Ratings based on 319 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely beachfront villa - good for families but...

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Beachfront villa
Cons: Food and drink service
Spacious comfortable beachfront villa, easily accommodated a family of four. The beach is lovely and great snorkelling at high tide. Kids loved the pool and watching a movie at kids club in the evening. It worked well to get a babysitter so 3 year old could also watch a move at kids club - just takes forward planning. Breakfast was good and food we ordered was good but service very slow apart from the kids buffet so a lot of time spent with hot, tired kids waiting for the grown ups to get served and to eat (40-60 mins) - would be fine with older kids but does not work with younger ones. Another issue for younger kids seems to be the fireworks let off by guests at night. Our children were woken up almost every night by fireworks set off at the beach right in front of the room about 9-10pm. Maybe it was just our bad luck with the guests staying there but I would not recommend the beachfront rooms for young children. Only other issue was the high cost of drinks and snacks at the resort. The same drinks trucks deliver to the resort as to the local bars and shops but prices are 3x higher as guests don't want to leave. Highly recommend exploring - we loved Natadola beach, the Kula eco park, the waterfall walk and the local restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Not goodbye but see you soon

Posted Sep 26, 2017
We chose Hideaway because it is Fijian owned and run. Yes some areas are in need of a refurb but it is clean, comfortable and has a beautiful reef and beachfront as well as amazing staff that make it the beautiful memorable place it is. Food and drinks are on par with Australian prices if not cheaper. Activities for the kids and adults are wonderful. With kids club a massive hit. We will return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Not enough information provided at check in. The receptionist treated white guests differently then dark skinned guests
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, South Australia

Locally owned, that is why we supported them.

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: The only thing we could recommend is the food. But the advertising of some "eight" restaurants is a RORT and should be removed from the website.
Cons: Just about most things. The bedding, the pillows, the hot water, the price (for what one gets).
Location: Chat with the locals in their villages - absolutely lovely people.
Locally owned and the standards are pretty local as well. It is very tired and is in need of updating. We had no hot water for first 3 days. The "Deluxe" is well short of any standard of deluxe that I have ever experienced. The pillows should have been replaced years ago. The netting around the bed was dirty and torn. While the outdoor shower and so called "bath" looked inviting, without hot water, it definitely was not. Then when we did get hot water, we discovered that having an outdoor bath was quite dangerous with the deep step down and the fragments of surrounding tile work which were quite sharp and I did cut my foot on them. But I must say, having a really deep bubble bath by the light of a full moon was absolutely glorious! Also the food was a treat. The cook's are to be congratulated for the quality of food provided. But the entertainment is dreadful, so take some music with you. This would have been the first place we have ever stayed in that did not have a clock radio and/or a TV. Even though we enjoyed being on "Fiji time", it would have been nice to know the time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Enjoyed our stay at Hideaway. Great breakfasts, friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great staff and atmosphere

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Really lovely hotel. Rooms are spacious and clean. Great for families in particular. I would recommend doing the school tour :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Friendly non-flashy resort

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Great views, nice beach, friendly
Cons: Bar and restaurant areas, an adults only pool would be nice if you wanted a quiet swim.
Location: Some nice local restaurants
The facilities like the pool, restaurant and the bar area are a little tired. However the staff are wonderful and the site is great with most rooms having sea views. Beach only swimmable at high tide. Our 2 bedroom villa was very plain but clean with a nice terraced area - some rooms do have newer amenities. There is quite a lively activities and happy hour programme with loud music, ask for a room away from the pool if you want quiet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Promises more than it delivers

Posted May 20, 2017
Rooms modest but comfortable enough. Food typically overpriced for the quality. Suspect that the majority of their seafood was frozen - something one doesn't expect from Fiji; very disappointing!! This is 'apparently' a PADI 5-star Dive Resort - PADI might want to review this. The Fijian dive staff were cool however, the Aussie run business - poorly equipped and full of bs excuses
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Amazing holiday with toddlers

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Staff and pool
Cons: Add more curry on the menu. Door on the kids room
We had a family bure right next to the beach. The kids (1 and 3 year old) had their own room and loved the resort. Starting with the TO IMPROVE: - Kids room didn't have a door which seems odd to us - Bathroom was clean but show some signs of age - Took us a few days to workout all the food menu and dinner options Now the ++++: - Bure 4, right next to the beach but away from music - Great staff, always happy to assist - Spy boat, kayak and other from the activities desk - Pool with a slide (for kids ages 5-12. when all week with my 3 y.o. He loved it, be careful it's fast) - Kids buffet for lunch 12 to 1pm and dinner 5 to 6pm (free). They also have a kids a la carte menu (at cost) Require a bit a planning if you want to eat at the same time as them. Order from the adults menu. - Babysitter service was great (F$15/h for 2 kids day time ; F$20/h for 2 kids evening). Able to use the service of the same lady during the full week :-) :-) Had to pay the sitter cash. ATM in the village 30min away if needed - Buffet breakfast was well stocked. Heaps of fresh fruits and cook to order eggs station - Book private taxi transfer with the hotel. Organise 1 kid car seat for us. On the return trip to the airport we stop for lunch in Nadi at no extra charges. We had a great time and everyone feel like we had a holiday. It's not a party resort, people enjoy the happy hours and some drinking in the evening but no disco. Work really well for our little family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Sun sand and snorkeling

Posted May 10, 2017
Very relaxing. Friendly staff. Suitable meals.poor Wifi. . Resort looking tired. Needs refurbishment to restaurant, bar and pool.