

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Not a lot
Cons: Needs character a warmer style and a decent restaurant.
Location: Too many to list here check your guide book there's plenty and there all walkable
Found locals to be pleasant but bland. Answered questions but didn't volunteer additional help or information. The food whilst good very rarely is what you thought you'd ordered when it arrives.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Close to Nyhavn and Metro

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Location, Style beds
Cons: Public area favilities
Location: Nyhaven - picturesque beautiful. Plenty of bars and restaurants - expensive though.
Very comfortable room - especially the beds. Would have liked tea/ coffee making facilities. No obvious sign of a bar in the hotel or an area to relax with a drink other than the lobby which is busy busy,.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Z

Classic boutique hotel close to City centrerr

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Rooms small but convenient. Close to palace and downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Very nice

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Couldn't fault it - never ate there but everything else very good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Underwhelmed by this property.

Posted Jun 22, 2017
The only thing I see this hotel is useful for is a bed and that's it. Granted I had just come from an exceptional hotel in Berlin (The Adlon Kempinski - which is 5 stars and more if you ask me) that was so amazing I cried when I left. When I arrived here at the Phoenix I was quite disappointed. There is nothing really wrong with it, it's just that while on vacation I want a hotel I can connect with, that makes you feel as if it was worth it, regardless of how much it cost. When I got here all I wanted to do was move to a different hotel. I will caution that I found the bathtub a bit dangerous to get in and out of while using the shower, I had to grip the towel rack with all my might to ensure I did not slip - scared me every time. I could see someone older needing to sit down and pull their legs over one by one. My room was quiet, but I had requested that. Rooms are small and could be better laid out. When I arrived there were a lot of things that needed repairing in the room. Which they fixed, but even then the cleaning woman left the broken light cover on the bathroom floor and never refilled the tissues until I made it really obvious they needed refill. Also a fresh glass daily would be nice vice leaving my same dirty drinking glass in the bathroom. Sadly, I would not return to this property. It was just lack luster. Oh, yes, the location was pretty good - it does have that going for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

Excellent hotel, central, old-world charm.

Posted May 28, 2017
Very helpful, knowledgable, cheerful lobby staff from the time we reached the to the time we exited the hotel for the next leg of our travels. We were in a room looking over a back alley so the view was not the best, but it was very quiet and peaceful after busy days wandering and photographing the city. The breakfast buffet was excellent serving an assortment including: yogourt, cereals, pickled herring, pate, prosciutto, ham, sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, assorted breads and jams and excellent pastries along with apple, orange and pineapple juices, milk, coffee and tea. The hotel is within an easy walk of Nyhavn, two theatres, the Royal Palace, the Little Mermaid, the Marble Church (just up the street) and a fun shopping area with many small and interesting shops. There are also several excellent patisserie in the vicinity. The Phoenix is about a 10 minute walk from a Metro station so it's also easy to get to. Overall, a very nice hotel in a beautiful Copenhagen neighbourhood.