Ratings based on 4,518 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Modern hotel but small rooms

Posted May 20, 2018
The rooms and bath are small even by European standards. Comfortable for sleeping but not hanging out. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Within walking distance of almost anything you would want to do in Copenhagen. Also very close to most bus and metro stops.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2018 by Helle Røber, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back someday. Best Regards Helle Salling Røber Reservation Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location, lovely staff

Posted May 14, 2018
The Square was a great choice for our one-night stay in Copenhagen. It was convenient to the central train station and to Tivoli Gardens. The room was good and clean and the staff was very helpful with directions, restaurant recommendations and left luggage. I wish we had been able to stay longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2018 by Helle Røber, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back someday. Best Regards Helle Salling Røber Reservation Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Posted May 11, 2018
The hotel is well located and in good condition. The lounge on the top floor is nice, with an outdoor terrace and free drinks. Our room, which was an upgrade, was small, too warm and the bed was too soft. Breakfast was extremely expensive, so we skipped that. The overall cost was high, but in keeping with other hotels in the area which are all very expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2018 by Helle Røber, Hotel Management
Dear Nils Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and our lounge in perticular. I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back someday. Best Regards Helle Salling Røber Reservation Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Consistent!

Posted May 7, 2018
I've stayed at The Square three times now and always have a great experience. It's conveniently located, the staff is very helpful and their breakfast is delicious. Definitely recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2018 by Helle Røber, Hotel Management
Dear Guets Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Square. I am delighted to read that you are a frequent guest with us, and that you would highly recommend us. Best Regards Helle Salling Røber Reservation Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin Ireland

Ok hotel very central

Posted May 7, 2018
Pros: Staff were very helpful and professional
Cons: Mattress on the bed should be firmer - quality of bed linen should be better.
Location: Everything was within walking distance
expected room to be more comfortable - could have had a few more soft furnishings and better quality bed linen.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2018 by Jens Wittendorff, Hotel Management
Dear Brendan Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will take your comments on the soft furbishing into advisement. Bets Regards Jens Wittendorff General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Daly City, California

Prime location

Posted May 4, 2018
Small room, well kept, and great front desk customer service.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2018 by Helle Røber, Hotel Management
Dear James Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back someday. Best Regards Helle Salling Røber Reservation Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City hitel

Posted May 1, 2018
Location: All major tourist sites within walking distance.
A very central hotel making it easy to walk round Copenhagen. Very good breakfast set up for the rest of the day.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2018 by Ali Özdemir, Hotel Management
Dear pat Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back someday. Best Regards Ali Özdemir Restaurant Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never does a full clean room, only partly.

Posted Apr 30, 2018
Pros: - perfect location - perfect reception - friendly staff
Cons: change whole clean service approach, it does not work at all for the moment.
for whole trip 4 nights, never vacuum clean, lazy Room Clean staff - perfect location - perfect reception - friendly staff (very helpful and positive) - good breakfast - terrible clean service
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2018 by Jens Wittendorff, Hotel Management
Dear Svet Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will follow up on your comments on the cleaning. Best Regards Jens Wittendorff General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok location, lovely staff, very average room.

Posted Apr 24, 2018
Lovely and helpful staff but bathroom was a bit mouldy, room was quite noisy (construction outside and noisy street during the night).
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2018 by Jens Wittendorff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your review. Some noise is to be expected when staying in a city center, however please feel free to request for a quiet room facing our courtyard, if required. I will follow up on your comments on the bathrooms. Best Regards Jens Wittendorff General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Four night stay

Posted Apr 16, 2018
I took an upgrade on arrival to an Executive room. Aside for access to the lounge, I couldn’t see a difference from a standard one. The room overlooked the square & was very noisy. The mattress was shocking and really should be changed. The bathroom was no more than ok. Tea & coffee making facilities were useful, just not enough of each left everyday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2018 by Helle Røber, Hotel Management
Dear Mike Thank you for your review. I am sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations. The difference between a Standard double room and an Executive room is that an Executive rooms offer a guaranteed view towards the City Hall Square, upgraded bathproducts, access to the lounge, as well as bathrobe and slippers in the room. The mattresses in all our rooms were replaced 1 year ago. Please always feel free to request for more coffee/tea to your room at the front desk during your stay, and we will bring this up to your room. Best Regards Helle Salling Røber Reservation Manager