Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

OUTDATED Rooms + Dishonest staff!

Posted May 17, 2017
Cons: Everything
Location: The location is good, but the hotel is outdated.
BAD: We chose Hotel Divisadero because their rooms with Balcony by the Canyon. At our arrival Edilma, said that those are not available. WHAT? Why do you offer them if you don’t have them? She noticed our frustration and said, “ok I will assign you the2 rooms but there’s a little bit of noise because we are doing some fixes” We agreed, because we were looking forward to enjoy the view in A balcony. Once we got there, we got NOISE and DISAPPOINTMENT. Rooms don’t look like shown in pictures. They look sad and outdated. We didn’t have hot water, and in room #49, heater didn’t work. UGLY, at dinner time, we were robbed by restaurant staff!! We were celebrating my dad’s birthday and they took advantage of the situation. A waiter “told us” (w/o showing the check) that we owe $1700mx. Food was simple and the amount for 4 dinners seemed expensive, but we didn’t want to make a scene by checking the bill in front of my dad, and since we were joyous, we paid + handed a tip of $500mx, which was the 28% (great tip!). Also the bartender told us we owe $900mx. We paid and gave him a $130mx tip (14%). Next day, we asked the receipts and we were SHOCKED. Those guys robbed us!! The checks were for $1000.00 and $600 respectively. We accept our fault of not reviewing the check, but what kind of hotel take advantage of their guest like this, especially when we were very large at tipping them? WORST We asked Edilma to investigate the issue, and regretfully NOBODY in hotel or corporate’s offic
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel in Copper Canyon

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
If hotel had not had such a fantastic position overlooking the canyons, would not have stayed there. Food was not good and pricey. Hotel bar had good staff. Rooms basic with paper thin walls. All balconies were joined together with no privacy so if you are unlucky enough to be next to party people, as we were, you have to put up with the noise and disturbance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recommended

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing view from room. Close to adventure park, train station and bus station. Manager that speaks fluent English and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Beautiful views

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: The views and service from manager
Cons: rooms need renovation
Location: See above
Simply breathtaking views! And the service hotel manager Mario provided us non-Spanish speaking guest was extraordinary. His service was extended to all guests of course but make us feel just as important as anyone else. the rooms; need work. Tired, in need of some quick fixes but the housekeeping staff does a great job. Great place for hiking, accessing the cable car and the adventure park. Eat at the hotel restaurant or purchase food form the local open air market. No other choices in the area. We did walk to the next train stop where we found a restaurant in town for breakfast... a few more choices there and the walk's only about 3 miles.
5 out of 5
by Karen from Banff, Alberta

Retreat to Copper Canyon

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
We loved our experience at the hotel. The views are spectacular out every window , patio or terrace. This is a must see place. The food is reasonable and it is a one menu situation. salty for my tastes but others maybe fine with it. The bed is supper hard and pillows non supportive. The toilet also kept running which we stopped. They are very welcoming and the hotel itself is beautiful and there are many artistic displays inside and out. It is a great place to see the native population in their habitat. If you like zip lines and Teleferiques, they are also in the area ( a 2 klm walk0. This is a great place to hike as well. One could make an adventure vacation for a week in this paradise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful View!

Posted May 8, 2016
Beautiful View!!! The beds are not so comfortable, there is no wifi or Tv's at the rooms. Overall it is a 3 star hotel. You are paying for the view of the copper canyon!!
5 out of 5
by Anthony from Sydney, Australia.

Great Hotel on the edge of the Copper Canyon.

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
Had an enjoyable and relaxing two nights (three days) stop over at this hotel whilst travelling on the Copper Canyon Railway (El Chepe). It's definitely worth staying at least two nights so that you have ample time to enjoy the many walking trails, the nearby adventure park (which has the world's highest zip lines) and other tours on offer the nearby districts. The lobby bar and restaurant both have incredible views over the canyon. The hotel offers a set menu for breakfast ($190 pesos), lunch ($220 pesos) and dinner ($210 pesos) if you can choose to eat there. Each meal includes a number of courses and the food is good. The staff are very friendly, professional and helpful and speak good english. Jump on the free 'Sunset Walking Tour' with Martin (he is excellent) at 5.00pm each day. Also, Martin offers a morning walking tour (starting at 9.00am) for a small fee which takes you around the lip of the canyon to the nearby adventure park.
4 out of 5
by Kathryn from Vancouver

Gorgeous views but BOOK YOUR OWN TRAIN beforehand

Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
We were warmly greeted by Mario upon our arrival. We had asked for and received rooms that face the Copper Canyon. Stunning views.** Word to watch for**as of March 01, 2016 you can NO LONGER purchase Train Tickets on the train or at small stations such Divisadero. The Hotel graciously offered to go online and buy tickets using my credit card for 7 of us travelers. When we got back from our excursion I was handed our train tickets and noticed the receptionist had TORN the bottom portion off indicating how much the tickets were so I asked how much was put on the credit card and she handed me a little scrap of paper with the total. After much insisting for an actual receipt with the total she finally gave it to me and I saw that they had charged me 377 pesos extra for each person in ADDITION to 5 % service fee. It was almost 50% service fee. Mario was kind enough to call the head office to discuss this on our behalf and after much arguing they have agreed to give me the money back. I just arrived home and there is a request for my bank account information to put the money into my account.It is best if you book your tickets yourself. If you have mobility problems best to ask for rooms closer to the office as the rooms up top with the most spectacular views are a lot of stairs up and down.
5 out of 5
by Wendy from Regina

Takes your breath away

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
Unbelievable sights, staff very helpful, food very good - wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great views, service and real charm

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: Rustic Mexican charm, friendly staff and awesome view.
Cons: Nil
Location: Adventure Park - very professional and exhilarating!! El Chepe - A marvel of engineering and something you just have to do. Explore the canyon.
Wonderful experience at this rustic Mexican hotel perched right on the canyon, literally in the middle of nowhere. Room was very tidy with balcony overlooking the canyon. The views are truly spectacular. Beautiful public spaces make you feel right at home. The staff were extremely helpful, my son has bad food allergies and they had no problems preparing safe meals especially for him. The whole copper canyon experience was very special and I can't wait to bring the rest of my family back to Hotel Divisadero Barrancas.