Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simply incredible - the best resort!!

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
We had an amazing time at the Wellesley. Couldn't fault it. The rooms were stunning - we got a tour through all of them as we are going to use this resort for our wedding. They are so well priced! The food was super, the staff were so attentive. They were so kind and caring. We loved lounging by the huge pool and bobbing up and down in the crystal clear lagoon. Evening cocktails on the beach bar deck were so romantic. We can't wait to come back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Blissfully Relaxing Stay

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The peacefulness (adults only helps!), the awesome spacious rooms and the setting.
Cons: We honestly have no further suggestions!!
Location: Set in a huge property (over 100 acres i think?), so you almost feel like you're staying on an island. We played golf nearby and visited the ecopark
We were so impressed with our recent stay at the Wellesley Resort. It was everything we could of wished for and more. The personalised service was faultless from the minute we arrived. We really did feel like we left as friends. The drive into the resort was wonderful and you got to see the real side of Fiji, driving through the little towns along the way. The long driveway wound through beautiful plantations and opened up with magical sea views. We booked their middle of the range suites and they exceeded our expectations. Rooms spacious than most other resorts we've stayed in, very clean, with all the amenities you'd need. We loved dining over looking the pool and the ocean. The chef and wait staff were fun. They had loads of free activities on offer - local garden tours, coconut husking etc. We spend hours lounging on the beachside loungers...kept the bar staff busy! I even did my first snorkeling experience, not usually being one to swim in the sea. Forget about the large chain hotels where you're just one of 500 guests. Stay at the peaceful Wellesley where you really do leave as a friend and nothing is too much trouble. We can't wait to book a return stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort near a beautiful beach

Posted Jun 29, 2017
The resort was tucked away and difficult to reach but has great charm and seclusion.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Isolated hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The staff were very kind and tried to accommodate most things. It is isolated so you learnt to just relax and do nothing. Pool, read, sleep.
Cons: The staff need more training in how to deal with customers, how to answer questions and just be more generally informed. Update their website!
Location: Coconut tasting, garden walk, kava tasting, snorkelling. We were only told these after we asked. Later in our stay a blackboard appeared with the info
Disappointed with the expectations vs reality of our stay here. It is an isolated hotel which is nice in someways and annoying in others. Booked this hotel because of the day spa and outside bath in the honeymoon suite. None of those existed and wasn't informed until after we booked the hotel. Even their website has the wrong info. Picked up from the airport for a two hour drive; if they ask do you want to stop at the shops DO IT! There are no shops at the resort. A small "shop" in the village next door only open during the day selling basic snacks and drinks and souvenirs. Room was fairly clean, but seem inexperienced with off white bath towels and written 'Wellesley' in permanent marker. Lack of pool towels when only 10 people staying at the resort. We didn't get any. Gaffa tape on our pleather couch to keep the seams together. We enjoyed the activities once we found out there were some. Coconut tasting, kava tasting, garden and mangrove walk. Thanks to the local Sybill who worked there. It advertised itself as 'adult only' but half way through our stay a family of 4 came. 13/15year old boys. Well behaved but what age is considered 'children'? Expedia also needs to check their info as they also gave us the wrong info about rooms and amenities there. If you want an isolated resort where you really have nothing to do and slow wifi (when you buy it) then this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic place

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: All of it
Cons: Quality of room 18
Location: Half way between Sikatoka & Suva so heaps to do
Great place , very quiet , awesome staff, Food was exceptional room was a bit lower than expected but they did fix a few things while we were there , extremely safe & the coolest snorkling plenty to do, go there .....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Relaxation in Jungle

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Wellesley Resort is isolated in the jungle. On the upside, guests receive a private beach to themselves with a village nearby. The water is blue and perfect to swim. The staff is very friendly and the resort provides a couple activities everyday if you choose to join. Sabir organized the activities and was very kind. He took us on a hike nearby and showed us how to open a coconut! Would definitely recommend if looking for a completely private, kid-free, quiet place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, New Zealand

