Ratings based on 711 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC

Affordable Place to Sleep

Posted Jun 25, 2017
I just needed somewhere to sleep and this did the trick. Seems to be a popular place for big trucks to park and one was left running outside my room all day. Don't count on the fitness equipment working. I'm pretty sure they gave me the worst room next to the lobby and where the staff smoke possibly because I used my Expedia points to pay less? Otherwise I have no idea why they would give someone that room if they didn't have to. Pool was clean. Hot tub was somewhat warm. Location was good close to shopping and food. It's not the worst hotel. I'd stay again for a decent price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Tammy , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found our place affordable. We are sorry to hear that there were some issues with the fitness room and smoke smell. We will definitely look into that. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nail sticking up on the threshold of the bathroom

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
There was a nail sticking up going into the bathroom told guy at front desk and he did nothing about it
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Tammy , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We will definitely investigate this and make sure that this does not happen again. Please accept our apologies. Kind Regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Easy to get to ... Good value.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: The staff ... Outstanding.
Cons: Fix electronic key to the room ... Greater attention to cleaning details.
Location: Easy access to two major highways ... Yet not bothered by road noise.
The staff were outstanding. Our room however was not too clean -- bobby pins & M&Ms on the floor. The electronic key worked very poorly - needed hot all staff to assist. Housekeeping too needed assistance to gain entry. On the plus side, very easy to get to & ease of access to all rooms. Many thanks to the staff for assisting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Tammy , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We apologize for the issues that you had with your room. We will continue to work to improve the quality of our guest rooms daily and strive to provide the best experience possible for all our guests. Kind regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B C Canada

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: As Above
Cons: As Above
Location: At this location, Van City is 25 minutes away, so needless to say, there is lots to do all around here.
The hotel/ motel is a older one, so as expected, the room needed a face lift, the shower died, the clicker was dead....but the beds......the beds were amazing.....
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Tammy , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We do apologize for the issues you noted. We continue to work to improve the quality of our guestrooms daily and strive to provide the best experience possible for all our guests. Kind regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kamloops

Absolutely disgusting

Posted May 30, 2017
From the second we walked in the door the service was awful and the facilities were disgusting. When we got to our room it was not the one we reserved and the sheets were absolutely filthy. We had an event to get to and they told us it would take 10-15 minutes to change them. 45 minutes later of standing with out luggage outside we get the room back and while the sheets are changed the rest of the room was still unbearably grimy. We felt dirty just being in there. Did I mention we paid for wi-fi that wasn't actually connected or available? I can't believe how horrible the service was, I would never go back. Extremely unhappy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Tammy , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We apologize that your stay was less than satisfying. I noticed that you mentioned that you paid for WIFI. The Ramada brand does not charge for WIFi service. There is no possible way that you were charged for this.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
Needs bathroom up grade. But other than that it served the purpose
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Tammy , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are in the process of doing some bathroom upgrades. We hope you will visit us again and see what we have done. Regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maple ridge

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: average hotel nice staff
average hotel nice staff average hotel nice staff .average hotel nice staff.average hotel nice staff
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Tammy , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you had a good stay and that you enjoyed your time hear. We thank you for your business and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to event

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: It was close to the event
Cons: Air conditions to work...or change rooms to one that worked
Location: Event location acceptable
Air conditioning not working...too hot to sleep Groups of kids reams not controlled in pool area but that is due to poor chaperones
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Tammy , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that there was an issue with your air conditioner. We have looked into this and corrected this issue. We hope that you will give us a second chance and come visit us again in the near future. Kind Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Been here before

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: beds clean, room quite.
Cons: replace the carpet clean up the parking lot.
Parking lot with cig butts, paper overall cleanliness poor. Room carpet needs replaced. Bed good and clean, room quite no noise. I would not want to stay in room 405 again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by Tammy , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We do appreciate your repeat business. We are sorry that there were some issues with the parking lot. We have taken care of it. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

It will do

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: The pool was warm
Cons: Wifi, (non existent in rooms) Stained sheets, Keys that work, (every time we went out it had to be reset)
Location: We were there for a scooter competition in town center park so most of our time was spent at the park
The wifi didn't work in the rooms, only in the lobby. The sheets were stained and our room key had to be reset every time we went out
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Tammy, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the pool. We are sorry to hear that you had some issues with the WIFI signal, sheets and key cards. We will look into this to make sure it does not happen again to another guest. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards