Ratings based on 1,347 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid this hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016
A worn down hotel with small rooms and uncomfortable beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by Corporate Customer Care, Hotel Management
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay and you did not find the bed comfortable. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rakoto

Décevant pour un hôtel Radisson Blu.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Chambre étroite aux murs sales, salle de bains lamentable, sans frigo, couloir ressemblant au camp de concentration. Seule l entrée est attractive. Ayant déjà séjourné dans d autres hôtels Radisson Blu, celui là ne vaut pas Ibis budget. Pour le prix, ça ne vaut pas la peine !
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by Nette, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are terribly sorry to hear that our rooms did not live up to your expectations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: sain huoneen yläkerroksesta josta on mainiot näkymät kaupunkiin
Cons: saneerauksen aika ..hieman vanha jo
Location: lähellä metroasemaa ok paikka
vaikea pysäköidä auto kun tulee hotellille , hyvä businestaosn varustus ja aamiainen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Nette, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. We will take action and train our staff in the parking options surrounding the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Decent Hotel but With Some Major Drawbacks

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Location (Frederiksberg) was okay but a little too far out of the city centre really. Great links though via the Metro.
Cons: Parking and help with securing parking (why didn't the hotel sell parking tickets for street parking if they only have 8 spaces to offer?).
Location: As mentioned, location was okay, not great. Restaurants and bars around the area looked okay but not great. Mall about 2 blocks away looked okay too
I turned up at the hotel on a Thursday evening (around 7pm) to find that there were 8 car parking spaces available for a hotel with 15 floors of rooms. Nothing I saw in the hotel description indicated to me that it was so light on parking spaces nor that I had to book in advance if I wanted to try and secure one of them. The hotel staff were not particularly helpful in sorting this situation out for me. It took nearly 2 hours to sort the parking situation out meaning that we didn't get to relax in the hotel room until 9pm which was far from ideal after a 4 hour drive. The room itself was small (no bath in the bathroom) and there was no iron. ironing board, fridge/mini-bar and I couldn't close the window as it appeared to be jammed, so the 1st nights sleep was spoiled by being woken at around 6:30am as Frederiksberg started its working day. It's located really close to the Metro (about 2 blocks away) and getting into the centre of the city is really easy. The area around Frederiksberg is reasonably good but there are better places to eat, drink, etc. in the centre of the city IMHO. Some of the staff were really helpful and friendly and I thank them for helping me and making the say that little bit better. Staff on the 1st night however, weren't really that helpful, especially with my parking problems!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Nette, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that our staff on your arrival was not helpful getting your car parked. There is a huge underground parking just behind the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Nice amenities
Cons: Receptionist service. Late checkout approval
We were in need of a late checkout (6pm), which I suppose to be granted for SAS silver member upon availability. We were offered late checkout only until 2pm, because the receptionist told me the hotel is fully booked. A quick look on the online booking sites showed that there are plenty of rooms available. Im dissapointed that you promote all those benefits, but dont provide. The fact that there were rooms available and hence, late check our would have been possible, was a lie. I understand if you can grant only a certain amount of rooms the late checkout, that would not have been a problem. But please dont give such bad and untrue explanations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear we could only provide late check out until 2pm. Our aim is to provide “Yes I Can!” service to all our guests and we are disappointed to hear we could not fully exceed your expectations during your stay with us. Your comments have been forwarded to the hotel management for further review and we hope you will consider us if you are in the area again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Very convenient for metro and airport, nice area

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Location, ease of getting to, relaxed
Cons: It needs a bit of upgrading but as hotel is to close down next year that's not going to happen!
Location: Very close to parks, shops, restaurants, metro and buses nearby
Easy to travel to, location is good. Staff are good. Rooms are now a little run down as hotel will close next year. No fridge/mini bar in room as advertised, but staff very helpful with ice/chilling milk/wine etc. We've stayed in this hotel before and for a couple of days' stay it suits us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Nette, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay and do apologize. This was not our intention.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Very good hotel in nice residential and shopping area of Copenhagen
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Nette, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Bra hotell med rene rom, god mat og hyggelig personale
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Nette, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Slemt

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Utroligt varmt værelse kan ikk anbefales når der mer end 20 grader uden for da deres klimaanlæg ik virker optimalt. Rengøring forfærdelig der lå gamle småkager os sodavandsdåser under sengen da vi ankom og der var noget der lignede skimmelsvamp i brusekabinen
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Nette, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that we did not fully enjoy your stay with us. This was never our intention.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tinglev DK

Ein Hotel dass seine besten Tage hinter sich hat.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Löcher im Teppich. Schimmel im Bad. Angegriffene Armaturen mit roter und blauer Farbe warm kalt gekennzeichnet Chromereste sonst Messing. Dicke Kalkverkrustungen. Kein Kühlschrank/-fach. Sehr schlechte Klimatisierung. Foyer wirkt wie Flughafenterminal . Personal ist sehr unaufmerksam. Stehen zu zweit am PC lachend , sagen Moment Bitte und unterhalten sich weiter und lachen. Der Gast steht hier nicht an erster Stelle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Nette, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that we did not fully enjoy your stay with us. This was never our intention.