Ratings based on 1,046 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from delray beach

Old fashioned comfort

Posted Jan 17, 2018
For pleasure traveling the hotel was nice. Having no desk in my room and having to step up to get into the bathroom and lack of coffee maker in room, are comforts I'm not willing to let go of during business travel. I heard bottles being thrown into the dumpster from my room even though I was on the third floor. The hotel parking is across the street in a garage. There is no on-site parking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Treasure Island, Fl

Close to Italian Consulate

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Pros: Everything.Loved the old elevator.
/Very comfortable room, super restaurant connected to the hotel. Easy walk and bus ride to the consulate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Has an older look to it which is very pleasing

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Pros: such a nice experience, the room is very clean and everyone is super nice and willing to help
Cons: I didn't like that I had to pay $20/day for parking.
Location: The Italian restaurant is quit entertaining
It has an elevator that looks like one seen in a horror movie, there's always an employee in it to ride with you, such a nice experience, the room is very clean and everyone is super nice and willing to help. The only thing I didn't like was that I had to pay $20/day for parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2017 by Karl- Rev Mgr, Hotel Management
Hi Joy, Thank you for choosing Hotel St. Michel during your recent stay in Miami, Florida. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay in our newly renovated hotel. We hope to see you again soon. P.S. $20 parking for a safe, secure and always available parking space is a very good alternative to trying to locate street parking which runs at $2.50 / hour and is not secure.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rockland, MA

Pictures from Hotel are fake - STAY AWAY!

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: It was nice from the outside.
Cons: Actual pictures of the property would be helpful for a consumer.
We booked this hotel based on the clean and modern images posted by them on expedia. When we arrived at the hotel the outside looked charming, but the room itself looked like it came out of the 1920s. I'm not saying that in a charming way, nothing has been updated at all, nothing is cleaned, the toilet barely flushes, there are hundreds of markings on the ground from furniture being scraped across. We weren't able to get a mini-fridge, and when we asked for ice they limited us to one bag per day. This was a bait and switch, plain and simple.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Hotel St Michel, Hotel Management
Dear Katie, I am puzzled by why you are spreading false information about our Hotel and hope that you come to terms with your motivations. However, if you have legitimate concerns, please contact me directly and we will do our best to address them. Best regards, Evelyn Davis, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Don't let the pictures fool you (BED BUGS!)

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: Proximity to where I was going, the lobby, and restaurant.
Cons: Clean the furniture, fix the ac, get rid of the bed bugs
Location: Great location! Very central and walk-ability is high.
This place was hands down one of the top three worst hotels I've stayed in. On the exterior and in the pictures, it seems like a great place, but when I got into the hotel room, things nose-dived. -The room smelled of old sweat and Body Odors. -The AC blew hot air even through I had the unit set to 69. -There were long hairs all over the floor and in the shower. -The old disgusting chair in the corner had dark sweat marks all over the fabric and it smelled like a locker room. - The fan was noisy -The art looked like creepy faded poster clippings put in frames -The worst part...BED BUGS! (I got bit up all night)
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Evelyn Davis, Hotel Management
Dear Bob, Thank you for taking the time to review out Hotel. Your comments about the odors and the bed bugs are very disturbing to us. Our Hotel is on a maintenance plan with an exterminator company which treats all our rooms every month. We have not had bed bug complaints in living memory and take yours very seriously indeed. Please contact me directly with your room number, so we can investigate this issue right away. Safety and comfort of our guests are our utmost priority. We try to resolve our guests’ issues immediately, so they leave the Hotel happy with their stay. I regret that I was not made aware of your experience until now but hope that you do contact me and we can regain your trust. Sincerely, Evelyn Davis General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and very dated not really cute and quaint

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: It was close to the specific location I needed to be at and walking distance to okay restaurants.
Cons: Everything! Wanted to love this quaint & historic hotel but everything didn't work. Problems everywhere! Wish the site allowed for more photos posted
Lobby- what lobby? Elevator- needs someone to operate for you forcing everyone to go by stairs (not as handicap accessible). Once got into the room - nothing worked properly- AC, curtains, cabinet doors, main door, bathroom drain problems, flimsy armoire almost tipped over on me(not bolted to floor), towel bars rusted, lights were dim, room was old & dark. Antique furniture for show but not very functional. Left my room twice, twice I had to call someone to help me open my room door. When morning came, low and behold, it took me awhile to get out of my room as the door handle came off. I thought-wow-total fire hazard! I left the “please make up my room sign’ outside the door. By 4 pm, I return to my room and it was uncleaned. I then had to immediately collect my stuff as I was getting transferred to 301- supposedly a bigger and better room. Big mistake-vibrating, buzzing sound that went on constantly through the walls. At 12 am, I had to make a phone call to the front desk as the room next to my headboard was playing really loud music. After a few more minutes of trying to get some sleep- it was impossible as the structural noises were giving me a headache. The night manager thinks it is the AC system for the whole building which he could not do anything about. Once morning came, it was 15 minutes of banging metal noises from the garbage truck in the alley. They refunded me one night stay. Never again. Not worth it! The only thing I did not see was a ghost!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2017 by Karl - Rev Mgr, Hotel Management
Hi Ancaarsu, We are very appreciative of you taking the time to complete a hotel survey. This process allows us to listen to our valued guests so we may strive to consistently improve and be able to meet, anticipate and exceed customer expectations. We hope the next time you visit the City of Miami you will give us another opportunity to host you in our beautiful boutique hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place Minor issues

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: This hotel was price very well! I enjoyed how they kept the character of this old hotel in tact. Very well done!
Cons: Change out the bathroom Mirror so It is usable for every person. I would add charging station at the desk and add some sound proofing in the rooms.
Location: Lots to do, lots to eat. I ate at the resturant attached to the hotel. Amazing service and excellent prices. I was there on business
This was so quaint and lovely. When you pull up to the hotel there appears to be valet parking. It is only for the restaurant not the hotel. You have to park on the street or in a garage across the street. Its not far. The room was lovely but a huge stain on the chair that made me not want to sit in it. The bathroom Mirror was hung taller than myself and could not see in it. The bathroom was also very small but that is to be expected with a hotel of this kind. The only other issue I would say is that a rug on the floor would be nice because I could hear every word from the room next door.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not nice

Posted Nov 8, 2017
You pay too much for what it’s worthy. The hotel is clean but it is too old.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Bad check in no parking rooms old Elevator only worked with an attendant. The rooms were dated and always were extremely noisy
5 out of 5
by Jose

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2017 on Hotels