Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Affordable hotel close to Copper Canyon

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Close to Adventure Park, Walking distance to scenic overlooks and town with restaurant, Affordable
Cons: The spark plug of the heaters didn't work and we had to borrow matches from the reception every time we wanted to light it.
Location: Copper canyon adventure park, Mirador restaurant for breakfast, Nearby town with restaurants, Extrememly scenic views within walking distance
My husband and I stayed at Hotel Barrancas del Cobre for 2 nights while visiting Copper Canyon and riding El Chpe Tren. By the way, the Chepe train stop for this hotel is "Posada Barrancas" and NOT "Divisadero"...it's only a 5 min walk from the "Posada Barrancas" stop. We were very pleased with our visit. The price of this hotel is much lower than Hotel El Mirador, which is a ~15 walk uphill (but there's also transport if you don't feel like walking). Although this hotel doesn't have the view of the Mirador, it's a sister hotel & guests can use all the facilities of the Mirador, including the restaurant (which was great for breakfast but only so-so/overpriced for dinner) with a beautiful overlook of the canyon, the shops, and the nice walking tour around the area. The Hotel Barrancas del Cobre has more of a hostel feel, with an open area to play pool & guitar and to buy drinks. It was nice to socialize with people in the lobby. Also, there is a town nearby with a really cute/recommendable restaurant (~15 min walk), close to the small chapel/church. The hotel itself is a bit old, but it was comfortable, and the reason I give 5 stars is really because of Karla, the receptionist, who was SUPER helpful. She organized our tour to the nearby Adventure Park (highly recommendable!!), and she helped us to get cash for the bus, when there weren't any ATMs nearby. A few more tips: bring lots of cash, because there are no ATMs and very poor data/internet everywhere in this area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value annex accommodation

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Barrancas del Cobre is effectively the overflow hotel for Hotel Mirador. When we arrived, there were no staff at the hotel, and so we walked up to the Mirador (about 10 minutes walk up through a wooded area). Staff there were aware of the booking and arranged a car to take us back down and let us into our rooms. The Barrancas del Cobre has limited facilities - a pool table and a communal TV lounge - with all the other facilities (reception, bar and restaurant, shop, etc.) up at the Mirador. Likewise, there are no real views from the BdC - they are all up at the canyon-rim located Mirador. One thing to watch out for - the address is misleading! It appeared as Est Posada, KM 622 - but Est Posada is at KM 626, whereas KM 622 is Divisadero station. The hotel is actually beside the Posada station at KM 626! Otherwise, the staff were friendly, the set-menu food was Italian, the rooms were clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Good value

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Happily recommend for an overnight at Posadas Barrancas train station. Just a few minutes walk up to the edge of the Canyon and the amazing views. Food and drink at the partner hotel El Mirador was very expensive. Turn right out of the hotel and there is a little restaurant for breakfast and great quesadillas and burritos.
4 out of 5
by Elmar

Inexpensive room, expensive food

Posted Dec 25, 2015 on Hotels
Room is okay for price. Hotel ist just besides the railway station Barrancas del Cobre. For food you have to walk up hill to Hotel Mirrador. Food there is quite expensive, but there is no other option. Very nice is hike to adventure park (approx 30 min). You can then also save the very high transport cost to get there. Check in process was slow. We also lost a pair of sock in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Hotel next to Posada station

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: A suite in an interesting collection of suites, rather than a dull, functional hotel.Quiet (when we were there - noone else at all) (except squirrels)
Cons: Information, about what and where your facilities are. Like, breakfast.
Location: Fantastic-right by Posada station El Chepe, close to Parque de Aventuras, and El divisadero, with the amazing views of Barrancas del Cobre.
Noone about - but the young man (caretaker?) we found could not have been more helpful. Should be explained that the rooms are at one place (very nice) but reception, staff, bar, breakfast, are all up the road at the posh Mirador Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Great location for a budget hotel at barrancas. Located right next to the train station. Take the shuttle or a 10 min walk up the hill to the Mirador sister hotel for the most amazing views of the canion. Breakfast with a view is included at the sister hotel and for 200 pesos they will take you to the adventure park and 3 viewing point and back on time for the train...
5 out of 5
by Reyna

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Super buena la atención recibida por parte de Karla, de la recepción del hotel, todos super amables, atentos y hospitalarios.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

En general muy bien! Servicios caros

Posted Dec 19, 2016
El hotel está ubicado justo a lado de la estación de tren! Lo malo es que los servicios (comida, Tours, etc), tienen costos MUY elevados!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Muy bonito y pintoresco

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: La decoración
Cons: Si, en cuanto a la recepción deberian considerar tener personal siempre disponible para recibir a los huespedes
Location: Hermosos paisajes, vistas increibles, cerca esta el parque de aventura donde puedes practicar deportes extremos y cabalgatas
Disfrute mucho mi estancia en este hotel y de sus alrededores, esta lleno de bellezas naturales y de mucha aventura extrema. Me encanto.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Linares

Hotel con poca concurrencia Poco personal

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: La tranquilidad
Cons: que tengan un meu con costos mas accesibles
Location: En un pequeño pueblo, barrancas del cobre a 4.5 KM, a 30 min de divisadero, estacion del tren a unos metros, caminatas, caballos
Muy agradable, solo había una habitación mas ocupadas por lo que el área de entendimientos fue solo para nosotras, no tienen restaurante por lo que te tienes que trasladar al otro hotel o algún otro lugar. Si es al otro hotel, ellos mismos te llevan.