Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great place

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Great beach for snorkeling (probably best on the main land) and lovely people. Best value!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from nsw

Private and meals excellent

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Functional setting Pleasant and supporting staff
Cons: Security as needs basis
Location: Coral reef walking Swimming Beach walks
Enjoyed visit and found location to be private and staff friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Comfortable Resort close to the sea

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Tambua Sands is a resort that gets you to the heart of Fiji. It is not modern or plush, but very comfortable. The staff were lovely, very friendly and approachable. This resort is a great place to get to know the other guests as it is small and has an intimate feel. We had booked a Garden Bure but were upgraded to an Ocean view, and what a view, directly out off our own patio - it was like having our own private beach and we rarely saw others on it. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean, the bathroom could have been abit cleaner. The evening meals were very good and varied, breakfast was a choice of cereals, fruit and breads. We enjoyed the activities offered, particularly the Kava ceremony, visiting the local village for church on Sunday and walking to the top of the local hill to enjoy the view. Downside was kayak and snorkeling activities could only be done at high tide, early am and late pm the week we were there. Take one of the regular buses that pass to Nadi, Sigatoka or Suva - very cheap and comfortable. Would also recommend the Navua River Jewel of Fiji Day tour, booked through the hotel tour desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great access to the beach

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Small, intimate with great access to the beach. We loved Tambua Sands, it's simplicity is it's greatest asset. The staff were lovely. Would definitely stay here again. The experience and the setting were second to none.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Family resort

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Everything - but most of all staff and relaxing environment The views were awesome
Location: Sigatoka is close by Catch the local bus Kula wildlife park is a great day trip
Family resort with great amenities close to beach, safe swimming for young children in lagoon. Great opportunities to explore and relax. Close to genuine Fiji villages so you can meet the locals. Good bus transport and cheap as chips to catch the local transport - fun times to be had! Resort staff were amazing and nothing was a problem Food lots of range and options - something for everyone. Would def go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Tropical Relaxation

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Small, clean and friendly.
Cons: More hammocks or lounges near rooms.
Location: Two tour desks to organise activities from hotel but we didn't use them as happy to stay and relax. Watched locals fishing on reef in front of hotel.
Wonderful stay right on the beach. Very relaxing and quiet. Need to take some form of transport to go anywhere from hotel. Well maintained older hotel but very clean and staff very friendly. Perhaps a few more hammocks or lounges near rooms would be good. Loved our stay and a great way to begin our holiday and to relax and get into Fiji time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bure right on the beach

Posted Jul 6, 2017
We had a wonderful 8 days at tambua sands with our 2 boys (10 & 11). The Bure was 5 steps from the beach. The boys had a great time with the activities staff (Lori & Tui) & we snorkelled & swam most days. Nice quiet small resort, we would definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
by Dennis

Great views

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
Bathroom is old, it needs updating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

Great place to relax

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Marine reserve beside the resort. The staff were always smiling and helpful.
Cons: Looking forward to the lagoon being constructed.
Thanks very much to the team from Tambua Sands for a wonderful relaxing holiday. The staff made our stay a pleasure, especially the activities men who helped keep the boys entertained.
4 out of 5
by Susan

You get what you pay for

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were great friendly and helpful. Rooms were a little dated but you get what you pay for. Drinks and food were a overpriced for Australians. Breakfast was continental not full breakfast