Ratings based on 1,008 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from CENTRAL IOWA

GREAT PLACE TO STAY FOR HOSPITAL STAY

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: SHUTTLE TO HOSPITAL BREAKFAST AND SUPPER
Location: CLOSE TO UNIVERSITY HOSPITALS
STAYED THERE WHEN AT HOSPITAL. SHUTTLE SERVICE, GREAT BREAKFAST, AND EVEN SUPPER SERVED. HIGHLY RECCOMEND ..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sioux Falls, SD

Okay, but won't stay again

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: They cleaning staff did a nice job of cleaning our room.
Cons: The breakfast to be fresher. Make sure they are shoveling their sidewalks and removing snow from the parking lot. Locks on side doors.
When we got to check in, we were advised the elevator was not working, but we were put on the third floor. Never fun when you have bad knees. The stairway doors were not locked, so anyone could come into the building. The sidewalks were not shoveled and I about fell two times, twisting my back. They shoveled and put ice melt down at the main door, but not the rest of the sidewalk. The parking lot was not cleaned even after cars were moved. The hot breakfast you could tell had been there quite some time as the hash-brown patties were totally soft and falling apart, the sausage patties were laying in grease in the pan, the omelets were ok, but you could tell they had been there for some time as they were cooking to the bottom of the pan. The orange juice was disgusting as though there was too much water mixing with it. There was apparently a lot of dander in the room as my husband and I woke each morning with our eyes matted and nose very stuffed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Excellent motel for the money! Great hot breakfast. Sausage, eggs, hash brown, waffles +.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottumwa, Iowa

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Very nice clean hotel close to Hospital & all Hawkeye sporting venues!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Schaumburg, IL

Great value

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Clean hotel with a good breakfast. The value for the room and amenities is excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa City

Not recommended

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Front desk staff was curt and difficult to understand during check in. Pool area was very cold, the pool water was freezing cold. No hot water in the sink in the room though the hot water in the tub worked. One of the two beds had a deep indentation down the middle, the pillow cases seemed dirty. The breakfast was great! Will not stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bellevue, ne

Disappointed

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Upon checkin the front office person wasnt friendly. I coildnt really understand what he was saying and he only spoke in statements. Never really asking questions but just saying, name, credit card, breakfast is at this time. We were giving a handi cap room, that was not needed or requested. The shower in this room has a hand held shower head but no holder for it. You have to hold ot in your hand the whole time or it sprays all over the bathroom. Tue bed was ok, but the pillows were the size of doll pillows (very small). Upon leaving the front desk person (same as check in) was sitting in the dark dining room area with another person and just shouted across the lobby what we need. He told us to just leave the keys on the counter. I aas disappointed in the lack of cuatomer service. It doesnt take mich to be courteous and that is seriously lacking here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay!

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Hotel clerk very friendly! Hotel was very clean and quiet. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Nice hotel.breakfast was ok. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmnmmmmmmmmnmnnnnnn hate having to write more
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Topeka, KS

Greeted with a smile when checking in

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and friendliness of the staff
Cons: Connectivity to the wireless access to the internet.
Location: Just off I80 near Iowa City.
Greeted with a smile and a conversation when I checked in. Staff was very hospitable that evening and the next morning. The breakfast provided had an extremely good range of choices. I was impressed with what was available. Only knock was we were in room 130 and was just out of reach of the wireless internet and had difficulty in connecting. Bed and pillows was very comfortable and slept well. Overall, the stay was very good and we will plan on staying there again on our way up to visit our son, his wife and two grandkids.