Ratings based on 1,329 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Nice hotel, good value, very nice staff. The area doesn't have much around, but a few restaurants and a couple of bars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Karim, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madame Thank you so much for taking the time to write me about your experiences at Gentofte Hotel. I am always grateful when our guests are willing to give me their views – when I receive praise, I can share the positive reaction with the staff, and when I receive a complaint, we have a chance of improving our hotel. Gentofte is 12 km from the city centre and only 3 km from Lyngby, which has a variety of places to explore. Please make sure to ask the front desk staff to assist you NeXT time you stay with us. I thank you so much for helping me and I hope that we may see you back at the hotel. Kind regards Karim El Husseiny Reservations and Conference Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Small rooms but nice neighbourhood

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Rooms are small and old building but like the neighbourhood as there were grocery store, bakery, restaurant near by to walk to. Overall ok place to stay but I guess it must be European design as the room is too small including the bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Karim, Hotel Management
Dear K Thank you so much for taking the time to write me about your experiences at Gentofte Hotel. I am always grateful when our guests are willing to give me their views – when I receive praise, I can share the positive reaction with the staff, and when I receive a complaint, we have a chance of improving our hotel. I agree that rooms and hotels are larger in other parts of the world. By European standards this is a three star property and a nice one I might add :) I thank you so much for helping me and I hope that we may see you back at the hotel. Kind regards Karim El Husseiny Reservations and Conference Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Atmospheric place great price good location

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Found central prices crazy so took chance on Gentofte So very pleased I did 350 year old building - renovated well Lovely size room Bathroom fresh and clean Close to suburban train line so never felt isolated Really recommend this place if you are out priced by central locations
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Karim, Hotel Management
Dear Jean Thank you so much for taking the time to write me about your experiences at Gentofte Hotel. I am always grateful when our guests are willing to give me their views – when I receive praise, I can share the positive reaction with the staff, and when I receive a complaint, we have a chance of improving our hotel. I thank you so much for helping me and I hope that we may see you back at the hotel. Kind regards Karim El Husseiny Reservations and Conference Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but...

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Cons: More dining options available.
Nothing wrong with the room or staff, but we were told that there was no dinner service available at about 6.30pm which was a disappointment and then we had to walk about half a mile to find a restaurant. If you don't mind a lot of walking and catching a train into Copenhagen, then it could be for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Karim, Hotel Management
Dear Mark Thank you so much for taking the time to write me about your experiences at Gentofte Hotel. I am always grateful when our guests are willing to give me their views – when I receive praise, I can share the positive reaction with the staff, and when I receive a complaint, we have a chance of improving our hotel. I can’t save the situation now but only apologize for not delivering a hotel experience living up to your expectations. I have relayed your concerns to our Restaurant Manager so that we can offer you a better product next time. I thank you so much for helping me and I hope that we may see you back at the hotel. Kind regards Karim El Husseiny Reservations and Conference Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Nice hotel in the suburbs of Copenhagen

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Later breakfast
Location: Nice restaurant and a few shops but everything else is a couple of kms away.
A great time but a car is essential due to the location. Nice and airy in a quiet neighbourhood with a great thai restaurant nearby however no bars/pubs in the direct vicinity. TRain station 10 minutes away with trAINS RUNNING THROUGH THE NIGHT IF YOU WANT TO GO OUT IN THE CENTRE OF COPENHAGEN - WELL WORTH IT.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Karim, Hotel Management
Dear Splash Thank you so much for taking the time to write me about your experiences at Gentofte Hotel. I am always grateful when our guests are willing to give me their views – when I receive praise, I can share the positive reaction with the staff, and when I receive a complaint, we have a chance of improving our hotel. I thank you so much for helping me and I hope that we may see you back at the hotel. Kind regards Karim El Husseiny Reservations and Conference Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel with easy access to centre

Posted Aug 26, 2017
It is generally a nice hotel with good quality breakfast. However, the attitude of the reception staff varies. Some are good and helpful but we came across one lady reception staff who is very unfriendly. We booked two standard rooms which are not provided with a kettle. But we needed some hot water for taking medicine. We asked her to give us some hot water. She replied:"Because your rooms are standard rooms, additional charges are required for hot water".
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Karim, Hotel Management
Dear Pat Thank you so much for taking the time to write me about your experiences at Gentofte Hotel. I am always grateful when our guests are willing to give me their views – when I receive praise, I can share the positive reaction with the staff, and when I receive a complaint, we have a chance of improving our hotel. I can’t save the situation now but only apologize for not delivering a hotel experience living up to your expectations and to our own standards. I will talk to the Front Office Manager and let him know of this incident. I thank you so much for helping me and I hope that we may see you back at the hotel. Have a nice day Kind Regards, Karim El Husseiny Reservations and Conference Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wallingford, CT, USA

Nice hotel and area, just 20' to downtown

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Nice hotel, quiet area, including 24hr supermarket a block away, pizzeria, and coffee stores nearby
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Karim, Hotel Management
Dear Julicaro Thank you for your kind comments as well as sharing key points of interests for our future guests. Have a lovely day Kind Regards Karim El Husseiny Reservations and Conference Manager
4 out of 5
by Bernt

Ok hotell. Good location.

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
The beds was a little to narrow.
3 out of 5
by Pardhasaradhi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by TIMOTHY

Good and not so good

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
Good clean room smaller than expected. Very pleasant desk personnel. Good breakfast. But would not provide early breakfast (for early flight) although breakfast paid for. Hotels.com website states there are tea/coffee making facilities - there are not. Suggest hotel should refund cost of 2 breakfasts and Hotels.com reimburses for 6 cups of coffee at Danish prices.