Ratings based on 971 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: Very clean
Cons: Taller toiletries
Had a good nights stay. Clean and comfortable. Close to hospital is a plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sioux Falls, SD

Nice rooms and good value

Posted Jan 8, 2018
The rooms and the lobby were nice as pictured. The hallway by the pool was freezing like a door had been left open for some time. The breakfast was nice and well stocked. The housekeeping staff was based near my room and it was quite loud when they were filling their carts and when my wife asked for one additional towel they weren’t friendly and referred to the near by laundry room. She had to go in an ask additional staff which felt unnecessary for one towel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Valencia, Spain

Conveniently located

Posted Dec 23, 2017
I have stayed here several times. Always a pleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2017 by Jerry K., Hotel Management
Thanks Jim
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa City, Iowa

Convenient

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Close to the University hospital.. only hotel, that I'm aware of, with a shuttle to the hospital and clinics. Booking through Expedia, they already had my info, so, sign papers, and get keys. I have been here several times in the past two months. Will come back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2017
The fan on the heater ran constantly and was too noisy to sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Valencia, Spain

Unique Guest List

Posted Dec 18, 2017
This motel caters, in part, to persons needing medical care at the University of Iowa or at the VA Hospital. Usually the atmosphere can be bleak when the conditions of some of the guests are apparent. Staff normally does a very fine job handling these guests. However, today a guest with severe OCD was allowed to roam the public areas, and he attempted to enforce his interpretations of the rules. This led to a direct conflict. This evening this person was allowed to roam the food preparation area. Who wants to eat in the a.m. now?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Close to the U of I hospital
Cons: Waffle on the breakfast
Location: Anything Iowa Hawkeyes
Stayed at the Heartland Inn, Got an upgrade upon arrival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ames, ia

Great place near university

Posted Dec 4, 2017
It’s clean and well cared for, staff will do whatever they can for you, I stay there whenever I’m in Iowa city because it’s reliably clean and nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Liberty, IA

Read prior reviews

Posted Nov 25, 2017
I have written about this motel many times. It has not changed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Heartland Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you Jim
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder CO

Close to many things

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Cons: Have housekeeping make sure room clocks are correct. My was an hour off, caused a little problem.
This motel is quite nice, and a person is treated well. I prefer it over others in this area due to greater access to activities and mass transit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Duane, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will check that alarm clock!