Ratings based on 1,188 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Disappointing for a 5 star

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: - Very friendly and kind staff - Kids pool is great for little ones - Food is overall okay but don't expect gourmet
I stayed with my 2yo daughter for 7 nights and was not happy with the experience: Room: - I booked a king bed and got a twin bed. Requested to change as I arrived to the room but nothing happened. - The room only had a shower and no bathtub (hard with a 2yo to bathe) - The room had (small) bugs running around especially near the tea area! - The air con and fridge in the room were ancient. Shower head was leaking and I had to fiddle with it to reduce the leakage. Facilities: - The hotel was renovating a large area of the resort and there was a lot of noise from the construction most days. This means sitting at the pool area was not relaxing at all! - The island is all managed by the hotel which means all shops are very expensive (babycino for 7.5 FJD). - No places nearby to buy fruits, vegetables, yogurt or any food for my little one which meant going to restaurants 3 times a day and order room service. Overall negative experience and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel good for families

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Next time when I come back to stay in Shangri-la, I will booked the lagoon room instead of the ocean view room. My daughter is love to hang out by the pool all day. The kids club is closer to the lagoon pool too. The new renovation near the lagoon pool is so much nicer than the ocean views room which is old and dated but still functional. If you love quieter, book the ocean views room but if you travel with kids, the lagoon room is the way to go.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Not what I expected as shown in photos. Hotel itself is very old, a lot of construction going on. Didn't feel the comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach, pools, activities and food

Posted Aug 15, 2017
We love it and go back each year Adult pool is fab when you don't have any kids with you Snorkelling is great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Watch out for kids-eat-free - there is fine print

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Several Expedia rates say that "Kids eat free" without fine-print. I selected this resort because of this. When you go there, the first fine print is that an adult has to eat for kids to get free meals. I was hoping to skip lunch after the breakfast buffet but have kids eat if they want to. I mentioned this to manager, but he would not waive the rule. Also, kids eat free has additional fine-print - they can eat only from kids menu which is limited, along with specific times they can eat. FYI, you might pay a little more, but the Intercontinental at Natadola beach is nicer. The Natadola beach is very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

great place to stay

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: there is a view of the water from every room
Cons: not in my mind
Location: close to Gecko's resataurant. good meals at a fair price. close to shopping and to the Eco park
staff are friendly and helpful but remember they are on Fiji time. No hurry no worry. This is my 7th visit to this hotel and I love it here. If you have little ones this is a great place to stay. renovations are in progress at the moment but causing the minimum of disruption. close to Sigatoka for popping into the supermarket for soft drink, nibbles and beer as hotel prices are dearer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2017
We were made very welcome.All the staff very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia.

Amazing location.

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: The staff and the location.
Cons: Once the renovations are complete we would rate a 5.
Location: To be fair we didn't leave the resort island this trip (3rd visit) but Kula Eco park and Sigatoka are nearby and worth a visit.
Great location with the snorkeling straight off the beach in the lagoon area being a hilight for us. Fantastic staff that make you feel so welcome. Some renovations under way but we didn't notice them at all apart from one less resort restaurant to eat at.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Disappointing from previous stay

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Pools and activities. Breakfast choices
Cons: Rooms need renovating, staff need better training as not always sure
Location: Singatoka, raftying
Overall disappointing. Room not what was requested. Service very slow. Drinks expensive and food inconsistent depending on restaurant. Breakfast great with good choice. Pools and activities good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing & refreshing

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Just the right spot for a relaxing getaway. It has the Fijian feel but lots to do if you feel like it. The Fijian people are gracious hosts and really make you welcome. Do as much or as little as you like to recharge at the Fijian.