Ratings based on 1,432 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Dated room and uncomfortable bed

Posted Dec 3, 2016
The room was very dated, the carpets were old and worn, the furniture is made of wicker and the bathroom suite looks like it's from the 60s. The kettle leaked and the bathroom sink had a big crack. The bed itself was way too soft, as were the pillows which we only had one of each and the extra pillows we asked for were equally soft (and were informed they don't have harder pillows - which your big standard premier inn offers) Staff were helpful but can't say much else for this hotel, not good value for money and wouldn't recommend it to others
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Nette, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We regret that the rooms could not live up to your expectations. Feedback is very important to us and we thank you for taking the time to inform us about the challenges you experienced.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fint hotel med central beliggenhed

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Rent og pænt og gode senge.
Cons: Vi var meget tilfreds og kan ikke sætte finger på noget.
Location: Beliggenheden er meget centralt tæt på Assistens kirkegården, Jægersborggade og Frederiksberg Centret.
Ankom sent om aftenen, og fik et værelse på 11. etage med udsigt over byen. Værelset og toilettet var ret småt, men rent og pænt. Vi rejste tidligt næste morgen og spiste derfor ikke morgenmad på hotellet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Nette, Hotel Management
Mange tak for jeres feedback. Vi er glade for at I havde et behageligt ophold og at alt levede op til jeres forventninger.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Europe

Good location, excellent reception; mediocre room

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: I was very impressed and moved by the reception personnel - outstandingly helpful and kind.
Cons: Room cleanliness and service.
Location: Close to a metro station and plenty of shops, restaurants and other eateries of all kinds around.
The location of the hotel is good - very close to metro. The receptionists were extremely kind and helpful when I encountered a personal problem. The room was small (standard), the furniture needs an uplift, cleanliness was not good (I scratched two blobs of an unidentified greasy material from the bathroom floor; windows were dirty; toilet full of large rust stains - rather disgusting). Tea bags of the kind I used were not replenished; drinking glass disappeared. My plan did not include breakfast and buying a breakfast at the hotel was prohibitively expensive (so I had breakfast elsewhere).
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Nette, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback. We are happy that check-in and the reception lived up to your expectations. Your feedback about the room will be passed on to the person responsible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dk

Nusset og ikke 4-stjernet!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Beliggenheden og udsigten.
Cons: Rengøringsniveauet.
Location: Meget centralt.
Værelset var stort og lækkert, men ved nærmere eftersyn var det nusset overalt. Pletter på inventar, beskidte badeforhæng o.s.v. På trods af utallige døre i receptionen var det ikke muligt at komme ud af bagvejen, så vi skulle slæbe baggagen langt for at komme hen til bilen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Nette , Hotel Management
Mange tak for din feedback. Vi beklager at værelset ikke levede op til jeres forventninger, og at vi ikke har en egentlig midlertidig parkering ved indgangen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Zentrales Hotel mit tollem Blick ab Etage 8

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Das Hotel ist wunderbar vom Flughafen zu erreichen, einfach in die Metro einsteigen, dann Station Frederickberg aussteigen. Keine Schönheit, auch in den Zimmern ist das Design in die Jahre gekommen. Aber sie waren groß und sauber. In der Umgebung viele Cafes, ein 7-11, Geschäfte usw. also prima erschlossen. Kein Honeymoonhotel, aber Business Travel oder Leute, die zentrale Lage lieben, sind dort gut aufgehoben.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Nette, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and in particular the metro connection and the local area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Raddisson? More like Bad-isson.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Nothing. The only thing good about the hotel was the restaurant a block away that was in no way affiliated with the hotel.
Location: Copenhagen. I was there on work so I didn't explore much
Slightly dingy hotel but *shrug* I'm traveling for a month through Europe for work. I travel a lot for work. I've seen a lot. I can handle it. But this. This place was just horribly managed. I never received the same amount of towels from the cleaning staff. after day two they stopped delivering wash cloths. No big deal. I can handle it. Day four it's extremely hot in my room, I call downstairs and they assure me that turning the thermostat knob works and that if it isn't they'll have a technician look at it in the morning. On a hunch I opened the panel that the thermostat knob was on....and get this, THERE WAS NO WIRING. IT WAS A DUMMY KNOB!!!! Everyone else in my work group complained their thermostats didn't work either. Day Five I get fed up and demand washcloths. After three...THREE attempts to delivery what they thought were washcloths but were actually hand towels I angrily stomped down there and told them how it wouldn't bother me that they didn't know what washcloths were IF THEY HADNT PUT THEM IN THE ROOM FOR TWO DAYS. Place was just weird. I've stayed at the Raddison Blu in Berlin. The one with the huge tank. So I didn't realize the Raddisons were this bad these days
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Stephen, Thank you for your review. We regret to hear you were dissatisfied with your stay. We apologize you were disappointed with the service you received throughout your stay, including from the front desk and housekeeping staff. We appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention and have shared your comments with hotel management to continually improve our guest experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

God lokalisering for opphold i Frederiksberg

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: God beliggenhet og hyggelige ansatte.
Cons: Ta ut alle manilla-møblene og få inn enkel dansk design. Og ut med barskap som ikke lenger er i funksjon. Virker slitt, og badet er svært lite.
Location: Gode spisesteder i nærheten - anbefaler Cafe Vivaldi og Sokkelund !
Hotellet har god tilgjengelig p-plasser. Og en nydelig utsikt over byen!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Nette, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel near Copenhagen Business School

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Cons: Breakfast is only ok.
Very good hotel that seems a bit dated. Staff are friendly and helpful. Room had amazing view of the city. Very close to Metro.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Nette, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, US

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel in a bustling area only 2 subway stops from city center. Lots of restaurant and shopping choice (a large mall minutes walk away). Large room with city view is nice. Only negative we have is lack of free breakfast. For parking, it is a bit confusing. Hotel garage is full so we parked in a nearby (2 min walk) underground commercial lot. You need to pay for it in a 7-Eleven store around the corner but the shop employees have different interpretation of the parking fee rules, so make sure you dont overpay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite the parking rule interpretations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid this hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016
A worn down hotel with small rooms and uncomfortable beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by Corporate Customer Care, Hotel Management
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay and you did not find the bed comfortable. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.