Out of the way getaway

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The out door shower was quirkyand fun. No kids policy made for a more relaxing stay for couples compared to more family oriented resorts
Cons: The resort is older and could do with a bit of maintenance, but nothing that really detracted from our stay
Location: About 2 hours from Nadi by road, the last few Kilometers down a slightly sketchy gravel road. Right on the coast with a nice swimming beach.
The pace of Fiji island life for those who just want to relax. The Wellesly is a great place to go if you want to relax and enjoy the warm weather and warm welcome. our room was large and airy with a good air conditioner for relief from the Fiji warmth. Meals were satisfying and varied with options for everyone. At times we felt we had the resort to ourselves.... which we enjoyed. Thanks very much for a great stay.We will definitely be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, calm, peaceful spot

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
- to get there from Nadi airport we took an airport taxi for 150FD as we thought this cheaper than the hotel offered service (160FD), which was about 2.5-3 hours long because unfortunately our taxi driver got lost - track to the resort from the main road ~5-10 minute careful drive as quite rough, both our taxi drivers complained bitterly about this - secluded spot - absolutely beautiful scenery - lush forests, palm and coconut trees, colourful flowers, with a beautiful clean pool, sun loungers, short stroll to the beach - our room was an executive suite, which was comfortable, well equipped and clean, served our purposes perfectly - food was delicious - good range offered considering the small kitchen, with a lot of fresh fruit and Fijian produce. Several couples, including us, became unwell with D+V (I suspect a virus rather than unhygienic food prep) - some activities offered - one kayak had missing paddle so only one useable, reasonable snorkelling gear, swimming, organised walks from the gardener Sabir - hill top walk with views, Mangrove walk, coconut tasting etc - You can go along the beach 5 minutes to Crusoe resort to organise scuba diving and on the way encounter the local village with a shop of souvenirs and locals who will organise half day trips to a nearby waterfall, village tours, meals and snacks - very friendly people who are making the most of tourist trade which seems reasonable to me - but be aware you may spend more than the experience is worth
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from christchurch

Awesome child free getaway

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Beach, pool, grounds and friendly staff - great couples escape
Cons: Rooms are tired and could be cleaner, air cond old and difficult, food is average but you don't go to Fiji for cuisine!
Location: Stunning location - very peaceful and beautiful. Lots of activities if you want them but we just enjoyed relaxing
Beautiful setting, excellent beach, friendly staff and very relaxing. some things could be improved but wouldn't stop us returning. Good value
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Excellent Adults-Only Sojorn

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Spacious, stylish rooms. Great pool. Great beach. Wonderful snorkelling. Lovely grounds.Gourmet food. Totally relaxing.
Cons: More pool-side umbrellas. Candles on the restaurant tables would have added even more romance to the open air setting. Ambient music needed too.
Location: Great Snorkelling. Sandy beach to sun-bake on. Check out Crusoes. Paddle canoes to eco resort close by. Scenic drive to Pacific Harbour. Read by pool.
We adored our stay at the Wellesely. We wanted a peaceful, child-free environment and this resort exceeded our expectations. It is true that this is a boutique-style resort punching above its weight for the great price. We stayed in the spacious honeymoon suite, which was stylish, with a high beamed roof and a lovely outdoor courtyard with shower, for that extra tropical feel. The landscaped tropical grounds felt so incredibly peaceful and relaxing, with the 15 suites dotted on either side of a lush green palm-fringed valley with a tiny brook winding through it. The large, wide, blue pool was perfect for relaxing by. I always look for a good pool - and this was one of them! The resort ambles down to a beautiful beach, where there is alabaster sand, aquamarine, crystal clear water and lots of coral populated by a myriad of tropical fish. I saw so many Nemos that I now never need to see a clown fish again. They pop out of the coral, try to shoo you away, then zip back in again. Priceless! There are zebra fish, electric blue fish, yellow angel fish, multi-coloured parrot fish, blue starfish - the list goes on. If you want to catch a small wooden boat out a bit further towards the reef (not too deep for fraidy cats like me), just ask for Benny from the village right next door. Food at the resort was delicious and changes each night to keep up variety. But if you want a dinner change, just walk to nearby Crusoes - it's tacky, good fun for one night! Would definitely return.